Clicking On Me


I couldn’t sleep the other night and so I went wandering around Facebook and tried to find some of my friends from the past and it made me realize one thing…. We all are old!!!!!  lol.

me viginia slim photo

Older faces staring back

hit me like a heart attack

everyone I used to know

where did you all seem to go?

I click on you and find your name

only your eyes look the same

 I click on photos titled:  “past”

I finally see “YOU” at last!

The one  I remembered then…

 An older version of my friend.

I wander through… browsing at the rest

 I smile and click “Friend Request”

Hoping that you’ll recognize

Who I am now from my eyes

That’s when I realize what you will see

when you find my name and click on “ME”.

Diane Reed

2013

old couple walking

65 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Helen Ross
    Aug 14, 2013 @ 23:19:33

    Lovely poem and so true. We may all be getting older but when you think of it, it is a good thing, as so many around us don’t reach the older years. That is the sad reality. Nice to connect with you Diane.

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Aug 16, 2013 @ 14:21:14

      Helen,
      Thank you so much for reading! I agree we need to appreciate being around to feel old! Huh?
      Nice to connect with you Helen! Glad our paths have crossed!
      xoxo

      Reply

  2. Elizabeth Yalian
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 06:29:10

    So much truth in what you wrote! Yes, I too have felt the exact same way, even when I look in the mirror. I see the same eyes, but a much older me. “heart attack” priceless!

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Aug 09, 2013 @ 13:05:15

      Elizabeth! Thank you! I just have to say thank you for finding me so that I could find you~!
      EVERYONE needs to go read your post today! Loved it! Just what I needed. Just found out my Father in law has cancer cells again and it has devestated us! He and my husband work together and are in the midst of so much. We need him!
      I feel the flapping beginning! Thanks for the great message!
      xoxo

      Reply

  3. english merriam webster english merriam webster online english online dictionary cambridge english online dictionary definitions english online dictionary synonyms english oxford advanced dictionary online english oxford dictionary free english oxford dic
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 21:44:17

    Hiya! I just want to give a huge thumbs up for the good information youve right here on this post.

    I can be coming back to your blog for extra soon.

    Reply

  4. Five Quick Minutes
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 21:29:29

    This is sooo true! I found someone once playing a HS basketball game…I thought I recognized him, and I did…it was ME! Man, that was a shocker. I closed the book and did something else! Good post, Diane!

    Christian

    Reply

  5. Vashti Quiroz-Vega
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 20:06:17

    Hello Diane! Time flies and before you know it you’re an age that’s surreal to you. You are gorgeous! I’m sure some of your friends did not age as gracefully. In the end what I wish for is to age gracefully, in good health, and with dignity.

    Reply

  6. DebbyGies
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 16:47:51

    You are still beautiful Diane so I am sure nobody would have any trouble recognizing you! xo

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Aug 09, 2013 @ 13:10:06

      Ahhh Debby… love your unconditional love! You are so sweet! But I don’t even recognize me in the mirror anymore! When my first husband died… it was crazy seeing all the old faces at his Memorial… That is when I realized we all were young in my mind. I had to really look at some before I recognized them! And then wondered what they were seeing! LOL.
      xoxo

      Reply

  7. Deliberately Delicious
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 03:56:48

    I have stacks of journals, most of them documenting the five and a half years since my divorce. What I love about returning to them is to see how much I’ve learned and how far I’ve come. It’s interesting that for you blogging has replaced journalling. I find that the two practices serve different purposes in my life. My blog is a very public place, whereas the writing in my journal is very private. Though, I often practice both, I find that there are times where I need one kind of writing more than the other.
    So pleased to meet you!

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Aug 09, 2013 @ 02:56:59

      I’ve been gone on a little vacation and it was hard to keep up with my blog while away but so nice to come back and find I was not forgotten!
      Thank you for your comments! I am pleased to meet you as well! Hope to get to know your writing too! I agree my written journals are much more private and shared only if I choose to extract something and re-write here! The handwritten ones are pretty special to me…. something a bit magical about a letter in the mail and a page in a journal! Ya know? ;)

      xoxo

      Reply

  8. leveluphealth
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 15:59:31

    Age is but a number. We only become old when we stop living :)

    Reply

  9. becwillmylife
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 15:28:56

    Beautiful words and I love the picture! I think I see Farrah wings. Yep…I had them too:)

    Reply

  10. free essays on global warming myth free fishing for sharks games free fishing shark games free full episodes of long island medium season 2 free funny pictures of chimpanzees free games sharks attack free games sharks-lagoon free global warming animation
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 13:33:10

    Hello! I simply would like to give a huge thumbs up for the nice information youve got right here on this post.
    I shall be coming back to your blog for more
    soon.

    Reply

  11. Jim Gramze
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 12:40:45

    I had my hair cut recently. The tarp draped around me was covered with grey hair. The lady barber assured me that all that grey hair was from the last customer, not me. As if!

    You look better now, more dynamic and confident, looking straight into the camera with a warm confident smile. The younger pic is something to behold though.

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Aug 10, 2013 @ 19:14:08

      THAT is sooo funny! I can’t imagine “you” sitting atop of someone else gray hair clippings! And not mentioning it to the violating offender! Unless of course she was humoring you! ;) :D

      Reply

  12. Happiness is Not a Disease
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 07:01:34

    Beautiful, beautiful Diane. ;)

    Reply

  13. lifeofaministermom
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 06:29:15

    This made me smile, especially because throughout all of our interactions you being ‘old’ never occurred to me! You’re marvelous and you know it! ;-)

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Aug 10, 2013 @ 19:16:15

      And Patricia… you are my biggest encourager! Ya know what they say about beauty in the eyes of the beholder! I am just blessed that you are beholding!
      xoxo ;)

      Reply

  14. Ann Marquette
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 03:50:47

    This is terrific Diane. Love it. It is so true..

    Reply

  15. grandfathersky
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 02:41:14

    D – yes, but as you say, the eyes have it, they truly are the window of (and to) the soul …

    Reply

  16. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 02:14:52

    I have been startled too. Facebook connects the missing dots of missing years so easily. I used to wonder, “When did so-and-so get so OLD?” Ha, I forgot I was part of his or her time.

    Reply

  17. hubertwrites
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 01:36:04

    Some of us would like to skip the middle part– between then, and now.

    Reply

  18. parrillaturi
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 00:14:01

    Hey! What’s in a number! They say that beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Every time I see myself in the mirror, I behold my good looks. I guess I’m the biggest, and most biased beholder of all. In the eyes of the Lord, we are all beautiful. So, take courage. If old friends do not recognize you, well, maybe it’s because you have developed into a much more beautiful you, since they last saw you. March on, beautiful ones, march on!

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Aug 02, 2013 @ 02:07:15

      I KNOW! And I just wrote this big old post about how we are all Vessels but what is important is all on the inside!! But I must say that I’m a little disgusted with my vessel right now! Smile. It needs a little polishing!
      We used to say age is just a number when we wanted to be seen as more mature! Now we are saying it in regard to our age now. Arghhh! lol.

      Reply

  19. Deodatta Shenai-Khatkhate
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 22:39:47

    Thanks for a great post!

    I don’t think most of the people get old with age, but they get smarter, wiser and more beautiful…..just like a good wine that matures with age. Cheers to Age, Wisdom and Beauty!

    -Deo,

    http://dshenai.wordpress.com

    Reply

  20. A Gripping Life
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 22:39:33

    I actually think you’re as much of a hottie now as you were back “then.” Maybe more so! That’s right. Some lucky people get better with age, you’re one of them!!
    Lisa

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Aug 02, 2013 @ 02:12:34

      Ahhh Lisa!
      You always make me smile!!! In this case maybe laugh a little! Just came in from a swim. I look just wonderful. LOL. Not with the same little tanned bikini laden body I used to think was a little too skinny! Ahhh Those WERE the days! ;)

      Reply

  21. Pat
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 22:26:09

    Nah Diane – you can’t be feeling old already (hahaha)! I think we all feel old from time to time. I know I touched a bit on it this summer at my niece’s daughter’s wedding. And, just recently when I dug in the closet and pulled out some old 45 rpm’s to catalog. Boy, did they bring back some memories.

    Some people come into this world as an old soul and start out with a lot of wisdom. More often than not, when we’re young, we haven’t acquired that wisdom yet. Don’t you wish you could have both: wisdom and youthful beauty when you’re young and old.

    It’s all good just the way it is – what’s in your heart is what makes you beautiful, Diane, and you’re glowing.

    Reply

  22. Java Girl
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 21:07:38

    Beautiful then…gorgeous now! There is only ONE of you in this world, so shine like a diamond girl!! ;)

    Reply

  23. Yaz
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 20:18:22

    You are beautiful now, Diane. That’s what people will see.

    Reply

  24. Joy is now
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 20:17:58

    Such a good point you make. Love this (as usual). Gosh you are a stunner:)

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Aug 01, 2013 @ 21:19:54

      Thank you! The picture here is a blast from my past when I was getting a portfolio together taken… most of those pictures were water ruined but I salvaged a few and they are like a diary for me! Great memories….
      Someday I will post some more recent pics when I feel better about who I am seeing.
      Ahhh!
      This was supposed to be funny….lol

      Reply

  25. Mari
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 20:02:42

    I feel the same way, Diane! And its so strange because I’ve lived in the same town for 25 years but I pretty much stay to myself so when I do happen to run into people that I went to school with and I see how much older they are, I realize I’m older too! >.<
    But when the hearts remains young, so does the soul and that's what the eyes show! ;)

    You are one gorgeous lady, by the way!

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Aug 01, 2013 @ 21:15:03

      Mari you are so sweet. I know huh? When I was around your age… I think I started noticing how much older other people my age seemed. They didn’t age that well at all. But it is all relative… everyone gets old! Guess that is always better than the alternative ;)
      But it is hard to look at pics and remember the little skinny hard tanned bodies that we took so for granted.
      Enjoy your youth! And you my dear are beautiful! My problem was I started feeling old way too soon! Don’t make the same mistake!
      xoxo

      Reply

  26. Our Life In 3D
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 19:49:54

    Yes we are! And some of us / them are starting to slow down too. Glad its not you! When I look in the mirror I have to look twice to see if that is really me. Surely I don’t feel nearly as old as I look. ~ Keep up your great work yong lady! Love the photo too! You look like a real angel..

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Aug 01, 2013 @ 21:10:22

      LOL… my whole point when I said:

      That’s when I realize what you will see
      when you find my name and click on “ME”.

      was…. that even though I still feel like the girl at the top of the page with the Farrah hairstyle… (taken decades earlier) I too am shocked when I look in the mirror…. and let me give you a hint… only give those magnifying mirrors to those you really don’t like haha. They are cruel!

      Reply

  27. Louise Gallagher
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 19:15:02

    Love this! and what a gorgeous photo of you. You look the same in your photo to me today.

    Reply

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Twitter

August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 39,351 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,563 other followers

Archives

Archives

The Whispering Pen

Sharing my experiences one haiku at a time.

west517

the world we know

LUGGAGE Lady

Contemplations about Life, Love, & the Pursuit of Meaningful Existence...

Holly Michael's Writing Straight

Connecting and Inspiring Along Life's Crooked Lines by Author Holly Michael

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Ayesha Mehr Nadeem

Thinking and communicating

Meditation Travelogue

Thoughts from the mystical road by noelle vignola

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Peace be upon you!

The believers are only those who, when Allah is mentioned, their hearts become fearful, and when His verses are recited to them, it increases them in faith; and upon their Lord they rely.

Reject Reality

The world as I see it, according to myself.

AlvaradoFrazier

Life Between the Sheets (of paper): Story, Art, and Poetry

Evelyne Holingue

Chronicles, Stories & Books by a French-American Writer

Simply Said by Tina

laughing . learning . sharing . growing

Caffeine Fix

written under the influence

aliceandmolly

~ only beautiful words

Musings of a tea addict

Thoughts and dreams of a 30-something girl who is never without a cup of tea.

Annie's Blog

The other side of me..

Kali-mania

Musings from afar

personal ramblings

what the fuck?

The Whispering Pen

Sharing my experiences one haiku at a time.

west517

the world we know

LUGGAGE Lady

Contemplations about Life, Love, & the Pursuit of Meaningful Existence...

Holly Michael's Writing Straight

Connecting and Inspiring Along Life's Crooked Lines by Author Holly Michael

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Ayesha Mehr Nadeem

Thinking and communicating

Meditation Travelogue

Thoughts from the mystical road by noelle vignola

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Peace be upon you!

The believers are only those who, when Allah is mentioned, their hearts become fearful, and when His verses are recited to them, it increases them in faith; and upon their Lord they rely.

Reject Reality

The world as I see it, according to myself.

AlvaradoFrazier

Life Between the Sheets (of paper): Story, Art, and Poetry

Evelyne Holingue

Chronicles, Stories & Books by a French-American Writer

Simply Said by Tina

laughing . learning . sharing . growing

Caffeine Fix

written under the influence

aliceandmolly

~ only beautiful words

Musings of a tea addict

Thoughts and dreams of a 30-something girl who is never without a cup of tea.

Annie's Blog

The other side of me..

Kali-mania

Musings from afar

personal ramblings

what the fuck?

keris journal

A dandilion.... can either mean one hundred weeds or one hundred wishes!

No, wait, it's not my story, it's theirs..

i only wash them up good and then wear them

Crazy World

Just a teenage girl in a crazy world

athousandtimestooshort

I read, write, take photographs, do other stuff...then blog about it.

Life is beautiful

Smile...Life is better when you're laughing!!!! :):):)

alygeorges

memoirs of aly (the way i see it).

On The Way...

I'm thinking about it so even though I've not left yet, I'm on the way...

Craft Apple

A wife, a mom, a homeschooler, a crafter...

MyLoudThought

It's about our thoughts; Love, Trust, Respect . . .

Just Ask Tina

Lessons I've Learned • Truths I've Discovered

Soul Healing Art

by Kimberly Harding

Find Your Middle Ground

"Life is a series of highs and lows. Be grateful for the highs. Be graceful in the lows. Enjoy life fully and find contentment in your Middle Ground" Val Boyko

wetstreet

a memoir

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

sallamblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

jenskeptic

ST friends

Optimistic Kid

Be Somebody

Honoring Grandfathers

bornalmost

An effort to liberalizing people to help themselves.

✎ Written Thoughts....

POETRY / MUSIC / REFLECTIONS by : Nodz~

The Mockingbird in Me

Chirps of an old yet gentle and meek soul

Beth Dahleen

A Blog About Family Life and Everyday Adventures

Sesamechi's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Libretto

Expression of Thought through Words

Writing, Reading, and the Pursuit of Dreams

My self-publishing journey and other literary moments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,563 other followers

