Gravitar Links


coastalmom:

This one is for everyone who has ever tried to look for a link via someone’s Gravatar and in turn, that person has  not bothered to put their blog’s address where everyone sees their face! The only way I know how to get to someone’s blog is to click on their name. If there is no link to their blog on that page…. I am not sure how they think people are finding them. If someone goes to the trouble of writing a blog… you’d think they’d want other people to find it and read it… right?

gravatar
This is also for everyone who ever wondered why they don’t have as much traffic on their blog as someone else has on theirs. ! Click on yourself and see if your address or blog’s page comes up. If it doesn’t… you need to know this very important thing…

followers

 Not everybody will take the time to cut and paste your name to search for you!
Pleeease… if you feel that this is worthy of a reblog and you want to spread the news so that people start posting their blog page on their gravatar Reblog this one too! ;)

Originally posted on No Stolen Cat Pictures:

[Special note: the title of this article should be spelled "Gravatar Links" with no "i" in the first word. I would correct this but then people who have already linked to it would end up with dead links. I choose fame over correctness!]

I promised someone that I would show her how to add a link to her blog on her Gravatar page so that anywhere her Gravatar is people can easily go to her blog. I thought it best to make a little video showing exactly how to do this so there is no doubt how to go about it. Click in if you would like to watch.

View original 17 more words

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lessonsbyheart
    Sep 21, 2013 @ 20:56:38

    Thanks for sharing this. I reblogged his post – and gave a link to you as well.

    \o/

    Reply

  2. WordsFallFromMyEyes
    Sep 14, 2013 @ 08:20:02

    This is great! Very worthwhile. Cheers.

    Reply

  3. Pat
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 01:57:17

    Thanks for passing this information along, Diane. I shared.

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Sep 02, 2013 @ 02:10:17

      Pat,
      Thanks for sharing it! Funny how so many people don’t know about it! It is kind of like asking for a price. If it is there and you want it… you buy it… but if the price is not visible… how many times have you not taken the time to look for it? I don’t know how many times I have put something back, that I might have bought if the price had been right and I really wanted it.
      Our blogs are like that. If it is accessible and easy to get to then we all generate more traffic.
      I am not really about how MANY people read my blog. I am more about who I connect with and if I my words can make a difference. Or at the least help someone not feel alone.
      But on the same token… I have been known to make the effort and cut and paste to track down an address and follow a blog… but more than not… I have been known to also pass on over one if the address is not handy. Ya know? LOL…Now you didn’t ask for that long winded reply did ya? ;)

      Reply

      • Pat
        Sep 02, 2013 @ 02:25:30

        (hahaha) I’m lovin’ it, Diane. But, you’re right. We see these little pictures next to comments all the time but very rarely check them out. I have on more than one occasion and it’s a handy tool to locate someone.

        I agree with being more about content and making lasting friendships on the internet rather than traffic #’s. I think our connection is like that, my friend.

        Reply

  4. mlhe
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 13:41:00

    Thank you for being the one to get Mr. Gramze to give a tutorial! He teaches more than piano and gets us all to our ‘keyboards’ in gratefulness! And, he’s excused for wanting to spell gravatar with some gravity!

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Aug 31, 2013 @ 14:05:18

      mlhe!
      LOL. He is excused but if I did it… he’d be all over me like flies on honey!!!! ;)
      Though he actually posted this without lil ole me prompting it. Though I have complained about this very thing in one of my archives on blogging. I am so glad he has finally done this. I hope it goes viral. I would love if wordpress. would put this on the page when everyone registers before they even sign up! Make it a prerequisite for signing up!
      I used to wonder why people didn’t post their address on their gravatars. Especially if they were writing and expecting people to read their blog. Now I realize that a lot of people had no idea that their address was even missing.
      I am sure this will need to be a repost but I do wish that wordpress could start to offer something as clear as this was to all newbies!
      Thanks for reposting!

      Reply

  5. DebbyGies (D.G.Kaye)
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 14:35:35

    Excellent for us technically challenged, lol. Just “one more” thing I need to do to fix up, sheesh, I miss writing!

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Aug 31, 2013 @ 23:43:49

      Debby…
      I know… My blog is my biggest distraction and yet I can’t seem to stop writing here! I love my followers and their feedback! So glad you got things figured out. I read what Jim said about everything and that makes sense. At least you figured it out before you had a million followers which is just around the bend when your book is published! ;)

      Reply

  6. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 13:38:58

    Thanks so much for sharing. I had no idea I didn’t have this information. I just DID it. This is awesome!

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Aug 30, 2013 @ 13:55:43

      I am so glad! All of those who read this and are my friends already… will KNOW that I thought that there was something special enough for me to go and cut and paste your link so that I could find you! But if we can all try to get this out there… it would make finding people so much easier. I really wish that wordpress would explain it better when people are signing up how important it is to include their links on their gravatar pages.
      Thanks for reading! Please….Keep passing on the info!
      xoxo

      Reply

  7. jimgramze
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 03:02:40

    I’m behind a few posts on everything I follow. I’ll get caught up soon, promise.

    Reply

  8. jimgramze
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 03:01:56

    Gravatar. Gravatar. Gravatar. Another thousand times and I won’t forget the spelling. Gravatar. Gravatar . . .

    Reply

  9. Steven Sawyer
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 02:53:15

    Thanks for sharing this, I’m going to add a link or two to my gravitar, now that I know how. This is cool.

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Aug 30, 2013 @ 03:46:44

      Steven… for those who I follow who didn’t have a link… Ya know I thought you were great enough to track your link down anyway. But I’d really like to get this out in viral fashion cuzzz it is so frustrating… to see a great comment… click on the Gravatar of that person. Only to have no where to go. I’ve wanted to dedicate a post just on this subject! But it would have only been a complaint. Jim has actually offered a tutorial to fix the issue! I had to reblog it and hope everyone who reads this… will re-blog it as well! ;)

      Reply

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Twitter

August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 39,567 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,565 other followers

Archives

Archives

Meg Evans

Just another WordPress.com site

Better For That

To things that make life better

We are made of paper.

our hearts are made of glass.

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

The Whispering Pen

Sharing my experiences one haiku at a time.

west517

the world we know

LUGGAGE Lady

Contemplations about Life, Love, & the Pursuit of Meaningful Existence...

Holly Michael's Writing Straight

Connecting and Inspiring Along Life's Crooked Lines by Author Holly Michael

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Ayesha Mehr Nadeem

Thinking and communicating

Meditation Travelogue

Thoughts from the mystical road by noelle vignola

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Peace be upon you!

The believers are only those who, when Allah is mentioned, their hearts become fearful, and when His verses are recited to them, it increases them in faith; and upon their Lord they rely.

Reject Reality

The world as I see it, according to myself.

AlvaradoFrazier

Life Between the Sheets (of paper): Story, Art, and Poetry

Evelyne Holingue

Chronicles, Stories & Books by a French-American Writer

Simply Said by Tina

laughing . learning . sharing . growing

Caffeine Fix

written under the influence

aliceandmolly

~ only beautiful words

Musings of a tea addict

Thoughts and dreams of a 30-something girl who is never without a cup of tea.

Meg Evans

Just another WordPress.com site

Better For That

To things that make life better

We are made of paper.

our hearts are made of glass.

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

The Whispering Pen

Sharing my experiences one haiku at a time.

west517

the world we know

LUGGAGE Lady

Contemplations about Life, Love, & the Pursuit of Meaningful Existence...

Holly Michael's Writing Straight

Connecting and Inspiring Along Life's Crooked Lines by Author Holly Michael

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Ayesha Mehr Nadeem

Thinking and communicating

Meditation Travelogue

Thoughts from the mystical road by noelle vignola

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Peace be upon you!

The believers are only those who, when Allah is mentioned, their hearts become fearful, and when His verses are recited to them, it increases them in faith; and upon their Lord they rely.

Reject Reality

The world as I see it, according to myself.

AlvaradoFrazier

Life Between the Sheets (of paper): Story, Art, and Poetry

Evelyne Holingue

Chronicles, Stories & Books by a French-American Writer

Simply Said by Tina

laughing . learning . sharing . growing

Caffeine Fix

written under the influence

aliceandmolly

~ only beautiful words

Musings of a tea addict

Thoughts and dreams of a 30-something girl who is never without a cup of tea.

Annie's Blog

The other side of me..

Kali-mania

Musings from afar

personal ramblings

what the fuck?

keris journal

A dandilion.... can either mean one hundred weeds or one hundred wishes!

No, wait, it's not my story, it's theirs..

i only wash them up good and then wear them

Crazy World

Just a teenage girl in a crazy world

athousandtimestooshort

I read, write, take photographs, do other stuff...then blog about it.

Life is beautiful

Smile...Life is better when you're laughing!!!! :):):)

alygeorges

memoirs of aly (the way i see it).

On The Way...

I'm thinking about it so even though I've not left yet, I'm on the way...

Craft Apple

A wife, a mom, a homeschooler, a crafter...

MyLoudThought

It's about our thoughts; Love, Trust, Respect . . .

Just Ask Tina

Lessons I've Learned • Truths I've Discovered

Soul Healing Art

by Kimberly Harding

Find Your Middle Ground

"Life is a series of highs and lows. Be grateful for the highs. Be graceful in the lows. Enjoy life fully and find contentment in your Middle Ground" Val Boyko

wetstreet

a memoir

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

sallamblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

jenskeptic

ST friends

Optimistic Kid

Be Somebody

Honoring Grandfathers

bornalmost

An effort to liberalizing people to help themselves.

✎ Written Thoughts....

POETRY / MUSIC / REFLECTIONS by : Nodz~

The Mockingbird in Me

Chirps of an old yet gentle and meek soul

Beth Dahleen

A Blog About Family Life and Everyday Adventures

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,565 other followers

