Don’t Sweat The Small Stuff… and is it really all small stuff?


I follow a blog by a fellow blogger and follower of my blog named Dyan, that challenges us to find  things to be grateful for in life. She is faithful in her commitment to write a daily word of encouragement and it has become an easy read. Today’s seemed to trigger a memory for me. It made me STOP and really see what I have been doing for over a decade… I realized that I am afraid to just let go and be grateful. To live in the moment to not worry about yesterday or tomorrow to just be grateful for something as simple as the ability to enjoy jam on my toast in the morning. I know it sounds funny… but some of you GET me so well…  I know you’ll understand.

Here is an excerpt from her post today:

It may be small, like the peach jam on your toast in the morning, pretty flowers that you pass on a walk - or it can be big, like a job opportunity we are presented with.  But if we are watching for things to be grateful for through our days, we will find them.  Living gratefully, purposely taking time to be grateful every day will bring us more things to be grateful for.  That is a great reason to keep a gratitude list every day.

To read the whole thing… here it is:

http://dyandiamond.net/2013/09/03/why-be-grateful/

Well over ten years ago, I remember picking up an article in the waiting room of a medical office where I had my yearly exam. It was an excerpt from the book…”Don’t sweat the small stuff… And it’s all small stuff” We’ve all heard about it since. But it was new to me then. As a child, I always worried. I have since realized I’d become a co-dependent at an early age and always seemed to be waiting for something bad to happen.

I remember really reading every word and deciding that I was going to stop and smell the flowers just as I was called in for my turn… I remember light heartedly changing into the paper gown and waiting for the doctor. We made the usual small talk and then the expression on his face changed. It got more serious. He’d found a lump in my throat. It was strange… I never felt it……….  I think at that moment the whole thing about not sweating the small stuff was extracted from my memory.

For the next few weeks, appointments for surgeons and ultra sounds all filled the parts of my brain that was going to not sweat anything. I’ve always tried to protect my kids from my problems but somehow my daughter found out and demanded to know what was going on and then promptly prayed for me. It was a sweet simple prayer but ever since she was little, when she prayed she believed that God really heard her and kind of just expected Him to take care of everything. (If only we all could have that childlike faith!) After an ultra sound and a surgeon not finding anything at his exam it all seemed to have been a mistake or had it? Perhaps there had been something there and God heard the prayers of a child…my sweet daughter.
I just know that as I read Dyan’s blog today… it triggered a memory. I think at that moment in the Doctor’s office… I’d decided to truly not sweat the small stuff and then in the next moment… I’d been hit by a Mack Truck… not small stuff by any sense of the imagination. I am not sure what happened… maybe it was a mistake… maybe even the devil… but I think I was afraid to not sweat the small stuff ever again…. I think that I have been sweating it ever since… trying to be grateful… but always with one eye cocked over my shoulder… All I know is that this little reminder pricked a memory about never trusting anyone or anything with the free abandonment of thinking it is all small stuff because it can change at any moment. I guess that since then… I’ve always waited for the other shoe to fall. Nor have I ever completely relaxed since.

I know that life isn’t necessarily without catastrophe. Since that day… I’ve experienced illness of loved ones, earthquakes, and even death. But I have also experienced answered  prayer, good health and the miracle of birth.  I know it’s not all small stuff. But this little daily reminder, this once a day dose of being grateful really made me take a look at where I stopped appreciating the moment and began trying to deny it’s existence. I’ve been seriously robbed by the joy of relaxing in my gratitude. Like a thief in the night it was snatched from me. Today is a new day and I am just grateful to be sitting here knowing it. And I am grateful for all of God’s Vessels who come into my life with messages as way of their blogs. Perhaps this one might remind you to not sweat the small stuff and though it might not all be small stuff… to recognize when it is and to trust God with the rest! Have a grateful day!

Sophia's smile

A baby smiles and I see a glimpse of heaven.

A flower grows from a crack in the cement.

daisey through cement

A stranger holds the door open…

holding door

Are these messages possibly Heaven sent?

A garden’s fragrance, a butterflies wings

little girl in the garden

A sunrise inside the warmth of dawn

sunrise golden clouds

A child’s laughter, a friend’s simple note

laughing

when you thought you couldn’t go on…

A slice of toast with some special jam

toast and jam

warm socks on a cold morning

warm socks by tea

Ahhh such is the joy in feeling grateful

that appears in my heart without warning.

girl running

Diane Reed

2013

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anka
    Sep 08, 2013 @ 18:03:57

    Diane, this a timely message for me. As I prepare for the arrival of my third baby, you can imagine how much I am sweating the small stuff. Thanks for reminding to be still and live in the moment.

    Also, I do believe God heard your daughter’s prayer. He probably bottled up all her prayers in a jar.

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Sep 08, 2013 @ 19:23:57

      Your comments always give me such a peace. Truly, I’ve noticed that about you. My prayers for you are for a wonderful and non eventful delivery that gives you guys a healthy baby and mama! When is your due date? I can imagine that this might be a time when you are sweating the small stuff but God has HIS hand all over your sweet family! Relax and enjoy this time… It goes by so fast. I miss that connection of having my babies inside of me!!!! Of course now it would be totally ridiculous since they are both taller than me! LOL :D

      Reply

  2. DebbyGies (D.G.Kaye)
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 03:36:29

    I always say,…………….And don’t forget to breathe! xo Oh, and so glad to see you got your gravatar!!!!! :)

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Sep 06, 2013 @ 13:14:47

      You and I are a lot alike! I love that line… JUST BREATHE!
      Gravatar? Oookaaay… I know you are referring to Jim’s post… and I know when you explain what you meant… I will say…ooooooOOOOH!! But what did you mean? lol.

      Reply

      • DebbyGies (D.G.Kaye)
        Sep 06, 2013 @ 15:54:58

        Lol, Di you always make me smile. And oh yes, we think a lot alike. Now, listen carefully…………Yes, Jim’s post. You had said that you were glad he posted because you didn’t know how to make a gravatar. When I went to click on your post, your ‘about’ page came up with your gravatar and then I clicked on your blog from there. Great pic of you, always smiling. So when I saw that page come up I chuckled to myself and thought, she finally figured it out. Check yourself out! :)

        Reply

        • coastalmom
          Sep 07, 2013 @ 11:31:41

          Debby,
          Funny… I thought I replied here… now I don’t know where I replied! lol. Noooo, I think you may be confused. I have always had a link on my gravatar and I have always had a gravatar… first it was an old black and white portfolio pic of me from a blast from the past and then I posted this one a while ago. But I had my gravatar and a link on my blog from the very beginnng… Long before I met Jim G. Though I appreciate him!
          He’d already posted that one about Gravatars that “someone else” asked him to post… it wasn’t me who originally asked him to make that tutorial… I just jumped on the wagon thanking him for making it because it really is annoying to click on someone’s gravatar and want to check out their blog and then have to cut and paste their name and sometimes that doesn’t work… so when I happened upon Jim G’s tutorial I threw a party! ;)

          Reply

  3. Trackback: Robert JR Graham » Handle Life with Grace, Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff
  4. barbarafranken
    Sep 05, 2013 @ 06:52:36

    beautiful post… being conscious in each moment for everything is so important… good, bad, big, small…. Barbara

    Reply

  5. DyanDiamond
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 12:23:29

    Hi Diane, What a beautiful post! Such an honor to be included in it and so humbled that you have been inspired by my posts. You always warm my heart. Thank you so very much! Dyan

    Reply

  6. Journey In Rhyme
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 02:59:52

    That was beautiful. Glad things turned out okay with your health! There is always SOMETHING to be grateful for… And expressing gratitude daily is very healing. I used to keep a gratitude journal and write 10 “gratefuls” a day- slacked off over time. Now I try to tell God at least ten things I’m grateful for in nightly prayer and when I feel it throughout the day. I especially, while sometimes difficult, list things I’m grateful for when life gets crazy rough. This was a good reminder to focus on the positives! Thank you.

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Sep 07, 2013 @ 13:23:46

      Thank you for reading and sharing! I love your journal idea of 10 things to be grateful for! I used to have a prayer tin that I was pretty faithful in filling… found it a few years later and it is amazing how prayers are answered that we don’t stop to truly be grateful for! Thanks for the reminder!
      xoxo

      Reply

  7. Ralph
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 00:39:46

    Small makes big. One starling with a thousand friends amaze us as the black cloud swoops and swirls against the backdrop of the red sunset. Atoms collide to take out Hiroshima. A boy’s ball in a neighbour’s garden escalates into WW3 between neighbours….. and so on. :D xox

    Reply

  8. kelihasablog
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 00:27:46

    Love this…. I call those little moments a “God Wink”… From one fellow “worrier” to another… when you find out how to stop, please just let me know! :D

    Reply

  9. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 21:37:07

    Sweet. Is it true that the small things in life are the BEST?

    Reply

  10. PapaBear
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 17:33:55

    I think the original quote was: “Don’t sweat the petty stuff…., and don’t pet the sweaty stuff”. :)

    Reply

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Twitter

September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 35,939 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,446 other followers

Archives

Archives

iithinks

Poetry of the Soul

sallamblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

jenskeptic

ST friends

Optimistic Kid

Be Somebody

Honoring Grandfathers

bornalmost

An effort to liberalizing people to help themselves.

✎ Written Thoughts....

POETRY / MUSIC / REFLECTIONS by : Nodz~

The Mockingbird in Me

Chirps of an old yet gentle and meek soul

Beth Dahleen

A Blog About Family Life and Everyday Adventures

Sesamechi's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Libretto

Expression of Thought through Words

Writing, Reading, and the Pursuit of Dreams

My self-publishing journey and other literary moments

Family to the 5 Power!

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Being Mom, raising teenagers, family, faith, photos and an occasional recipe!

alatum angelus

Random specters while I'm still alive.

The Mental Picture

My perspective

Caged No More

Together we are facing a new wave of self-discovery. Break Free! I am a free bird. Fly with me!

laurnaguistepublicist

A topnotch WordPress.com site

iithinks

Poetry of the Soul

sallamblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

jenskeptic

ST friends

Optimistic Kid

Be Somebody

Honoring Grandfathers

bornalmost

An effort to liberalizing people to help themselves.

✎ Written Thoughts....

POETRY / MUSIC / REFLECTIONS by : Nodz~

The Mockingbird in Me

Chirps of an old yet gentle and meek soul

Beth Dahleen

A Blog About Family Life and Everyday Adventures

Sesamechi's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Libretto

Expression of Thought through Words

Writing, Reading, and the Pursuit of Dreams

My self-publishing journey and other literary moments

Family to the 5 Power!

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Being Mom, raising teenagers, family, faith, photos and an occasional recipe!

alatum angelus

Random specters while I'm still alive.

The Mental Picture

My perspective

Caged No More

Together we are facing a new wave of self-discovery. Break Free! I am a free bird. Fly with me!

laurnaguistepublicist

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Wendt Worth Corgi's Weblog

Latest news, etc...

Mark ND Photography

Painting With Light

Love, Life and Whatever...

My guide to life and the way to live is to love.

imaginecontinua

Lumea de altadata si cea de azi.....

Hortus Closus

Pour vivre heureux, vivons cachés

RichardAnkersWrites

A Place For Writing, Poems, And Dreams.

Words4jp's Blog

A Mind Ready to Explode!

Plain and Fancy

Marian Longenecker Beaman: Former Plain Girl Meets Fancy World

mihran Kalaydjian

“I'm a success today because I had a friend who believed in me and I didn't have the heart to let him down.”

Restless Nights in One-night Cheap Hotels

Graduate Student/Writer/Smartass

The Journey of a poet

Just another WordPress.com site

theoxherd

Portrait of the Artist as a Free Man

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

SpiritLed

."....but we have the mind of Christ."

SPIRITUAL DIVA CLUB

MY MISSION IS TO UPLIFT, ENCOURAGE, AND MOTIVATE WOMEN ALL OVER THE WORLD.

theeverbrokenarrow

Once a fool, always a fool.

Worldly Winds

It's not easy being me!

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Suzie81 Speaks

The thoughts and adventures of a thirty-something life

Captive Dreams Window

Dreams No Longer Captive

A 'Mike' For Christ

Hear the Voice of God

In My Father's House

"...that where I am you may be also." Jn.14:3

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

bunny slippers

complete nonesense

Wordifull

...poetry, stories & rants.

yadadarcyyada

Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure

Over Forty Witticisms'

Seeker of truth in a fictitious world!

Inspiring Evolution

Be more than what you can be

Angels Bark

a blog about dogs and life

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,446 other followers

