Being Strong


Brenden and Chad Muslemen

It’s not about muscles that make people think we’re strong,

it’s not about the faults of other’s that makes you the one not wrong,

it’s not about the things we do so that others see them too,

It’s more in our transparency that gives us each  a better view.

 boy looking out window

It’s when I’ve seen the strongest man bend down upon his knees

to wipe the tears from a child’s eyes as he listens to his pleas,

it’s when he stops to hold a stranger’s door even when he’s in a hurry

or calls his wife each time he’s late, knowing that she might be worried.

upset

It’s when he brings her flowers home for really no reason at all,

flowers

it’s when he’s kneeling in prayer that makes him seem so tall.

kneeling man at sunset

All these things show more strength than any winner of a fight,

for strength is in the example of always trying to do what’s right.

Someday we’ll all look back and see things from a different point of view

we’ll see the things we did and the things we wished we didn’t do,

little crying boy

we’ll wonder why we were stubborn and just couldn’t let things go,

we’ll each learn different things about ourselves we wish that we had known.

Jesus looking back

We all will someday end up at the same place of awakening

where we each  meet our Maker, at a time when our heart is breaking,

where we fall upon our knees, realizing where we did it wrong,

and in that moment of weakness it is then we’ll be most strong.

Diane Reed

2013

mans praying hands

42 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. joanavala
    Sep 27, 2013 @ 18:32:52

    Well done!

    Reply

  2. lifeofaministermom
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 19:25:56

    Reblogged this on Life of a Minister Mom and commented:
    A beautiful poem from my dear friend Diane. Strength is…

    Reply

  3. lifeofaministermom
    Sep 26, 2013 @ 18:31:53

    When I read this, it literally took my breath away. Love, love, LOVE everything about it. What a beautiful message of strength. Your words have made my day that much better!! xoxo :D

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Sep 27, 2013 @ 01:11:21

      Patricia,
      Thank you so much! I am blown away by everyone’s reaction to this poem. It’s a message that I wanted to say for a long time and it just came out. I know that it is not me but more and more… a God thing when HE gives me ones that He puts on my heart.. Of course there are still the ones from my own flesh too when I am not always in the right place… I know that one of the first posts of yours that I came across back when I first met you… inspired a poem and I KNOW that YOU were defintely a GOD thing!!! ;)
      xoxo
      Thanks for rebloging! It is an honor especially to be reblogged on your wonderful blog! THAT by the way everyone should go visit if they haven’t!
      Love ya buddy!

      Reply

      • lifeofaministermom
        Sep 27, 2013 @ 23:44:26

        Hearing that anything I’ve done has been an inspiration to you is truly humbling. I am blown away by your talent and it’s a beautiful thing when you’re using the gifts God gives you, and creating such marvelous masterpieces!!! God blessed me with you, and I was excited to share this with any and everyone! It went on Facebook, my twitter, pinterest, the works! Love you friend and thank you for blessing us with your incredible words!!!

        Reply

  4. Vashti Quiroz-Vega
    Sep 25, 2013 @ 03:14:20

    I love it! Your words gave me goosebumps. You’re brilliant with the word-play Diane. I love your style. Great pictures too. :)

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Sep 27, 2013 @ 03:01:30

      Vashti!
      Goose bumps are good! I’ll take them as a sweet compliment! Goose bumps, tears and re-blogging are all right up there with gifts you could never buy me! I’d take them over a present wrapped with a bow any old day! ;)
      xoxo
      Love it! Thank you!

      Reply

  5. lifeconfusions
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 11:30:15

    That was so inspiring. I loved reading every word. Very well written.
    Good luck =)

    Reply

  6. Pat
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 19:51:48

    Tender and sweet, Diane. I especially liked these words:

    “…it’s not about the things we do so that others see them too,
    It’s more in our transparency that gives us each a better view.”

    So true and beautiful written. You have a gift in poetry.

    Reply

  7. DebbyGies (D.G.Kaye)
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 19:36:06

    Never disappointed when I come to this beautiful page……..oh and um, usually need some Kleenex, lol ) xo

    Reply

  8. I HAVE A VOICE
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 18:55:53

    Well Mom, the purity in your writing and viewpoint is like drinking from living waters! BEAUTIFUL Again!

    Reply

  9. kerrichronicles
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 17:28:02

    I love love love this!! Beautiful!

    Reply

  10. Unshakable Hope
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 17:17:55

    This is awesome, Diane! I am so glad to hear that I don’t need muscles to be strong:-)

    Reply

  11. bulldog
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 05:49:29

    This is the first site I open this morning, and what a sense of inspiration for the rest of the week… thank you… most beautiful…

    Reply

  12. grandfathersky
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 01:54:22

    Words to live by … I hope to remember every day … I always great a child on my knees … :-)

    Reply

  13. jimgramze
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 00:40:42

    When I first saw the title for this in my e-mail I thought maybe you had celebrated Talk Like a Pirate Day too much and ran out of “R”s.

    It does take a lot of strength to do the right thing sometimes.

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Sep 23, 2013 @ 15:31:18

      Ahhhh Jim…
      We are always there for each other to point out the obvious. LOL. I knew YOU’d notice if you read this one. Too funny.
      I fat fingered the Title before I proofed and edited & pushed SEND too fast! But as you pointed it out in another post… I think one that I may have corrected you on… haha…
      I am stuck with STONG instead of STRONG now unless I wanted to cut and paste a totally new one and create a new post and lose all my comments. Arghhh! What to do? Chance that no one but Jim G. will notice! LOL!
      You are right… It does take strength! I agree! Thanks for reading :)
      xoxo

      Reply

  14. kelihasablog
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 00:04:33

    This is perfect, and so true! Now, if we can just get more of them to believe it! It’s sad really that they just don’t all get it. As always, your pictures are perfect reflections of your thoughts/words. :D

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Sep 23, 2013 @ 15:37:51

      Keli… so nice to see you back a little more! Thank you for taking the time to read! Yes it is sad… It’s all about the life we live not about what we say about it! ;)
      So glad to see you!!!
      xoxo

      Reply

  15. Joy is now
    Sep 22, 2013 @ 21:02:59

    So, so true and so, so stunning. You’ve excelled yourself once again Di.

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Sep 22, 2013 @ 21:14:50

      Thank you! Good to see you! I’ve missed you! You are another one that I need to figure out why I am not getting notified. I need to go over to yours and Paul’s blog right now!
      xxoxo

      Reply

  16. White Pearl
    Sep 22, 2013 @ 20:54:57

    Oh this is just beautiful. Love the collection of pictures going with the words perfectly.

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Sep 22, 2013 @ 21:13:38

      Thank you… I thought that I fell short of photos for this one … the muscle one, actually is of my son and grandson… I was looking for the right pictures, searching the title muscles and thought ” hey wait a minute… I’ve got the “perfect one” in my own backyard” and pulled it up! lol. Thanks for always being such a faithful reader!
      xoxo

      Reply

  17. PapaBear
    Sep 22, 2013 @ 19:37:24

    This is so very true, Di. Sad part about it is that it doesn’t take a lot of effort to be “strong”, just a lot of thoughtfulness. Nice job!

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Sep 22, 2013 @ 21:09:57

      Hi Paul!
      For some reason I feel that I have missed you! I need to go wander around your pages and see if I missed anything I’m still not automatically getting notified! If you have posted anything since I’ve been there that is.

      Thanks for the comments and reading this. Yep it is sad… I don’t get caught up in needing to be strong but I show my transparency in other ways and you are right it really doesn’t take a lot of effort!
      xoxo

      Reply

  18. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Sep 22, 2013 @ 19:29:58

    Crap. This has brought me to my knees. Wonderfully written.

    Reply

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Twitter

September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 39,169 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,558 other followers

Archives

Archives

Holly Michael's Writing Straight

Connecting and Inspiring Along Life's Crooked Lines by Author Holly Michael

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Ayesha Mehr Nadeem

Thinking and communicating

Meditation Travelogue

Thoughts from the mystical road by noelle vignola

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Peace be upon you!

The believers are only those who, when Allah is mentioned, their hearts become fearful, and when His verses are recited to them, it increases them in faith; and upon their Lord they rely.

Reject Reality

The world as I see it, according to myself.

AlvaradoFrazier

Life Between the Sheets (of paper): Story, Art, and Poetry

Evelyne Holingue

Chronicles, Stories & Books by a French-American Writer

Simply Said by Tina

laughing . learning . sharing . growing

Caffeine Fix

written under the influence

aliceandmolly

~ only beautiful words

Musings of a tea addict

Thoughts and dreams of a 30-something girl who is never without a cup of tea.

Annie's Blog

The other side of me..

Kali-mania

Musings from afar

personal ramblings

what the fuck?

keris journal

A dandilion.... can either mean one hundred weeds or one hundred wishes!

No, wait, it's not my story, it's theirs..

i only wash them up good and then wear them

Crazy World

Just a teenage girl in a crazy world

Holly Michael's Writing Straight

Connecting and Inspiring Along Life's Crooked Lines by Author Holly Michael

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Ayesha Mehr Nadeem

Thinking and communicating

Meditation Travelogue

Thoughts from the mystical road by noelle vignola

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Peace be upon you!

The believers are only those who, when Allah is mentioned, their hearts become fearful, and when His verses are recited to them, it increases them in faith; and upon their Lord they rely.

Reject Reality

The world as I see it, according to myself.

AlvaradoFrazier

Life Between the Sheets (of paper): Story, Art, and Poetry

Evelyne Holingue

Chronicles, Stories & Books by a French-American Writer

Simply Said by Tina

laughing . learning . sharing . growing

Caffeine Fix

written under the influence

aliceandmolly

~ only beautiful words

Musings of a tea addict

Thoughts and dreams of a 30-something girl who is never without a cup of tea.

Annie's Blog

The other side of me..

Kali-mania

Musings from afar

personal ramblings

what the fuck?

keris journal

A dandilion.... can either mean one hundred weeds or one hundred wishes!

No, wait, it's not my story, it's theirs..

i only wash them up good and then wear them

Crazy World

Just a teenage girl in a crazy world

athousandtimestooshort

I read, write, take photographs, do other stuff...then blog about it.

Life is beautiful

Smile...Life is better when you're laughing!!!! :):):)

alygeorges

memoirs of aly (the way i see it).

On The Way...

I'm thinking about it so even though I've not left yet, I'm on the way...

Craft Apple

A wife, a mom, a homeschooler, a crafter...

MyLoudThought

It's about our thoughts; Love, Trust, Respect . . .

Just Ask Tina

Lessons I've Learned • Truths I've Discovered

Soul Healing Art

by Kimberly Harding

Find Your Middle Ground

"Life is a series of highs and lows. Be grateful for the highs. Be graceful in the lows. Enjoy life fully and find contentment in your Middle Ground" Val Boyko

wetstreet

a memoir

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

sallamblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

jenskeptic

ST friends

Optimistic Kid

Be Somebody

Honoring Grandfathers

bornalmost

An effort to liberalizing people to help themselves.

✎ Written Thoughts....

POETRY / MUSIC / REFLECTIONS by : Nodz~

The Mockingbird in Me

Chirps of an old yet gentle and meek soul

Beth Dahleen

A Blog About Family Life and Everyday Adventures

Sesamechi's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Libretto

Expression of Thought through Words

Writing, Reading, and the Pursuit of Dreams

My self-publishing journey and other literary moments

Family to the 5 Power!

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Being Mom, raising teenagers, family, faith, photos and an occasional recipe!

alatum angelus

Random specters while I'm still alive.

The Mental Picture

Stories are a sneak peek into someone's imagination. This blog is an open window into mine.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,558 other followers

