The Bucket Dumper


grape young girl picking

Today was an amazing day. I got to hang out with great friends in their vineyard and be part of their harvest! They invited us to help pick their grapes and it was an awesome experience.

larry baldwin1

The group of people that gathered this morning happily worked like a fine oiled machine. We each got a bucket to fill, a glove and pruning shears. And though I missed church (which I have been doing a lot lately, another blog for another time…. ) I kind of had my own service all within my own few rows of grapes.

grapes bucket

I am kind of competitive, even with myself. So I had fun seeing how fast I could fill a bucket and how many I could fill. The only thing was that the fuller the bucket got, the further down the row I got and the place to dump the grapes was all the way back up the row.

grapez

So after a few dumps, I jokingly made a comment that we needed a bucket dumper who went around and took our filled buckets in exchange for an empty one. Low and behold someone took on that task.

larry baldwin

Of course “me” the lover of a good metaphor is not going to let this one pass. So, I started relating the bucket dumper to what God does for us… He provides us with a bountiful harvest and takes the fruits of our labors and lessens our load with His grace. The job of the bucket dumper is not a glorified one.

 grapes bucket being emptied

I’ve always loved it when I get to  cook a great meal and someone will come in behind me as I go and wash the dishes.

They are the ones without the glory and yet most appreciated by not only the chef and the winemaker but everyone not having to do that job..

So… whether it is a  meal or a bottle of wine, it is not in just the end result but all that goes on behind the scenes. It’s all about the entire process and sometimes, it’s not just about how many buckets that “I” fill but it is more about being grateful for  the dish washers and the bucket dumpers that help create the magic!

wine bottle

Sometime it’s not about how full the bucket is, but what’s in the heart of the one who fills it.

                                                                         Diane Reed ’13

36 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. I HAVE A VOICE
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 22:36:26

    Ohh mom, you looked happy and having fun, clip, clip, snip, snip! What a face lift on the Lord’s vineyard ! Thank you for taking me with you :) I love you and your blog! How’s your sweet daughter dear? Thinking & praying for you everyday ~XO Debbie ~ God keep you.

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Oct 09, 2013 @ 13:47:58

      Debbie,
      You are so sweet! It was fun!
      She is great thanks for asking! She just sent me a photo of herself with Brooke Shields… the one I actually named her after! She is working with her! So fun!
      xoxo!

      Reply

  2. kerrichronicles
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 14:42:25

    I always wanted to play in a vineyard. Sounds like so much fun!

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Oct 08, 2013 @ 16:11:56

      Kerri,
      I was excited when I was invited! Got a case of wine out of it that we tried to refuse… and never expected. Just the experience was obviously enough for me! But you nailed it! I felt like a kid again out there! I could move down a row and be completely alone or stay around everyone and be a part of the converastion! It was hard work but reeeeally fun! ;)

      Reply

  3. Jim Gramze
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 13:52:30

    I’ve been thinking about blog posts and pictures. It would be nice if when a picture is clicked a larger picture would appear instead of the same smaller version that appears in the post. I’m going to blog about doing such and also some other formatting issues, exploring making my own posts better in the process.

    I am supposed to receive a new computer delivered to my front door tomorrow (October 9) and then I’ll have a mess on my hands getting things organized on it and getting three monitors to cooperate together the way I want. I’ve been gathering and sorting grapes in preparation but it is still going to be a mess until I can stomp on all those grapes and start producing wine.

    But a short series of practical and useful tips on the mechanics of making our blogs would be useful to me and perhaps others it what I’m after in the short term.

    Go to church!

    Reply

  4. dgkaye
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 00:33:55

    Yum, poor me some wine! I need a drink. Di, I’m trying to close off my site and wp has locked me out of the controls. My web guy is working on this but please remember, I won’t see comments on wp anymore, I have signed in here with my new site, http://www.dgkayewriter.com xo

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Oct 11, 2013 @ 13:57:40

      K heading over there to check it out! Seems I always find you when I am on my way to work or somethin! But I miss our chats! MY fault… I know! ;)

      Reply

  5. Unshakable Hope
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 15:25:08

    Great post, Diane!
    Looked like the perfect day.

    Reply

  6. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 14:51:38

    I love your last line:
    “Sometime it’s not about how full the bucket is, but what’s in the heart of the one who fills it.”
    I think picking grapes might be a heady, aromatic experience. ;-)

    Reply

  7. amandalannon
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 13:29:42

    Love this. Journeying through our lives we learn so much of what God has already told us, like a light switch being switched on..”oh I get it”. :)

    As for church…(and I don’t yet know the reasons you do not attend), we are to be church, whether it is a building or otherwise. It is so important to fellowship as church, the trouble with being selective about who our church becomes by not going to a place called church we are not tested, not stretched by mixing with those we perhaps prefer not to be with, we listen to the same old same but more importantly we don’t get to give Grace…or receive it! You have wonderful gems in your writings, such a shame not share them with a church?

    I attended a church that did not feel right for four years, I felt I was in a desert, I was hurt by that church, the lack of fellowship, the oen track on preaching and so on. I said to my husband, in some ways it might have been better not to have attended at all rather than to have gone where I went whilst attending the wrong place. On reflection, I do think it made me grow in a different way, it certainly tested me and I certainly lost Grace a number of times….

    Sorry to have gone off track and hope you don’t mind me encouraging you re church? Bless you, Amanda

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Oct 07, 2013 @ 14:35:47

      Amanda,
      You pricked my heart today! I needed to hear that! I always seem to eventually find myself in the places where I used to judge. I needed to hear (or in this case see) your message today! I agree with you!! I’ve always been so upset with the people who cause a church to split over something so stupid as worship… They even have a song about it now… “It’s not about me Lord”! Which by the way, right now, is not my issue. Worship is great… it is just a bunch of other little things that have got me building walls again! But you nailed it when you talked about a desert! And again when you talked about that time in your life, helping you grow!!!! Wham… you were NOT of topic at all! You were being used by God! Thank you!

      Reply

  8. Yaz
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 08:36:41

    See Diane, who needs church when these experiences make you see God for yourself? There comes a time when sermons don’t do it anymore and life experience takes over. True connection comes with direct experience. This is a lovely post.

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Oct 07, 2013 @ 12:27:31

      Yaz!
      Yep. I am going through a weird time right now. Though there have been times in my life where I’ve really needed the fellowship… sometimes I get lost in more what people think rather than what God wants from me. I can’t just go to church because my husband wants me to… whether his reasons are because what people might think if I’m not there or he really feels I need to be there for me… it has to be because I want to be there for God! I’m sure I will get back to that place… but for now… I think I am going to continue this with a poem from what I learned from my little sermon to myself and the things I learned about grapes yesterday!
      Thanks for reading! Your comments always are appreciated cuz they add so much!

      Reply

  9. bulldog
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 05:14:10

    I enjoyed this post… the comments were of a great enjoyment too…

    Reply

  10. Steven Sawyer
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 02:19:36

    I wish we could talk about it more. More like editor to writer. We could go over some things and if you want I can possibly throw in an opinion now and again. I’m writing the rest of the story in my head. It’s a great romance. You are unimaginably happy.

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Oct 07, 2013 @ 03:02:16

      I would like that! I am going to rewrite Chapter nine… remove all the “hads” Though I think that because I pointed them out.. you noticed them more… but yikes they are saturated throughout. Keep in mind that Paul pointed that out in Chapter Two when he edited that chapter…. but I’d already written twenty + chapters with my bad habits all stuffed throughout each one! I think that two things have held me from finishing… one… there is a lot of work ahead in the edit…deciding what to keep and what to change… and of course coming to terms with “my” story and how it ends. I’ll have to find my ephiphany for you when I was mowing the lawn! I am going to wake up early and work on all your great comments when I am fresh. This has been a long day… But promise tomorrow I will roll up my sleeves and begin again!
      Sweet dreams!

      Reply

      • Steven Sawyer
        Oct 07, 2013 @ 03:05:15

        Good nite. It’s 11 here and I still have to call my uncle in Tucson. Talk to you soon. Good night and God bless.

        Reply

  11. PapaBear
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 02:17:01

    Nice story, Di. Sort of reminds me of parts of the movie “A Walk in the Clouds”. Noelle’s aunt has a vinyard in CA , north of LA, way out in the country. Beautiful place. Never been there for a harvest. They also make wines (for her catering business). She’s as old as dirt, but still runs the business with an iron fist (in a velvet glove) !!! Take care.
    Pau

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Oct 07, 2013 @ 02:24:34

      Loved that movie! It was a very educating experience today. Learned what to pick and what to leave and how they actually start making the wine. So many aspects to it all. It is amazing that wine doesn’t cost more! It makes you appreciate a good bottle more after you have had a hand in understanding all that is involved!

      Reply

    • coastalmom
      Oct 07, 2013 @ 03:19:18

      Paul… we are in CA North of LA!!!

      Reply

  12. Steven Sawyer
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 02:10:20

    Diane, this was a grape post. I thought it was just vine. And it sounds like you had a vat of fun doing it.

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Oct 07, 2013 @ 02:14:15

      LOL Steven…
      Everyone started reading before I fixed the last sentence that made totally no sense at all! Didn’t you wonder what the heck my point was? :) Too funny!
      I still have to go back and reply to all your great reviews!

      Reply

      • Steven Sawyer
        Oct 07, 2013 @ 02:17:38

        I am finding the editor self coming out as I read. I don’t want the editor persona to mess up the reader persona. I’m still enjoying the story a lot.

        Reply

        • coastalmom
          Oct 07, 2013 @ 02:21:55

          LOL. I am not sure why I do it… but I click PUBLISH long before I am through with tweaking every post that I ever publish on my blog. Kind of like saying “Soup’s on…” as I keep tasting and adding more seasoning before it hits the table… and yet everyone gathers as soon as I call them to the table. I need to learn to slow down and get it right… because my most faithful readers are the first to come by to taste my posts… and I want them especially to get to see it at it’s best… but I am too quick in saying “Oookaaay come and get it!” LOL.

          Reply

          • Steven Sawyer
            Oct 07, 2013 @ 02:32:28

            I always hit Save Draft. I usually have at least t or 6 drafts before I publish anything. I guess it’s the editor in me. I’m my worst proof reader and a horrible critic of my own stuff. I don’t want any mistakes in what I post. I’m a perfectionist that way I guess. One of my character defects.

            Reply

            • coastalmom
              Oct 07, 2013 @ 02:35:36

              Well with me, I am just impatient and if you ever read one of my posts as soon as I post it. Nine times out of ten, you can come back an hour later and it will be 30% changed! ;)

              Reply

              • Steven Sawyer
                Oct 07, 2013 @ 02:39:33

                I hate to publish things and find mistakes too. I once made a subject-verb agreement error in an ad I wrote that was published in a huge metropolitan newspaper. I was devastated, because I couldn’t do anything to change it then.

                Reply

                • coastalmom
                  Oct 07, 2013 @ 02:52:33

                  Sometimes I’d like to click “edit” backspace, and delete or insert something else…when my MOUTH is involved!
                  Too bad we can’t always do that!
                  NOW they make everything so easy for us. Remember when you wanted a copy it meant how many pieces of carbon copy you had? NOW we don’t even need corrector ribbon. We are spoiled! But we still need to edit. I was reading a book today published by a big publisher and caught a mistake! So it still happens! Only Jesus is mistake-less!

                  Reply

                  • Steven Sawyer
                    Oct 07, 2013 @ 02:56:40

                    I’ve found grammar errors in best selling books, so yeah, it happens. Have you ever found a mistake, even a grammar error or spelling error in the Bible, any edition? I have not. And yes, Jesus is the only one who never made a mistake.

                    Reply

          • Moore to ponder
            Oct 07, 2013 @ 06:07:09

            I didn’t notice anything wrong with your post, but this comment made me smile. l do that with every post I write. I will click on “publish” and then have to edit it later on, because my subjects and verbs will be disagreeing, or I will have forgot a comma…it drives me crazy. Then I will wish that some of my readers didn’t get my post in an email.

            I liked your analogy and identified with the comment about church attendance. I don’t attend regularly during this chapter in my life either. Who knows maybe in a week or so I’ll turn over a whole new leaf, but in the meantime I still love to acknowledge the Lord and learn about Him in all of those moments as He taps me on the shoulder and says “Look at that. Did you notice how…”…and I’m glad He does that with you, too. :)

            Reply

            • coastalmom
              Oct 07, 2013 @ 12:43:28

              You probably came on after I’d corrected more of my mistakes. There were a lot! I wonder… if the emails aren’t corrected by the time your readers read… if it is later when they finally read…after you corrected them? Anywaay, Yeah… funny how when I was younger… I imagined being married to someone who wanted to go to church with me… now it seems as if our roles are reversed. I remember my mom taking us alone and seeing all the couples. Now we are both married to church going men…funny how things work. Maybe someday I will regret not feeling connected. I’ve been in church lady mode in the past, washing dishes behind the scenes… having the gift of serving… and I liked being a part of the planning… I’ve worked with the kids in different aspects… even committed to an entire year last year of being a Team Leader.
              Now, I feel a little selfish but I am really trying to truly connect with God and for this time in my life, church just frustrates me. I GET that church does not guarantee perfection… sometimes, it even brings out the worst in people… the judgers… but there I go again… judging the judgers! In the end… my goal is trying to figure out where God wants me. Yesterday I felt pretty confident that I was where I was supposed to be. Problem is the harvest doesn’t happen every Sunday…
              Or does it? ;)

              Reply

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Twitter

October 2013
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 39,577 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,567 other followers

Archives

Archives

Your Heart Over Matter

By Krystle J Dookoo

Meg Evans

Just another WordPress.com site

Better For That

To things that make life better

We are made of paper.

our hearts are made of glass.

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

The Whispering Pen

Sharing my experiences one haiku at a time.

west517

the world we know

LUGGAGE Lady

Contemplations about Life, Love, & the Pursuit of Meaningful Existence...

Holly Michael's Writing Straight

Connecting and Inspiring Along Life's Crooked Lines by Author Holly Michael

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Ayesha Mehr Nadeem

Thinking and communicating

Meditation Travelogue

Thoughts from the mystical road by noelle vignola

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Peace be upon you!

The believers are only those who, when Allah is mentioned, their hearts become fearful, and when His verses are recited to them, it increases them in faith; and upon their Lord they rely.

Reject Reality

The world as I see it, according to myself.

AlvaradoFrazier

Life Between the Sheets (of paper): Story, Art, and Poetry

Evelyne Holingue

Chronicles, Stories & Books by a French-American Writer

Simply Said by Tina

laughing . learning . sharing . growing

Caffeine Fix

written under the influence

aliceandmolly

~ only beautiful words

Your Heart Over Matter

By Krystle J Dookoo

Meg Evans

Just another WordPress.com site

Better For That

To things that make life better

We are made of paper.

our hearts are made of glass.

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

The Whispering Pen

Sharing my experiences one haiku at a time.

west517

the world we know

LUGGAGE Lady

Contemplations about Life, Love, & the Pursuit of Meaningful Existence...

Holly Michael's Writing Straight

Connecting and Inspiring Along Life's Crooked Lines by Author Holly Michael

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Ayesha Mehr Nadeem

Thinking and communicating

Meditation Travelogue

Thoughts from the mystical road by noelle vignola

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Peace be upon you!

The believers are only those who, when Allah is mentioned, their hearts become fearful, and when His verses are recited to them, it increases them in faith; and upon their Lord they rely.

Reject Reality

The world as I see it, according to myself.

AlvaradoFrazier

Life Between the Sheets (of paper): Story, Art, and Poetry

Evelyne Holingue

Chronicles, Stories & Books by a French-American Writer

Simply Said by Tina

laughing . learning . sharing . growing

Caffeine Fix

written under the influence

aliceandmolly

~ only beautiful words

Musings of a tea addict

Thoughts and dreams of a 30-something girl who is never without a cup of tea.

Annie's Blog

The other side of me..

Kali-mania

Musings from afar

personal ramblings

what the fuck?

keris journal

A dandilion.... can either mean one hundred weeds or one hundred wishes!

No, wait, it's not my story, it's theirs..

i only wash them up good and then wear them

Crazy World

Just a teenage girl in a crazy world

athousandtimestooshort

I read, write, take photographs, do other stuff...then blog about it.

Life is beautiful

Smile...Life is better when you're laughing!!!! :):):)

alygeorges

memoirs of aly (the way i see it).

On The Way...

I'm thinking about it so even though I've not left yet, I'm on the way...

Craft Apple

A wife, a mom, a homeschooler, a crafter...

MyLoudThought

It's about our thoughts; Love, Trust, Respect . . .

Just Ask Tina

Lessons I've Learned • Truths I've Discovered

Soul Healing Art

by Kimberly Harding

Find Your Middle Ground

"Life is a series of highs and lows. Be grateful for the highs. Be graceful in the lows. Enjoy life fully and find contentment in your Middle Ground" Val Boyko

wetstreet

a memoir

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

sallamblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

jenskeptic

ST friends

Optimistic Kid

Be Somebody

Honoring Grandfathers

bornalmost

An effort to liberalizing people to help themselves.

✎ Written Thoughts....

POETRY / MUSIC / REFLECTIONS by : Nodz~

The Mockingbird in Me

Chirps of an old yet gentle and meek soul

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,567 other followers

