The Most Distressed


I don’t often post a series except of course in posting my chapters 1-9 from my unpublished book’s rough draft…  So this is unusual for me to do a two parter but I just was so inspired by the message I received yesterday while picking grapes at our friend’s vineyard, that I had to just add this today….

In the course of yesterday while I was picking grapes at my friend’s Harvest Day Vineyard Grape Picking Party… I was told to avoid the clusters where there were over 50% “raisins” (shriveled grapes).

grapes raisins

However, later as we were chatting over wine and good food, I learned different lessons of the art of winemaking and one of them was that the stressed grapes make the better wine. (Not to be confused with the raisins!)

It’s in the fruit that is the most distressed,

the one that ‘s weathered and withstood the test.

it’s the fruit that’s clung onto the vine

that someday makes the better wine.

RAIN

Oh Lord, I’ve finally begun to see

the message today, you had for me.

I may not always understand the pain

but growth is found beneath the rain.

grapes distressed

inside the storm as we hang on..

It’s in those times that have made us strong.

For those who’ve held on longest to the vine…

They are God’s reserve…

HIS finest wine!

wine glass

Diane Reed

’13

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. D.G. Kaye
    Oct 13, 2013 @ 03:05:59

    Hey beautiful friend, I have nominated you for a blogger award, come and get it girl! xo

    Reply

  2. Louise Gallagher
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 13:03:38

    Such a beautiful analogy — and wow — picking grapes. I did that once as a teenager and it was such hard work!!!! :)

    Reply

  3. The Other Side of Ugly - Letters to Humanity
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 05:37:07

    Very beautiful Diane.

    Reply

  4. bulldog
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 03:59:25

    inspiring post… obviously the whole experience has been a type of lesson for you, that you have shared so well with us… marvelous… and I do love the way you’ve done it…

    Reply

  5. loujenhaxmyor
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 23:51:09

    Thanx for sharing your beautiful poem and the info regarding the need for stressed grapes. Have a wonderful day.

    Reply

  6. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 18:11:50

    You find awesome inspiration in just about everything. Awesome writing.

    Reply

  7. Unshakable Hope
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 16:33:41

    Man, you sure do think deep while picking grapes:-)
    Awesome post – I really love the metaphors you come up with!

    Reply

  8. PapaBear
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 15:09:02

    Ok, you old “bucket dumper”! This was a really nice bit of writing, with a little dose of inspiration attached to it. Very, very nice, Di.
    Noelle’s aunt’s vinyard and catering service is in Morgan Hill, CA. Is that anywhere close to you?

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Oct 07, 2013 @ 15:32:59

      Oh my gosh! The one I was at yesterday was in Templeton and I am in Paso. My mom and step dad lived in Morgan Hill for a while! It is less than 3 hours North of us!
      By the way… I was just the bucket filler… the bucket dumpers were doing the most work!! Believe me after me having to empty mine only about 5 times, when they started emptying everyones, they were my heroes! ;)

      Reply

  9. Steven Sawyer
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 15:01:36

    What a wonderful lesson to learn from picking grapes. Have you read my post called Grape Expectations? I think you might like that in view of your wonderful day yesterday. Let me know and I’ll send you the link.

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Oct 07, 2013 @ 15:29:42

      No! I haven’t. I will have to go look it up. Can you tell I am procrastinating going to my book again? I remember how it flowed as I was writing it and now I feel so overwhelmed… but I promise I won’t let all your time go to waste! I may have to drive my husband to some appointments today if his vertigo is not improved! I haven’t talked to him yet. It is a matter of getting to write all day or not that will allow me to go back and work on it… and I promise that I will…rather than writing about everything else! ;)

      Reply

      • Steven Sawyer
        Oct 07, 2013 @ 15:47:39

        Family comes first. Always. Do what you have to do. I’ll be here. I’m eager to hear what you think about my comments as well. But, don’t worry about rushing back to me. Make sure you take care of your family. God bless and I’ll look forward to hearing from you when you can. I know about overwhelmed. Believe me. I have a story about that I can share at some point. Have a blessed day.

        Reply

      • Steven Sawyer
        Oct 07, 2013 @ 15:50:55

        I love to read your replies. And your emails.

        Reply

      • Steven Sawyer
        Oct 07, 2013 @ 19:56:47

        It was my favorite post to write and turned out to be the most commented post I’ve written.

        http://bit.ly/159XIwU

        Reply

  10. MichelleMarie Antell
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 14:31:46

    What a lovely way to spend the day! Picking grapes. I love it!

    Reply

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Twitter

October 2013
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 39,227 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,557 other followers

Archives

Archives

Holly Michael's Writing Straight

Connecting and Inspiring Along Life's Crooked Lines by Author Holly Michael

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Ayesha Mehr Nadeem

Thinking and communicating

Meditation Travelogue

Thoughts from the mystical road by noelle vignola

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Peace be upon you!

The believers are only those who, when Allah is mentioned, their hearts become fearful, and when His verses are recited to them, it increases them in faith; and upon their Lord they rely.

Reject Reality

The world as I see it, according to myself.

AlvaradoFrazier

Life Between the Sheets (of paper): Story, Art, and Poetry

Evelyne Holingue

Chronicles, Stories & Books by a French-American Writer

Simply Said by Tina

laughing . learning . sharing . growing

Caffeine Fix

written under the influence

aliceandmolly

~ only beautiful words

Musings of a tea addict

Thoughts and dreams of a 30-something girl who is never without a cup of tea.

Annie's Blog

The other side of me..

Kali-mania

Musings from afar

personal ramblings

what the fuck?

keris journal

A dandilion.... can either mean one hundred weeds or one hundred wishes!

No, wait, it's not my story, it's theirs..

i only wash them up good and then wear them

Crazy World

Just a teenage girl in a crazy world

Holly Michael's Writing Straight

Connecting and Inspiring Along Life's Crooked Lines by Author Holly Michael

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Ayesha Mehr Nadeem

Thinking and communicating

Meditation Travelogue

Thoughts from the mystical road by noelle vignola

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Peace be upon you!

The believers are only those who, when Allah is mentioned, their hearts become fearful, and when His verses are recited to them, it increases them in faith; and upon their Lord they rely.

Reject Reality

The world as I see it, according to myself.

AlvaradoFrazier

Life Between the Sheets (of paper): Story, Art, and Poetry

Evelyne Holingue

Chronicles, Stories & Books by a French-American Writer

Simply Said by Tina

laughing . learning . sharing . growing

Caffeine Fix

written under the influence

aliceandmolly

~ only beautiful words

Musings of a tea addict

Thoughts and dreams of a 30-something girl who is never without a cup of tea.

Annie's Blog

The other side of me..

Kali-mania

Musings from afar

personal ramblings

what the fuck?

keris journal

A dandilion.... can either mean one hundred weeds or one hundred wishes!

No, wait, it's not my story, it's theirs..

i only wash them up good and then wear them

Crazy World

Just a teenage girl in a crazy world

athousandtimestooshort

I read, write, take photographs, do other stuff...then blog about it.

Life is beautiful

Smile...Life is better when you're laughing!!!! :):):)

alygeorges

memoirs of aly (the way i see it).

On The Way...

I'm thinking about it so even though I've not left yet, I'm on the way...

Craft Apple

A wife, a mom, a homeschooler, a crafter...

MyLoudThought

It's about our thoughts; Love, Trust, Respect . . .

Just Ask Tina

Lessons I've Learned • Truths I've Discovered

Soul Healing Art

by Kimberly Harding

Find Your Middle Ground

"Life is a series of highs and lows. Be grateful for the highs. Be graceful in the lows. Enjoy life fully and find contentment in your Middle Ground" Val Boyko

wetstreet

a memoir

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

sallamblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

jenskeptic

ST friends

Optimistic Kid

Be Somebody

Honoring Grandfathers

bornalmost

An effort to liberalizing people to help themselves.

✎ Written Thoughts....

POETRY / MUSIC / REFLECTIONS by : Nodz~

The Mockingbird in Me

Chirps of an old yet gentle and meek soul

Beth Dahleen

A Blog About Family Life and Everyday Adventures

Sesamechi's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Libretto

Expression of Thought through Words

Writing, Reading, and the Pursuit of Dreams

My self-publishing journey and other literary moments

Family to the 5 Power!

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Being Mom, raising teenagers, family, faith, photos and an occasional recipe!

alatum angelus

Random specters while I'm still alive.

The Mental Picture

Stories are a sneak peek into someone's imagination. This blog is an open window into mine.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,557 other followers

