Back Spacing!


reading little girl by tree

When I was a little girl, I would escape into my books. The stories would take me far away from my bedroom or under the tree where I sat, and snap me to another place and time.  I learned what authors I loved and would anxiously wait for their next book. I remember being just as mesmorized by the fact that somebody created the world I was reading about, almost as much as the story it’s self.

lonely girl in window seat

I knew that was what I wanted to do at an early age. And so I began to write, not because I was told to, but because I had stories inside of me. And as I wrote,  something happened to me. My teachers noticed that though I sucked at most every other subject, I did okay at writing. In fact, I was encouraged and put into special classes to motivate me. Where some kids want to be a ballerina or a fireman I  always knew that  I wanted to be a writer and never have ever changed my mind.

writer's block

Sometimes now,  I like to escape as I write my stories. Fiction is like magic for me. You can make each character a certain gender,  as you name them,  decide what age they will be, what personality they have, their color hair , where they live, and what jobs they have. You can have them married, break them up bring tragedy their way and then save them. As the author, you basically create their world.

writer

I Am The Master Of Their Story

I am the master of their story,

I can break their hearts with my pen.

breaking up

Or… I can backspace and delete

and make them fall in love again!

hugging in the rain

I can carry them to different lands

and make them travel over seas.

ocean

So why then can’t I rewrite

the fate that falls on me?

Diane Reed

2013 ©

40 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. SusanB
    Dec 05, 2013 @ 02:32:06

    I love the picture from the Notebook, sigh, what a great story that was. I like your blog. It inspires. Nice work.

    Reply

  2. coastalmom
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 15:05:47

    Patricia!
    Not sure why I called you Barb! I just noticed that! Guess it twas a senior moment! ;-)

    Reply

  3. lifeofaministermom
    Nov 23, 2013 @ 15:25:04

    As always, you’ve left me so inspired! It’s so wonderful when God-given talent and passion align. You and your words are evidence of such wonderful gifts! Write, write, write their stories!

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Nov 27, 2013 @ 14:11:58

      Barb!!!!
      Life has been crazy for me. I have missed you! I need to get back to blogging! But 20 people here for Thanksgiving and working the day before and the day after makes me have to say see you later alligator! LOL.
      xoxo
      I am thankful for YOU! If I don’t sneak back to tell ya before!

      Reply

  4. AmazinglyBrash
    Nov 18, 2013 @ 04:21:07

    didn’t choose writing, writing chose me. I don’t use it as an escape but to capture. My words I express are used to encourage others to be expressive. I am a motivator of peace because I strongly believe I deserve it!!!! Continue to write….

    Reply

  5. jimgramze
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 00:40:22

    You can’t backspace, but you can write in a fork in the road ahead and you can climb a new hill for a different perspective on what has gone before. That little ending verse reads very nicely.

    Interesting concept, playing God as we make our little creations. In a certain way that perspective is very empowering.

    Reply

  6. untoldbridgesecrets
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 15:44:53

    As we evolve, we do rewrite the fate that otherwise would fall on us. Sometimes it just takes a long time!

    Reply

  7. words4jp
    Nov 12, 2013 @ 19:46:28

    I wish there was such a thing as a back space and, sometimes, I could really use a delete button. As a child i wanted to be a ballerina – and i was for a time – i wanted to tell stories with my dancing – some ballets are priceless stories. xx

    Reply

  8. Vashti Quiroz-Vega
    Nov 12, 2013 @ 15:10:25

    Hello Diane! This is how it was and is for me too! Of course as usual you state it so beautifully. I love the poem. I hope you’re having a great week!

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Nov 12, 2013 @ 15:14:40

      Vhasti!
      That was so weird. I was catching up on comments and read yours on Moving Day from October 27th and was thanking you for always reading and saw your LIKE and comment pop up here! ♡

      Reply

  9. D.G.Kaye
    Nov 12, 2013 @ 02:56:10

    Hello again, fyi, I have nominated you for Blog of 2013, please come to my page and pick up your award :)

    Reply

  10. Mari
    Nov 11, 2013 @ 20:59:22

    This is amazing! I have always loved reading but I never knew how much I loved writing until I started doing it. I don’t write for others because my imagination fails me. I write about the things I want to forget but I also write about the things I hope I never do. And if my mind ever goes first, hopefully the things I’ve written will serve to remind me of who I used to be.

    Love your writing, Diane!

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Nov 12, 2013 @ 01:51:26

      Mari!
      I think that as you continue to write about your life and read more… you will see how glorius your imagination actually is and surprise yourself! You have talent that you don’t see! But that’s okay for now. Someday when you need to see it, all of a sudden you will start writing with a new energy and even you will see your talent! All I can say is keep writing!
      xoxo

      Reply

  11. cmwriter
    Nov 11, 2013 @ 14:17:53

    Delightful piece. Writing is “my time.” To create, to escape, to enjoy, and, yes, get thoroughly frustrated at times! I enjoy your posts.

    Reply

  12. Shoes Summerfield
    Nov 11, 2013 @ 11:50:21

    Awesome stuff!!

    Reply

  13. D.G.Kaye
    Nov 11, 2013 @ 05:32:16

    Yes you are the beautiful master of your poetic words. As Glenda the good witch told Dorothy, “You have always had the power”. You do, you are so ahead of yourself in your busy creations, you only need apply yourself to the one task of rewriting and you have the rest of your life to continue on with your other beautiful stories :) xo

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Nov 11, 2013 @ 13:19:30

      Debbie,
      You are so right! I have been embracing that message about having the power lately! I need to quit wandering around looking for the magic! The OZ in my life is not some little man behind a curtain! It is me getting focused! :)

      Reply

      • D.G.Kaye
        Nov 11, 2013 @ 16:28:51

        Finally you are seeing it! Come on Dorothy, you have the power and certainly so much material for more than one book! :)

        Reply

        • coastalmom
          Nov 11, 2013 @ 18:16:31

          I think my problem is that I have no idea how to do it. You did inspire me to ask my photographer nephew to take a look and see what I’d have to do in way of photos because I know once I am making money off of a book I need my own photos and half the fun for me is combining my words with the photos and I feel that my words alone would be naked.. As for my “book” the one in my head… Pieces of the Circle… well that one doesn’t need pictures… I guess I could use one in front of each chapter but with a book of my poems at least… I feel that my words are painted by the photos and I am not sure how gather them all up without the photos. But if you have any ideas how to pay for them… I’d be interested when I am at that place.

          Reply

          • D.G.Kaye
            Nov 12, 2013 @ 01:51:30

            Hey Di, I would be glad to offer any help in which I have learned along this journey. Let me start by saying, my best advice through reading many inspiring books on writing is, write what you know, create an outline, just write and write and don’t look back, don’t stop to edit and correct, let your mind keep going with the pen (or keys) try and get in 500 to 2000 words a session, gauge yourself. When you’re done you collaborate your writing and then start your revisions, over and over and when you feel you’ve done your best then send to an editor, I’m here for your gf! As for pictures, there are many sites like Istock, shutterstock, dreamstock, you can go through literally hundreds of pictures and you download and purchase them, voila!

            Reply

            • coastalmom
              Nov 12, 2013 @ 02:00:26

              Debbie,
              I have a feeling that you are my blessing and that our meeting was NO accident. I think I’ve said that before or at least thought it! ;)
              But I would like to say I’d be thrilled to take your offer when I am ready. Once again, today was another day of not focusing!!! I was going to surprise you and at least gather all my poems in one place.
              So do you have to pay for those pictures? Can you actually use them commercially? I am excited to hear more!
              xoxo

              Reply

              • D.G.Kaye
                Nov 12, 2013 @ 02:20:04

                We are all put on one another’s paths for reasons my friend! :) Yes, you can download from various sites, some I have mentioned just now on your post. Go there and have a look around, click on something you like, you can buy packages, of ‘x’ amount of downloads as well, check it out! Then you are safe and legal, this is where many of us get our pictures for book covers and then they are altered by designer to our specifications. Also, you should check out http://www.picmonkey.com you go there, download your own picture and turn add stuff, text, colours, whatever and create new photos, you will have fun there because you work so much with pictures!

                Reply

                • coastalmom
                  Nov 12, 2013 @ 03:14:26

                  That information is sooo great! Thank you! I will go check it out. You would be proud of me… in honor of your nudging… I have gathered about 30 poems so far in one file… so who knows… maybe that poetry book will come first.
                  xoxo
                  Love ya my friend! :)

                  Reply

  14. PapaBear
    Nov 11, 2013 @ 03:32:47

    “So why then can’t I rewrite the fate that falls on me?”
    Because, Di, someone else is writing your story, and that author doesn’t do re-writes ! Hugs. ~Paul

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Nov 11, 2013 @ 13:15:50

      I know Paul smile. He is my Master writer too! That was my point… “I” have NO control :) But maybe it is not clear that I know that…. ;)
      Thank you ♡

      Reply

  15. Carl D'Agostino
    Nov 10, 2013 @ 23:09:00

    I loved your first paragraph. I am the sole caretaker of my 90 year old father. He is somewhat independent but don’t leave him alone for more than just a few hours so lead a fairly secluded life. My few friends laugh at me but they have no idea the delightful world I inhabit on the blog and in books. I am very content.

    Reply

  16. Ann Koplow
    Nov 10, 2013 @ 23:04:06

    Loved this. Thank you.

    Reply

  17. and so it goes
    Nov 10, 2013 @ 23:01:17

    i loved the back space!

    Reply

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Twitter

November 2013
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 36,122 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,444 other followers

Archives

Archives

iithinks

Poetry of the Soul

sallamblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

jenskeptic

ST friends

Optimistic Kid

Be Somebody

Honoring Grandfathers

bornalmost

An effort to liberalizing people to help themselves.

✎ Written Thoughts....

POETRY / MUSIC / REFLECTIONS by : Nodz~

The Mockingbird in Me

Chirps of an old yet gentle and meek soul

Beth Dahleen

A Blog About Family Life and Everyday Adventures

Sesamechi's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Libretto

Expression of Thought through Words

Writing, Reading, and the Pursuit of Dreams

My self-publishing journey and other literary moments

Family to the 5 Power!

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Being Mom, raising teenagers, family, faith, photos and an occasional recipe!

alatum angelus

Random specters while I'm still alive.

The Mental Picture

My perspective

Caged No More

Together we are facing a new wave of self-discovery. Break Free! I am a free bird. Fly with me!

laurnaguistepublicist

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Wendt Worth Corgi's Weblog

Latest news, etc...

iithinks

Poetry of the Soul

sallamblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

jenskeptic

ST friends

Optimistic Kid

Be Somebody

Honoring Grandfathers

bornalmost

An effort to liberalizing people to help themselves.

✎ Written Thoughts....

POETRY / MUSIC / REFLECTIONS by : Nodz~

The Mockingbird in Me

Chirps of an old yet gentle and meek soul

Beth Dahleen

A Blog About Family Life and Everyday Adventures

Sesamechi's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Libretto

Expression of Thought through Words

Writing, Reading, and the Pursuit of Dreams

My self-publishing journey and other literary moments

Family to the 5 Power!

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Being Mom, raising teenagers, family, faith, photos and an occasional recipe!

alatum angelus

Random specters while I'm still alive.

The Mental Picture

My perspective

Caged No More

Together we are facing a new wave of self-discovery. Break Free! I am a free bird. Fly with me!

laurnaguistepublicist

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Wendt Worth Corgi's Weblog

Latest news, etc...

Mark ND Photography

Painting With Light

Love, Life and Whatever...

My guide to life and the way to live is to love.

imaginecontinua

Lumea de altadata si cea de azi.....

Hortus Closus

Pour vivre heureux, vivons cachés

RichardAnkersWrites

A Place For Writing, Poems, And Dreams.

Words4jp's Blog

A Mind Ready to Explode!

Plain and Fancy

Marian Longenecker Beaman: Former Plain Girl Meets Fancy World

mihran Kalaydjian

“I'm a success today because I had a friend who believed in me and I didn't have the heart to let him down.”

Restless Nights in One-night Cheap Hotels

Graduate Student/Writer/Smartass

The Journey of a poet

Just another WordPress.com site

theoxherd

Portrait of the Artist as a Free Man

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

SpiritLed

."....but we have the mind of Christ."

SPIRITUAL DIVA CLUB

MY MISSION IS TO UPLIFT, ENCOURAGE, AND MOTIVATE WOMEN ALL OVER THE WORLD.

theeverbrokenarrow

Once a fool, always a fool.

Worldly Winds

It's not easy being me!

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Suzie81 Speaks

The thoughts and adventures of a thirty-something life

Captive Dreams Window

Dreams No Longer Captive

A 'Mike' For Christ

Hear the Voice of God

In My Father's House

"...that where I am you may be also." Jn.14:3

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

bunny slippers

complete nonesense

Wordifull

...poetry, stories & rants.

yadadarcyyada

Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure

Over Forty Witticisms'

Seeker of truth in a fictitious world!

Inspiring Evolution

Be more than what you can be

Angels Bark

a blog about dogs and life

Karen Foster...Even in This

Using Life's Circumstances to Bring God Praise

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,444 other followers

