Sowing Weeds


Sowing Seeds

I laugh in the face of  your anguish.

My revenge is in your unrest.

sad man silloette

You came back to claim my innocence,

your anger, my  last test.

siloette of couple fighting

You cried for my forgiveness

as you tried to steal my soul,

sad guy under tree

cleverly claiming ignorance

as you continued to dig the hole.

Planting seeds beneath the surface,

as they grew to strangle me.

sad woman

You told me you were planting beauty,

when you were only sowing weeds.

dandilions

Diane Reed

2013©

Once again… I want to say that this is just for my book! I need poems that go with the stories I am writing. This is NOTHING to do with now… so no worries!

35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Crazy Crone
    Dec 09, 2013 @ 15:37:41

    Thanks for liking my posts and pleased you like my blog. Just fishing through your own posts and so much enjoyed myself. Lovely to be in contact, take care.

    Reply

  2. lifeofaministermom
    Nov 29, 2013 @ 16:58:44

    Wow Diane. I felt that one! Such truth and honesty. I was with you at every word!!

    Reply

  3. Pat
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 00:33:52

    Diane – Just wanted to let you know I nominated you for the Dragon’s Loyalty Award on a post at my site (http://plaintalkandordinarywisdom.com/a-special-thank-you-dragons-loyalty-award/). I’m happy to share you with my readers. :-)

    Reply

  4. Vashti Quiroz-Vega
    Nov 19, 2013 @ 16:19:16

    So much emotion and passion expressed in such few words. I love it!

    Reply

  5. jimgramze
    Nov 16, 2013 @ 00:52:01

    That would work best in the context of a certain story, but it still stands on its own without causing the reader to suspect this is your present situation.

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Nov 16, 2013 @ 13:40:33

      Jim…
      Sometimes you talk over my head… ;)
      is that good or bad? lol.
      As I write my story… in front of each chapter I am putting a poem or a part of a poem so that is where they are coming from. Debby G suggested that I move everything over to another blog as if it is happening now… actually after this poem. So is that kind of what you are talking about?
      This one actually is going to be in front of one of the last chapters… so I am progressing.

      Reply

      • jimgramze
        Nov 16, 2013 @ 14:56:16

        What I meant was that the poem would be even more effective directly in the context of Kerri’s story, which is exactly what you are intending. You are so on the right track!

        Reply

  6. elizabeth2560
    Nov 14, 2013 @ 22:02:04

    You are a brilliant writer…. you have the ability to say in a few words what sums up a whole catastrophe of a painful past….
    “Planting seeds beneath the surface, as they grew to strangle me”. …..

    Brilliant :)

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Nov 16, 2013 @ 13:53:47

      Elizabeth,
      I love that you are following and reading and that you can relate to my words! My prayer is that you can also relate to the poems of empowerment and that you sieze each day and find the joy!
      Have a good weekend my friend!
      xoxo

      Reply

  7. takelight
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 18:55:12

    Amazing use of metaphor. A scene appears from memories…

    Reply

  8. Unshakable Hope
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 16:12:13

    AWESOME, Diane!

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Nov 16, 2013 @ 13:57:55

      Bill,
      You inspire me to always want to be better… to not focus on the negatives in life but to look and be grateful for all that is good!!! So I always hesitate to write poems like these… knowing you might read them. And you always blow me away by seeming to understand!
      Thanks for reading and “getting” it. ;)
      xoxo

      Reply

  9. and so it goes
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 02:26:07

    Absolutely beautiful

    Reply

  10. D.G.Kaye
    Nov 13, 2013 @ 01:52:16

    Di, your material is just so deep and engaging, its like it should all be together in a book, one just wants to keep reading this continuation story. Now, I know this is your book, in fact much of what you write is out of your book. Have you thought of opening another website and writing as Carrie? A place where you could right all this poetry and keep it all relating to the book? Just a thought! Oh and lol, do you know how many times I could not get to your page the long way when wordpress wouldn’t let me in? I typed your website name over and over and only last night realized you are not DianeReedwriter you are DianeReedWiter!

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Nov 13, 2013 @ 02:19:42

      Debbie you are brilliant! What a great idea! So I’d be writing fictionally without explaining that I am not me?
      By the way I’ve accumulated a bunch of my wordpress poems in one place! So thanks for prompting me to do that!
      Oh and yeah as you recall I was a ditz/novice at blogging when I began this blog and I am sure it was user error but they’d said writer waa taken so I made it witer. Stupid move! Lol.

      Ih and

      Reply

      • D.G.Kaye
        Nov 13, 2013 @ 22:51:22

        Lol, duh, I just caught on the other day why the heck I couldn’t type in your URL and get there, And yes, there are many bloggers that have 2 sites and keep one to write as though they are the character of the book, their feelings and thoughts (the character). Yes, I am so full of good ideas, I suppose I should get them to work! Yes, Diane Reed, need not be part of the page and of course you could promote that page to get your followers to follow you there! If I was writing about someone other than me I would be doing that but as a memoir and nonfiction writer my first and second book pertain to me and my thoughts. :) Always glad to inspire my friend! xo

        Reply

      • D.G.Kaye
        Nov 13, 2013 @ 22:55:08

        Oh and one more thing I just noticed..OMG am I a writer? In my other response to you I wrote right instead of write, holy crap where is my head, how am I to get any credibility with stupid words like that?

        Reply

  11. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Nov 12, 2013 @ 22:02:31

    The last two lines resonate. The story is clear.

    Reply

  12. Joy is now
    Nov 12, 2013 @ 21:09:16

    So, so clever. While there may not be an outward confrontation, enough damage can be done with the seeds which grow into something capable of strangling you later. Fantastic imagery and metaphor. I was there with you, wondering where the damn stranglers could have appeared from.

    Reply

  13. words4jp
    Nov 12, 2013 @ 19:43:15

    Wow – this is definitely a powerful piece. Relatable in many ways – Excellent writing. :)

    Reply

  14. Louise Gallagher
    Nov 12, 2013 @ 17:28:03

    No explanation needed — it is a powerful poem.

    Reply

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Twitter

November 2013
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Blog Stats

  • 39,235 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,557 other followers

Archives

Archives

Holly Michael's Writing Straight

Connecting and Inspiring Along Life's Crooked Lines by Author Holly Michael

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Ayesha Mehr Nadeem

Thinking and communicating

Meditation Travelogue

Thoughts from the mystical road by noelle vignola

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Peace be upon you!

The believers are only those who, when Allah is mentioned, their hearts become fearful, and when His verses are recited to them, it increases them in faith; and upon their Lord they rely.

Reject Reality

The world as I see it, according to myself.

AlvaradoFrazier

Life Between the Sheets (of paper): Story, Art, and Poetry

Evelyne Holingue

Chronicles, Stories & Books by a French-American Writer

Simply Said by Tina

laughing . learning . sharing . growing

Caffeine Fix

written under the influence

aliceandmolly

~ only beautiful words

Musings of a tea addict

Thoughts and dreams of a 30-something girl who is never without a cup of tea.

Annie's Blog

The other side of me..

Kali-mania

Musings from afar

personal ramblings

what the fuck?

keris journal

A dandilion.... can either mean one hundred weeds or one hundred wishes!

No, wait, it's not my story, it's theirs..

i only wash them up good and then wear them

Crazy World

Just a teenage girl in a crazy world

Holly Michael's Writing Straight

Connecting and Inspiring Along Life's Crooked Lines by Author Holly Michael

A.D. Martin

writing - novels - film - television - video games - other stuff

Ayesha Mehr Nadeem

Thinking and communicating

Meditation Travelogue

Thoughts from the mystical road by noelle vignola

ann johnson-murphree

Artist, Writer of Confessional Free Verse Poetry and Fiction

Peace be upon you!

The believers are only those who, when Allah is mentioned, their hearts become fearful, and when His verses are recited to them, it increases them in faith; and upon their Lord they rely.

Reject Reality

The world as I see it, according to myself.

AlvaradoFrazier

Life Between the Sheets (of paper): Story, Art, and Poetry

Evelyne Holingue

Chronicles, Stories & Books by a French-American Writer

Simply Said by Tina

laughing . learning . sharing . growing

Caffeine Fix

written under the influence

aliceandmolly

~ only beautiful words

Musings of a tea addict

Thoughts and dreams of a 30-something girl who is never without a cup of tea.

Annie's Blog

The other side of me..

Kali-mania

Musings from afar

personal ramblings

what the fuck?

keris journal

A dandilion.... can either mean one hundred weeds or one hundred wishes!

No, wait, it's not my story, it's theirs..

i only wash them up good and then wear them

Crazy World

Just a teenage girl in a crazy world

athousandtimestooshort

I read, write, take photographs, do other stuff...then blog about it.

Life is beautiful

Smile...Life is better when you're laughing!!!! :):):)

alygeorges

memoirs of aly (the way i see it).

On The Way...

I'm thinking about it so even though I've not left yet, I'm on the way...

Craft Apple

A wife, a mom, a homeschooler, a crafter...

MyLoudThought

It's about our thoughts; Love, Trust, Respect . . .

Just Ask Tina

Lessons I've Learned • Truths I've Discovered

Soul Healing Art

by Kimberly Harding

Find Your Middle Ground

"Life is a series of highs and lows. Be grateful for the highs. Be graceful in the lows. Enjoy life fully and find contentment in your Middle Ground" Val Boyko

wetstreet

a memoir

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

sallamblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

jenskeptic

ST friends

Optimistic Kid

Be Somebody

Honoring Grandfathers

bornalmost

An effort to liberalizing people to help themselves.

✎ Written Thoughts....

POETRY / MUSIC / REFLECTIONS by : Nodz~

The Mockingbird in Me

Chirps of an old yet gentle and meek soul

Beth Dahleen

A Blog About Family Life and Everyday Adventures

Sesamechi's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Libretto

Expression of Thought through Words

Writing, Reading, and the Pursuit of Dreams

My self-publishing journey and other literary moments

Family to the 5 Power!

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Being Mom, raising teenagers, family, faith, photos and an occasional recipe!

alatum angelus

Random specters while I'm still alive.

The Mental Picture

Stories are a sneak peek into someone's imagination. This blog is an open window into mine.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,557 other followers

