Twenty Years


What is love?

 I mean really, really really love?

Wedding

It’s feeling the spark when we first said hello

and kissing you good-bye, not wanting to let go

it’s every time you’d call and the feelings I’d feel

it’s all those and more that made our love seem so real

It was dreaming the dreams of what was to come

and making me feel brilliant when I’d say something dumb!

It was the hope that I felt when we both said I DO….

and the million other things that makes our love true…

But It’s also…

the dirty laundry,  budgets and bills

and  loving me still, without all of the thrills.

Sometimes…. candlelit dinners or just good old Taco Bell

It’s giving me space when I’m giving you hell!

It’s loving my kids and making them yours

It’s all of my baggage that you have endured

It’s twenty years of some pretty big ups and downs

it’s sticking it out and hanging around

Ahhh yes the meaning of love has changed a bit through the years

and for me I know now it’s because you’re still here!

Happy Twentieth My Love!

In Twenty years I have learned this….

    “People, even more than things, have to be restored, renewed,
revived, reclaimed, and redeemed; never throw out anyone.

― Audrey Hepburn

72 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ann Marquette
    Jan 02, 2014 @ 03:01:14

    So awesome, beautiful and what a blessing. Happy for you both. Thanks for the quote from Audrey Hepburn. I was blessed to have met her and she was wonderful.

    Reply

  2. D.G.Kaye
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 16:41:46

    Sweet Diane, where have you been? I visit often thinking I’ve missed a post. I hope all is well and perhaps you are so busy with ‘your book’. xo :)

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Jan 06, 2014 @ 17:02:33

      Debbie,
      So sorry that I have been gone for so long! We have connected since this post but I was going back to answer some lost posts that I missed and between holidays and a little vacation… I seem to be still trying to catch up!
      Your book is wonderful! Anyone who wants to be captivated needs to click on you and follow the path to your wonderful newly published book!
      xoxo

      Reply

  3. Aliosa
    Dec 28, 2013 @ 07:52:59

    La Multi Ani 2014 !

    Aliosa.

    Reply

  4. Geraldine
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 01:41:29

    Wishing you a magical Christmas season and all the good things in 2014! :)

    Reply

  5. D. Parker
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 16:53:28

    Congratulations! You have been nominated for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award. :)
    http://yadadarcyyada.wordpress.com/2013/12/17/i-won-another-award/
    Here goes – If you don’t accept awards or have already been given this award (perhaps many times) because others have already recognized how awesome your blog is, no problem, just know, you all make it easier to get through!!! Thanks.
    And Happy Anniversary!!!

    Reply

  6. Pat
    Dec 11, 2013 @ 01:10:15

    Sorry, Diane, forgot to give you the link on the award nomination (Blog of the Year 2013 Award). Here it is: http://plaintalkandordinarywisdom.com/happy-surprises-nearing-the-end-of-this-year-blog-of-the-year-2013-award/.

    Reply

  7. Pat
    Dec 11, 2013 @ 01:06:48

    Hi Diane – wanted to let you know I nominated you for the “Blog of the Year 2013 Award”. Hope you can accept.

    Reply

  8. Vashti Quiroz-Vega
    Dec 10, 2013 @ 20:14:58

    Happy Anniversary Diane! Beautiful picture (you haven’t changed much) and such a sweet, touching and romantic poem! I wish you both all the best.

    Reply

  9. Michael56j
    Dec 10, 2013 @ 09:35:19

    Beautiful. What more can I say?

    Reply

  10. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words
    Dec 10, 2013 @ 03:10:16

    Congratulations ….!(belated)
    and for Many Many more!
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    Reply

  11. coastalmom
    Dec 08, 2013 @ 15:50:05

    THANK YOU EVERYONE for the great wishes!
    I just had to share this!!!!!
    It probably should be another blog and maybe I will make it one eventually
    but wanted to share with you for now here…
    We just returned from a little Anniversary get away! My daughter was in a play where they needed some professional actors up in a little mountain top theater and we all…were days of almost getting snowed in!
    I was freaking out cuz my daughter had to get to her real job and was going to leave at night or early in the morning. The day after we left for LA to spend a couple days with our friends. I was sharing my concern with Jody my BFF as we were sitting in our car and she said “Lets Pray” She said a simple little prayer with simple requests about weather and my daughter’s good choices… then we went in to shop… when we came out later… the storm had passed… the sun was shining and they had canceled the last performance for that weekend and she was already home safe.
    Is God good or what?!

    Reply

    • Pat
      Dec 12, 2013 @ 00:30:57

      Glad you having some fun time with family and friends, Diane. Enjoy and take care.

      Reply

    • parrillaturi
      Dec 28, 2013 @ 16:56:39

      God is so good. We don’t need to emote, when we speak with Him, or ask for anything. A simple prayer will suffice. He is our Daddy, so come before Him, as the child He just simply loves. Have a great 2014. Blessings.

      Reply

      • coastalmom
        Jan 06, 2014 @ 17:05:01

        Parrillaturi,
        Thanks for the wonderful reminders! Happy New Year to you!
        I look forward to getting to know all my blogging friends and readers even better as we share in 2014!
        xoxo
        Di

        Reply

  12. Pat
    Dec 06, 2013 @ 22:17:20

    Congratulations, Diane and your handsome man on 20 years of marriage. What a beautiful couple you are. I’m so happy for you.

    Reply

  13. elizabeth2560
    Dec 06, 2013 @ 20:08:34

    How wonderful that you shared this special day with us. Congratulations!
    Have a great day. :)

    Reply

  14. MontgomeryFest
    Dec 06, 2013 @ 08:57:52

    Lovely! Happy Anniversary!

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Apr 27, 2014 @ 18:25:52

      Thank you!!!! I am not sure how I missed these comments but I appreciate your time in reading and commenting and I hope you keep returning because I sure do appreciate you!
      xoxo

      Reply

  15. catnipoflife
    Dec 06, 2013 @ 02:31:34

    Happy Anniversary!

    You have a star waiting for you at catnipoflife for the Blog Of The Year 2013 Award.

    More about this nomination is at http://catnipoflife.wordpress.com/2013/12/06/three-stars-blog-of-the-year-2013/

    Reply

  16. writerwannabe763
    Dec 05, 2013 @ 19:23:34

    A lot of good sentiments and realities of what love is…. Happy 20th… Diane

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Jan 06, 2014 @ 17:15:43

      Thank you! Sorry this is a late post but been gone for a while! Your wishes are appreciated and I look forward to reading your posts as well!
      Happy New Year!

      Reply

  17. grandfathersky
    Dec 05, 2013 @ 02:56:22

    Congratulations – in time we come to know love is a circle, not a line, when two come together the flower of life results …
    http://thespiritscience.net/spirit/flower-of-life/
    Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year

    Reply

  18. Geraldine
    Dec 05, 2013 @ 02:19:00

    PS: Loved your poem too.

    Reply

  19. Geraldine
    Dec 05, 2013 @ 02:18:47

    Happy Anniversary. What a gorgeous photo of you too!

    Reply

  20. D.G.Kaye
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 23:35:38

    Happy Anniversary my dear friend. What a sensational poem this is, all encompassing what love is in life! Bravo! xo

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Jan 06, 2014 @ 17:26:49

      Hey Deb,
      I know that we have connected since and I just responded to one of your comments but I feel as if I am hiding under a pile of letters that I need to respond to and have just dropped them all on the floor and don’t know where I left off… lol.
      So if this is redundant… you know my heart is in the right place
      xoxo ;)

      Reply

  21. Helen Ross
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 21:51:12

    Happy Anniversary. Your poem expresses what true love is all about. Wishes to the both of you on your special day.

    Reply

  22. Unshakable Hope
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 21:47:58

    Great post, Diane! Happy Anniversary!

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Jan 06, 2014 @ 17:22:31

      Bill,
      I am not sure where I just replied to you but I want to make sure that you get my Happy New Year’s wishes and that I thank you for reading this! I am back and looking forward to catching up with ya!
      xoxo

      Reply

  23. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 21:20:04

    Happy |Anniversary lucky Lady. This post made my heart sing. :-)

    Reply

  24. barbarafranken
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 18:32:25

    Happy Anniversary… Isn’t it wonderful to know that as our ‘self love’ grows… the depth of our love is reflected in the people and world around us… Congratulations and here’s to continued love… Barbara

    Reply

  25. Dr. Johnny Velazquez
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 17:52:53

    Happy Anniversary! Isn’t love grand? We just celebrated our 47th. When you allow God to be the center of your lives, love will endure. Blessings.

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Jan 06, 2014 @ 17:09:36

      Dr. Johnny!
      Thank you! Wow 47! I don’t even have to ask you how you did it! You answered it by telling us that it was God being the center of your lives! Amen! I am just beginning to understand what that means!
      Happy New Year!

      Reply

  26. Wendell A. Brown
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 17:42:41

    Beautiful! Happy twentieth to you both!

    Reply

  27. cupitonians
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 17:29:03

    Happy Anniversary!

    Reply

  28. PapaBear
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 16:36:16

    Congratulations…, and Happy Anniversary, D !!! May you have 20 more years…, followed by another 20…, and another 20. Stay happy, as I know you are.
    Paul

    Reply

  29. littlemisswordy
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 15:42:32

    Happy Happy Anniversary!!!!

    Reply

  30. Shoes Summerfield
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 15:26:39

    Congratulations!!

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Jan 06, 2014 @ 17:13:04

      Thank you soooo much! I am trying to get back into the swing of things as I go back to answer my replies and need to go read your new posts! Can’t wait!
      Happy New Year!

      Reply

  31. Butch Dean
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 15:22:38

    A very Happy and Blessed Anniversary to you

    Reply

  32. cmwriter
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 15:14:57

    Happy Anniversary. Lovely words!

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Jan 06, 2014 @ 17:18:04

      cm
      Thank you so much!
      I just got back into trying to pick up my metaphorical pen and begin writing again! Sorry my replies are a little late!
      Happy New Year!

      Reply

  33. madalina.d
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 14:51:35

    Happy anniversary!

    Reply

  34. Linda Nutile
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 14:15:46

    Happy anniversary…I have been reading some of your stories and poems this morning….WOW!!! Very impressed!!! Totally relate to you and love the depth of your feelings!!

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Dec 04, 2013 @ 14:24:52

      Ahhh Thanks Linda! That means a lot to me! I have to come in for my anniversary cut! That is what I want for my present! He keeps asking me to go back to you! LOL.

      Reply

  35. Louise Gallagher
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 14:07:16

    How delightful! congratulations — love the pic! :) Many blessings on this day and all the year’s to come.

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Jan 06, 2014 @ 17:08:04

      Louise…
      Thank you! Been catching up on all of my loose ends and been so touched by all those that still hung in while I was away!
      xoxo
      Happy New Year my friend!

      Reply

  36. becwillmylife
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 13:56:41

    Happy Anniversary!❤️

    Reply

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Twitter

December 2013
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 36,225 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,446 other followers

Archives

Archives

iithinks

Poetry of the Soul

sallamblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

jenskeptic

ST friends

Optimistic Kid

Be Somebody

Honoring Grandfathers

bornalmost

An effort to liberalizing people to help themselves.

✎ Written Thoughts....

POETRY / MUSIC / REFLECTIONS by : Nodz~

The Mockingbird in Me

Chirps of an old yet gentle and meek soul

Beth Dahleen

A Blog About Family Life and Everyday Adventures

Sesamechi's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Libretto

Expression of Thought through Words

Writing, Reading, and the Pursuit of Dreams

My self-publishing journey and other literary moments

Family to the 5 Power!

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Being Mom, raising teenagers, family, faith, photos and an occasional recipe!

alatum angelus

Random specters while I'm still alive.

The Mental Picture

My perspective

Caged No More

Together we are facing a new wave of self-discovery. Break Free! I am a free bird. Fly with me!

laurnaguistepublicist

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Wendt Worth Corgi's Weblog

Latest news, etc...

iithinks

Poetry of the Soul

sallamblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

jenskeptic

ST friends

Optimistic Kid

Be Somebody

Honoring Grandfathers

bornalmost

An effort to liberalizing people to help themselves.

✎ Written Thoughts....

POETRY / MUSIC / REFLECTIONS by : Nodz~

The Mockingbird in Me

Chirps of an old yet gentle and meek soul

Beth Dahleen

A Blog About Family Life and Everyday Adventures

Sesamechi's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Libretto

Expression of Thought through Words

Writing, Reading, and the Pursuit of Dreams

My self-publishing journey and other literary moments

Family to the 5 Power!

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Being Mom, raising teenagers, family, faith, photos and an occasional recipe!

alatum angelus

Random specters while I'm still alive.

The Mental Picture

My perspective

Caged No More

Together we are facing a new wave of self-discovery. Break Free! I am a free bird. Fly with me!

laurnaguistepublicist

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Wendt Worth Corgi's Weblog

Latest news, etc...

Mark ND Photography

Painting With Light

Love, Life and Whatever...

My guide to life and the way to live is to love.

imaginecontinua

Lumea de altadata si cea de azi.....

Hortus Closus

Pour vivre heureux, vivons cachés

RichardAnkersWrites

A Place For Writing, Poems, And Dreams.

Words4jp's Blog

A Mind Ready to Explode!

Plain and Fancy

Marian Longenecker Beaman: Former Plain Girl Meets Fancy World

mihran Kalaydjian

“I'm a success today because I had a friend who believed in me and I didn't have the heart to let him down.”

Restless Nights in One-night Cheap Hotels

Graduate Student/Writer/Smartass

The Journey of a poet

Just another WordPress.com site

theoxherd

Portrait of the Artist as a Free Man

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

SpiritLed

."....but we have the mind of Christ."

SPIRITUAL DIVA CLUB

MY MISSION IS TO UPLIFT, ENCOURAGE, AND MOTIVATE WOMEN ALL OVER THE WORLD.

theeverbrokenarrow

Once a fool, always a fool.

Worldly Winds

It's not easy being me!

Indie Hero

Brian Marggraf, Author of Dream Brother: A Novel, Independent publishing advocate, New York City dweller

Suzie81 Speaks

The thoughts and adventures of a thirty-something life

Captive Dreams Window

Dreams No Longer Captive

A 'Mike' For Christ

Hear the Voice of God

In My Father's House

"...that where I am you may be also." Jn.14:3

lostcompanion

Alcoholism

bunny slippers

complete nonesense

Wordifull

...poetry, stories & rants.

yadadarcyyada

Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure

Over Forty Witticisms'

Seeker of truth in a fictitious world!

Inspiring Evolution

Be more than what you can be

Angels Bark

a blog about dogs and life

Karen Foster...Even in This

Using Life's Circumstances to Bring God Praise

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,446 other followers

