Folding Pages


 My life is so busy that I’ve gotten out of the habit of reading a real book, you know, turning the pages and actually sitting down to read. I usually have an audio book playing in my car or a few books I read on Kindle when I’m waiting in a waiting room or in a long line somewhere but it had been a long time since I’d really gotten into a good old book with paper pages. I hate to say it but I’d begun to even read my Bible mainly on Kindle.

Over the holidays my friend gave me a great coffee mug and a wonderful book called The Pilot’s Wife by Anita Shreve. (But that is not what my post is about. Though I am pretty sure that I have discovered a new favorite author!) Anywaaaay… in the course of reading this particular book, I’d have to mark my place and go do things as I read the chapters throughout that week. And so I’d fold a page just so I could find my way back to where I left off. And it made me think.  (Of course.)

Sometimes we are right in the middle of life when we are called away. We want to come back and finish what we started so we mark the place we left. In my case, I fold pages. But not just in books. I have done it all my life, from the time I was very small.

reading in the grass

As I grew older, I always have had the tendency to look back. Not necessarily with regret but more so with curiosity.

reading library ladder

 

Today I think I live in a montage of folded pages.

folded pages room

 

I have recently had a need to go back and unfold the pages and close some of those old books. And I am slowly doing that, one page and one book at a time. I am not sure if anyone but a special handful of people I know, can truly understand what I mean. I am the kind of reader that can read a book and years or even months later pick it up again and re-read it, finding a host of new details that I missed the first time. I have done that a lot lately.  But as I go through my life now, I have begun to try to not have so many folded pages and  metaphorically speaking, to read the chapter all the way through and finish it and finally just move on!

folded pagessss

Folded pages in my life,

fill each book I read

marking places  left behind,

but  some day, I may need.

Books I’ve never finished

to the very end,

line my shelves waiting where…

 I might pick them up again.

Scattered places in my life,

like pages I have marked,

call me back like folded pages

where once I left my heart!

Diane Reed

2014©

heart ring in pages

Sooo I have a question…. As I start to go back and finally finish my book, for those of you who kind of know what my book is about (if you are interested you can go and look up Chapter One or… Would You Read This?  in Search on my page and get a very rough draft of it.)

I am trying to finalize the Title…. I am thinking of changing it from Pieces Of The Circle to…. Folded Pages….   What do you guys think?

45 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kelihasablog
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 07:44:53

    I enjoyed this one so much because it reminds me of me. LOL I had so many books in my house (as I never gave any away) and I was always bad about underlining and then dog earring pages too. In my husbands effort to de-clutter our house, he bought me 2 Nooks and a Kindle… LOL Lovely poem, as well as the pictures. I would love to read your book, and I like the “circles” idea… but we both know I come and go these days much less than I’d like. Blessings to you and good luck with the book. Keep me posted! :D

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Jan 30, 2014 @ 12:44:34

      Keli,
      anyone is blessed to have you as a reader. You can fold a page from my book any day! ;-)
      I know the feeling of coming and going here now. We were both so faithful about writing and reading for so long! Life just gets in the way sometimes♡
      I noticed you’ve read my other blog, http://kerisjournal.wordpress.com/
      I started it because a friend suggested a twist to my book, to write the chapters where Keri write in a journal in blog form on an entirely separate blog.
      I am glad to hear from you again♡
      You are always in my prayers♡♡

      Reply

  2. Robin
    Jan 29, 2014 @ 12:31:02

    I love this post, and your metaphor. As I get older, I want to leave behind fewer folded pages, too.

    Reply

  3. MyLoudThought with Jemima
    Jan 26, 2014 @ 07:58:20

    Your creativity is awesome. I’m unusually lost for words right now.. May God keep your fire burning. Great blog too!

    Reply

  4. Yahobahne
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 19:23:48

    I understand exactly what you mean and also fold my book(s) pages. In addition to folding, I add post-it stickers and book markers. Aha! Best regards on revisiting and finishing your books. 📖😊

    Reply

  5. Pixie Girl
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 13:19:16

    Hello! It’s been a while since I visited, sorry! But if I may chip in, I like the ‘Folded pages’ title better, but either would be good :)

    Reply

  6. Fully Rely on God
    Jan 17, 2014 @ 18:11:02

    Thanks for your birds eye view on reading in the physical sense. I don’t want to take for granted the simple things I feel the same with my Bible and turning the pgs. Its better to turn the pages than sliding with my finger on my iPad. Blessings to you

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Jan 18, 2014 @ 13:21:46

      Fully,
      I know what you mean! Sitting in church and having the Pastor ask us all to turn to John, and having everyone reach for their phones seems like a 2001 Space Oddessy movie! ;)
      Thanks for reading and commenting!
      xoxo

      Reply

  7. Uggghhh
    Jan 17, 2014 @ 12:51:51

    LOVE the poem and the analogy is so perfect! I have finally unfolded my pages and finished the book- it truly is a relief! I agree with naming the book Folded Pages- mysterious, intriguing and perfectly suited for the book’s topic. Hugs!

    Reply

  8. elizabeth2560
    Jan 16, 2014 @ 11:13:25

    Great post and I absolutely LOVE your poem. The meaning of this made a lot of sense and I know EXACTLY what you mean about the folded pages. There is one book I have where I need to go back, unfold the page and definitely close the book for good. Thanks for the prompt.

    PS. Is there a link somewhere to your chapter one?

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Jan 16, 2014 @ 15:02:42

      Elizabeth,
      Thank you for your interest! I want to warn you the template and basic story will be the same but over the last couple of years I have changed it all up in my head several times and plan to go back and revamp some of the rough draft versions I have published here. Also, with more education…. and studying how the greats do it… I have a better understanding of how to present the conversations in a way that you feel as if you are not “reading a seventh grade chapter book, but rather experiencing the character’s conversations… so THAT is something I still have to go back and do! But I’d love to hear your thoughts as long as you understand everything is still in very ROUGH draft form! :)

      Thank you so much! I am always so grateful when someone takes the time to read my book!!
      I have actually posted a few chapters a year or so ago for some readers who were interested in what I was doing. So if you go to my SEARCH section of my blog right up in the right hand corner… you can type in chapters and search for the next chapters as I posted them. I think there may be nine all together…

      Soooo after I posted them… I read somewhere that to keep your readers reading… you should try to stick to 600 words or less!
      Even on a good day just posting a poem or a post… I can’t do that ! lol.
      Again…. THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart for caring enough to ask for the link!
      xoxo

      Here is the link….

      http://dianereedwiter.wordpress.com/2012/11/01/update-like-a-postcard-or-something-like-that/

      Reply

      • elizabeth2560
        Jan 17, 2014 @ 21:25:47

        Thanks so much for the link. I am busy over the next few weeks but have put it in my ‘to read’ section and will get back to you when I have read it.
        I am intrigued by the suggestion to limit posts to < 600 words. I started off writing much too lengthy posts and limit mine to 700 words. In light of what you say, I may limit them further. I must admit on busy days I cannot read the lengthy posts whereas the shorter ones I always look at.
        Thanks for that tip :)

        Reply

        • coastalmom
          Jan 18, 2014 @ 13:25:36

          Elizabeth,
          Well I certainly failed THAT rule even in my reply! LOL… Though I didn’t count the words… I am sure it could have been less… at least for a reply! LOL.
          But thanks for reading! And I too, am going to try reeeeal hard to try to stick to that rule as I post this coming year!
          xoxo

          Reply

  9. Pat
    Jan 15, 2014 @ 20:26:47

    I think I like the title “Folded Pages” more than the other. I think it applies more with your theme, especially after reading Chapter One about your diary. You’re writing is really good, Diane, and kept me captivated wanting to read more. I like it and looks like it’s going to be a great read.

    Keep going, girlfriend, finish and get it published. I’m proud of you. Bravo!

    Reply

  10. untoldbridgesecrets
    Jan 15, 2014 @ 16:59:28

    Folded Pages sounds more intriguing, and hints of mysteries. I like it. Dog-Eared Pages could be an alternate. Sounds like you have a winner.

    Reply

  11. becwillmylife
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 23:10:21

    I’m a page folder too and a sticky note queen! Isn’t there something magical about turning the pages of an actual book? I haven’t done that in a while either. Like you, I even read my Bible on my iPhone.

    Reply

  12. Joy is now
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 19:07:11

    I like both titles but let them sit with you awhile. You don’t have to decide right now. I am sure it will come to you, or even something else, in a quiet moment. I am glad you are finishing your book! It’s ridiculous how many ‘folded pages’ I have. We can start with the hundreds of emails I have flagged!

    Reply

  13. Ann Marquette
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 04:51:01

    I like the title “Folded Pages” and great Chapter One Diane :-)
    Love this post and your story.

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Jan 14, 2014 @ 13:17:48

      Ann
      I reeeally appreciate your time here and letting me know your vote!! I have grown to love you guys!! The loyal few that take the time to actually read LIKE and comment! ♡♡♡♡♡

      Reply

      • Ann Marquette
        Jan 16, 2014 @ 06:04:06

        Sorry I don’t get by more often. Praying that since my move and at the start of a new path that God will guide me the way I should go to do what it is he has placed on my heart to do.

        Reply

        • coastalmom
          Jan 16, 2014 @ 15:16:29

          Ann,
          The best place you can be is in prayer with God listening to HIS answers! I will be praying for you too! I love how we all have become sort of a prayer chain!
          Never feel pressured to come here and have to catch up! I am just happy when I see ya! I always appreciate your thoughts! You light up my day when I see you here as I am sure those that actually get you in their daily presence are blessed in the same way!
          Have a good day!
          xoxo

          Reply

  14. writerwannabe763
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 04:22:49

    Well, I went and read Chapter One…. and I think I like ‘Folded Pages’ better but only you will know what you like better…

    … I often drift back to many years ago, but don’t linger long before I am back in the “present’…. Diane

    Reply

  15. D.G.Kaye
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 01:25:37

    I love this Di! And for what is a book if we should not go back and take more meaning from it? True we can’t fold the pages on a kindle, but at least when we pick it up it will start us where we left off! :)

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Jan 14, 2014 @ 01:51:12

      Hey!
      And how are you doing? I asked somewhere on here – on one of these blogs of ours … lol… how your sales book are going?
      Everyone should go check it out♡

      Reply

      • D.G.Kaye
        Jan 21, 2014 @ 03:37:13

        Hi Di, hmm, glad I came back here to check if I had read this already when it came in my weekly wordpress mail because I never saw your reply :(. Thanks for the plug! My book is doing very well, getting a lot of great 5 star reviews, I am pleased and feverishly working on completion of 2 other books! A tad busy, lol. xo

        Reply

  16. PapaBear
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 22:00:29

    What a great metaphor, Di. Loved the way you let it “unfold”. xo

    Reply

  17. quiall
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 19:01:10

    I love the analogy of life as a book but please forgive me for what I’m about to say. When you said that you fold the pages of your book down to save your place I actually cringed! As a child I was severely reprimanded for mutilating my books by turning the corners down. Now I will use anything as a bookmark to save my pages. I know, I know, I’m a cranky old so-and-so! Having said that I do love the title of Folding Pages. I never said I wasn’t complicated. I also loved the poem. But then I love everything you write!

    Reply

  18. Moore to ponder
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 18:18:59

    This is a book I would definitely read! :)

    I am a lot like that. I don’t like leaving things unfinished, but life has this terrible habit of digressing.

    Reply

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Twitter

January 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 37,892 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,496 other followers

Archives

Archives

personal ramblings

what the fuck?

keris journal

A dandilion.... can either mean one hundred weeds or one hundred wishes!

No, wait, it's not my story, it's theirs..

i only wash them up good and then wear them

Crazy World

Just a teenage girl in a crazy world

athousandtimestooshort

I read, write, take photographs, do other stuff...then blog about it.

Life is beautiful

Smile...Life is better when you're laughing!!!! :):):)

alygeorges

memoirs of aly (the way i see it).

On The Way...

I'm thinking about it so even though I've not left yet, I'm on the way...

Craft Apple

A wife, a mom, a homeschooler, a crafter...

MyLoudThought

It's about our thoughts; Love, Trust, Respect . . .

Just Ask Tina

Lessons I've Learned • Truths I've Discovered

Soul Healing Art

by Kimberly Harding

Find Your Middle Ground

"Life is a series of highs and lows. Be grateful for the highs. Be graceful in the lows. Enjoy life fully and find contentment in your Middle Ground" Val Boyko

wetstreet

a memoir

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

sallamblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

personal ramblings

what the fuck?

keris journal

A dandilion.... can either mean one hundred weeds or one hundred wishes!

No, wait, it's not my story, it's theirs..

i only wash them up good and then wear them

Crazy World

Just a teenage girl in a crazy world

athousandtimestooshort

I read, write, take photographs, do other stuff...then blog about it.

Life is beautiful

Smile...Life is better when you're laughing!!!! :):):)

alygeorges

memoirs of aly (the way i see it).

On The Way...

I'm thinking about it so even though I've not left yet, I'm on the way...

Craft Apple

A wife, a mom, a homeschooler, a crafter...

MyLoudThought

It's about our thoughts; Love, Trust, Respect . . .

Just Ask Tina

Lessons I've Learned • Truths I've Discovered

Soul Healing Art

by Kimberly Harding

Find Your Middle Ground

"Life is a series of highs and lows. Be grateful for the highs. Be graceful in the lows. Enjoy life fully and find contentment in your Middle Ground" Val Boyko

wetstreet

a memoir

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

sallamblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

jenskeptic

ST friends

Optimistic Kid

Be Somebody

Honoring Grandfathers

bornalmost

An effort to liberalizing people to help themselves.

✎ Written Thoughts....

POETRY / MUSIC / REFLECTIONS by : Nodz~

The Mockingbird in Me

Chirps of an old yet gentle and meek soul

Beth Dahleen

A Blog About Family Life and Everyday Adventures

Sesamechi's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Libretto

Expression of Thought through Words

Writing, Reading, and the Pursuit of Dreams

My self-publishing journey and other literary moments

Family to the 5 Power!

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Being Mom, raising teenagers, family, faith, photos and an occasional recipe!

alatum angelus

Random specters while I'm still alive.

The Mental Picture

Stories are a sneak peek into someone's imagination. This blog is an open window into mine. In other words, My Mental Picture.

Caged No More

Sometimes our hearts become imprisoned by our very own minds. Open yourself up to the idea of release. We can escape all that binds us.

laurnaguistepublicist

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Wendt Worth Corgi's Weblog

Latest news, etc...

Mark ND Photography

Painting With Light

Love, Life and Whatever

My Guide to Life and the Way to Live is to Love.

imaginecontinua

Lumea de altadata si cea de azi.....

Hortus Closus

Pour vivre heureux, vivons cachés

Richard Ankers

The Writings

Words4jp's Blog

A Mind Ready to Explode!

Plain and Fancy

Marian Longenecker Beaman: Former Plain Girl Meets Fancy World

mihran Kalaydjian

“I'm a success today because I had a friend who believed in me and I didn't have the heart to let him down.”

Restless Nights in One-night Cheap Hotels

Graduate Student/Writer/Party Enthusiast

The Journey of a poet

Just another WordPress.com site

theoxherd

Portrait of the Artist as a Free Man

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,496 other followers

