Road Kill


deer crossing sign

Coming from the city, we have emotional stop your day reactions when we see a dog or cat lying dead on the side of the road. But here in the country it is an everyday occurrence and  almost expected to see what we have callously dubbed  “road kill.” It is not unusual to see a deer or a squirrel or other creature having met their fate via the grill of one car or another.

deer crossing

 

The other day I even saw a wild pig laying lifelessly along the side of my scenic drive to work! I have to admit that I still have not gotten used to it. And it makes me feel a little empty inside as I realize how precious life is and how fast it can get snatched away.

road kill

We may have more sense than to dart out in front of an oncoming car. And it makes me wonder what logic is behind their decision to cross the road right when one is barreling around a corner. But if that didnt’ happen, how would I write about my metaphor of the day? Now I don’t like to liken us to “road kill” but I can relate in a way. I see those headlights “of life” coming and think that they are lighting my way, when in reality they are my sign to proceed with caution. How many times do we go looking for signs to only see the ones that we really want to see and overlook the ones that God gives us as He lays out blazing flares warning us to proceed with caution?

praying bible

Just like an animal darting out into the path of an oncoming car, we sometimes just close our eyes and leap. We don’t look both ways or proceed with caution, we don’t arm ourselves with daily prayer or stop and ask for God’s direction. We get caught up in trying to get our needs met as quickly as possible and in the process miss the message.

In my life, I’ve discovered that patience is a virtue. And what is virtue? It is: goodness, righteousness, morality, integrity, dignity, rectitude, honor, decency, respectability, nobility, principles and ethics. In Christianity the seventh highest order of the nine fold celestial hierarchy. Worth waiting for don’t you think? Beats darting across the road blindly and becoming “road kill.”

caution signs God

Oh Lord please take this day

and slow me down to see,

all the ways you try to

communicate with me.

Stop me at the corner

when I am running late,

 slow me down to hear YOU,

when you tell me just to wait.

For I’ve finally begun to see,

that I get in my own way…

After giving it to you,

and then taking back my  day!

Diane Reed

2014©

 

39 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Moore to ponder
    Mar 09, 2014 @ 23:55:33

    “I see those headlights ‘of life’ coming and think that they are lighting my way, when in reality they are my sign to proceed with caution. How many times do we go looking for signs to only see the ones that we really want to see and overlook the ones that God gives us as He lays out blazing flares warning us to proceed with caution?…” This is such great analogy! I like the poem, too.

    I am so glad that in spite of so many things, my love of learning and my joy for living (although a little bruised) is still intact, and that the Lord is sending me guides like you in the blogging world to help me on my way.

    Blessings,
    Theresa

    Reply

  2. kelihasablog
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 22:17:15

    This is exactly what I needed to read today! Even if I am a bit late…. It’s still perfect for my day today! Thanks for writing so beautifully! :D

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Feb 15, 2014 @ 12:45:51

      Keli
      I just noticed that I have your name’s spelling in my phone automatically. It made you seem special and familiar. ♡
      So nice to find your comments again!
      Just saw this one as I am starting my day. Nice one to start my day to :-)

      Reply

  3. kerrichronicles
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 14:12:18

    Patience is something we all need to embrace. I remind myself of this daily. Great post!

    Reply

  4. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words
    Feb 04, 2014 @ 02:44:22

    I quit asking for patience, I think each time I did the lessons got longer and harder,
    could be the Divine was thinking how slow I was that I didn’t understand what patience was…now I no longer go with the flow of it I image I am the flow of patience some days good, some days not so good…
    one should never get used to seeing animals as roadkill…
    this was a wonderful post Thank you for sharing it with us…it gives
    a pause to think…
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Feb 15, 2014 @ 13:00:21

      Maryrose…
      Thank you for your well thought out comment. I loved it! I am just now coming back and finding them here today and am having a grand time reading everyone’s different perspectives. I LOVE yours! :-)

      Reply

  5. The Other Side of Ugly - Letters to Humanity
    Feb 03, 2014 @ 04:48:32

    Diane, I loved this post! It sure does beat darting out into the street and becoming road kill, even though it isn’t always very easy to wait!

    Reply

  6. Ralph
    Feb 02, 2014 @ 00:58:09

    Hi Diane. You could say that my sister was road kill with a pheasant 10 years ago. Ralph xox

    http://www.iwcp.co.uk/news/tributes-to-bike-tragedy-nurse-5782.aspx

    Reply

  7. becwillmylife
    Feb 01, 2014 @ 19:46:43

    What a beautiful post. Patience is one I struggle with, but definitely worth waiting for His intervention and timing. By the way, seeing dead animals on the side of the road still gets to me too.:)

    Reply

  8. D.G.Kaye
    Feb 01, 2014 @ 13:38:18

    Good reminder for us all to stop and smell the roses! :)

    Reply

  9. Let's CUT the Crap!
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 17:16:18

    “… those headlights ”of life”
    This is amazing.

    Reply

  10. PapaBear
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 16:17:22

    The only thing more precious than life…, is love !

    Reply

  11. Beth
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 15:48:03

    Love this! Thank you…we all need reminders in our daily life, this is one for me today. You can bet I will think of this the next time I come across this on the road. Thanks ;0)

    Reply

  12. Ann Marquette
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 14:52:32

    So true Diane. It hurts me to see animals dead on or along side the roads we travel. I am also trying to be patient and wait for the “things” I want, because in the end they are not as important as my peace of mind. And when God wants me to have those or something better, it will be all the more joyful.
    Your poem is beautiful and I said it as my own prayer. Thank you Diane.
    May God bless you wish His special favor today.

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Jan 31, 2014 @ 14:56:12

      Ann,
      YOU always make my day! I love that we have bumped into each other. I loved your latest post! What a romantic place you live in! I see that your patience has earned you the joy you have found there! God is sooo good! Everyone should go take a look at your blog!
      xoxo

      Reply

      • Ann Marquette
        Jan 31, 2014 @ 15:07:36

        Thanks Diane. It has taken many years to learn patience. Sometimes I still falter, but I KNOW that it is best to wait in God’s time. I ask Him each day to guide me and I pray to know when HE is whispering His messages to me.

        Reply

  13. viveka
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 14:20:12

    So sad … but this is the realty – the car is many years worst enemy … in Sweden there is a law that if we hit an animals we have to stop and check that the animal is dead, if we not able to put it out it’s misery we have to call the police and people do. Especially when it’s about bigger animals.

    Reply

    • coastalmom
      Jan 31, 2014 @ 14:23:41

      Viv,
      I remember when i saw someone hit a cat on my way to work. I think I was in my twenties. The driver just kept going. I scooped it up and it died in my arms. A neighbor came out and took it… I can’t remember the whole scenario of what happened next but I felt at least he didn’t die alone. It is so sad. But way more too much for this particular post’s metaphor! ;)
      Thanks for reading! Soo good to see you! Hope life is well for you!
      xoxo

      Reply

  14. grandfathersky
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 14:00:26

    if there were even a little more patience in this realm abiding Peace would be assured …

    Reply

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Twitter

January 2014
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 36,967 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,477 other followers

Archives

Archives

Crazy World

Just a teenage girl in a crazy world

athousandtimestooshort

I read, write, take photographs, do other stuff...then blog about it.

Life is beautiful

Smile...Life is better when you're laughing!!!! :):):)

alygeorges

memoirs of aly (the way i see it).

On The Way...

I'm thinking about it so even though I've not left yet, I'm on the way...

Craft Apple

A wife, a mom, a homeschooler, a crafter...

MyLoudThought

It's about our thoughts; Love, Trust, Respect . . .

Just Ask Tina

Lessons I've Learned • Truths I've Discovered

Soul Healing Art

by Kimberly Harding

Find Your Middle Ground

"Life is a series of highs and lows. Be grateful for the highs. Be graceful in the lows. Enjoy life fully and find contentment in your Middle Ground" Val Boyko

wetstreet

a memoir

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

sallamblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

jenskeptic

ST friends

Optimistic Kid

Be Somebody

Honoring Grandfathers

Crazy World

Just a teenage girl in a crazy world

athousandtimestooshort

I read, write, take photographs, do other stuff...then blog about it.

Life is beautiful

Smile...Life is better when you're laughing!!!! :):):)

alygeorges

memoirs of aly (the way i see it).

On The Way...

I'm thinking about it so even though I've not left yet, I'm on the way...

Craft Apple

A wife, a mom, a homeschooler, a crafter...

MyLoudThought

It's about our thoughts; Love, Trust, Respect . . .

Just Ask Tina

Lessons I've Learned • Truths I've Discovered

Soul Healing Art

by Kimberly Harding

Find Your Middle Ground

"Life is a series of highs and lows. Be grateful for the highs. Be graceful in the lows. Enjoy life fully and find contentment in your Middle Ground" Val Boyko

wetstreet

a memoir

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

sallamblog

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

jenskeptic

ST friends

Optimistic Kid

Be Somebody

Honoring Grandfathers

bornalmost

An effort to liberalizing people to help themselves.

✎ Written Thoughts....

POETRY / MUSIC / REFLECTIONS by : Nodz~

The Mockingbird in Me

Chirps of an old yet gentle and meek soul

Beth Dahleen

A Blog About Family Life and Everyday Adventures

Sesamechi's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Project Light to Life

A bucket list blog: exploring happiness, growth, and the world.

Libretto

Expression of Thought through Words

Writing, Reading, and the Pursuit of Dreams

My self-publishing journey and other literary moments

Family to the 5 Power!

Chronicles from the Mama Duck - Being Mom, raising teenagers, family, faith, photos and an occasional recipe!

alatum angelus

Random specters while I'm still alive.

The Mental Picture

My perspective

Caged No More

Together we are facing a new wave of self-discovery. Break Free! I am a free bird. Fly with me!

laurnaguistepublicist

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Wendt Worth Corgi's Weblog

Latest news, etc...

Mark ND Photography

Painting With Light

Love, Life and Whatever

My Guide to Life and the Way to Live is to Love.

imaginecontinua

Lumea de altadata si cea de azi.....

Hortus Closus

Pour vivre heureux, vivons cachés

Richard Ankers

The Writings

Words4jp's Blog

A Mind Ready to Explode!

Plain and Fancy

Marian Longenecker Beaman: Former Plain Girl Meets Fancy World

mihran Kalaydjian

“I'm a success today because I had a friend who believed in me and I didn't have the heart to let him down.”

Restless Nights in One-night Cheap Hotels

Graduate Student/Writer/Party Enthusiast

The Journey of a poet

Just another WordPress.com site

theoxherd

Portrait of the Artist as a Free Man

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

SpiritLed

."....but we have the mind of Christ."

SPIRITUAL DIVA CLUB

MY MISSION IS TO UPLIFT, ENCOURAGE, AND MOTIVATE WOMEN ALL OVER THE WORLD.

theeverbrokenarrow

Once a fool, always a fool.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,477 other followers

