All of a sudden everything is a lesson for me. It is as if a window has opened and I can see things much more clearly now. Every test, every frustration, all of my struggles are not wasted. It is finally as if after all of these years, I can finally SEE. The hurried driver, the rude waitress, or impatient client, the guy who didn’t smile back,  the politician who doesn’t have the same views as I do, all have their own stories, their own pain. Even the constant trouble making co worker who hovers, that one family member or two who disappoints or annoys me regularly, every single one of them are loved by God just as I am.

The whole reason He came was to teach us how to love. I have to say that I fail Him pretty regularly but the realization that we are called to be His Ambassadors has hit me more lately than ever before. We are the light of the world. It doesn’t matter how other people shine or how He uses them. We are only accountable for our own hearts.

Recently I found myself touched to the point of tears, watching a story about a dog who pulled another dog off of a busy freeway darting cars, putting himself in harm’s way to save his friend.

And then about another story of a service man who had just returned from Iraq only to survive a plane crash here, pulling out a girl from its burning fuselage  and then dying shortly after. I can find myself so moved by those stories and yet every day, every minute, every second of my life I should feel that same overwhelmed sense of awe when I think of the story of Jesus. He came and saved me. He came and saved you. He gave His life for us so that we might be saved. He gave His life for the rude driver that just cut us off, for the annoying acquaintance, for the prisoners in the prisons, no matter what they have done. He chose us all. We all are that broken, and wounded dog being pulled off of the freeway or that girl being pulled out of the burning plane by the hero. Our hero is Jesus and all we need to do is believe.

I have begun to really see how ungrateful I have been by not loving all the ones He has saved. No matter what their flaws, and began to think, if the wounded dog bit me in his pain, I would understand, I would realize he was hurt and scared and would want to help him in honor of the dog who pulled him to safety and gave his life to save his friend. I would want to do everything in my power to tend to him until he was healed.

If only I could remember this lesson daily. If a dog can love so much to risk his own life, can’t I love my brother a little better than I have?

John 13:34-35       

New International Version (NIV)

34 “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. 35 By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”

7 thoughts on “Love One Another

  1. That was a lovely rendering of well deserved sentiment. It reminds me of an awareness that came to me all of a sudden. I forget the context but someone was extremely angry with me and yelling at me. I think it was an older person and all I remember is that what they were upset about didn’t apply any more and right before I put the person straight I suddenly realized that for them to feel so strongly about something they must have had something very powerful happen in their lives related to what I was doing. I was so struck by the realization that there are reasons for people’s convictions that I somehow learned to take a step back and give people space and respect when they feel really strongly about something even when I’m sure they are wrong. There is a reason they feel the way they do and that is reason enough to give them credence sometimes.

  2. Isn’t it funny that we are drawn to people that reinforce who we really are deep down? I read your posts and I think, Gee, I really like her! Then on closer examination I realize it’s probably because we’re a like in all the important ways! haha! Of course I like you, we’re a reflection of each other!! LOL!

    1. Hey Lisa, I know, I don’t take a lot of time to read many but the ones I do… I really do and it is because those are the ones that tug at my heart strings. YOURS is one of those! Thank you for your sweet words. I am at a time in my life where I am about four chapters short of finishing a novel and starting to figure out how to venture out and really start submitting manuscripts again… it has been soooo long since I have put myself out there that technology has changed and the how to rules have as well, now I probably just have to push SEND and wahlah … In the meantime I have procrastinated in way of my blog…. to prime the pump so to speak… or maybe get the courage for all the rejection… but in the meantime the handful of people I would probably actually choose for friends if I met ya on the street… have popped up via our mutual passion for writing and it is like a serendipity for my soul. A wonderful unexpected surprise. Kind of like meeting Thursday mornings for coffee and sharing our words but getting to do it everyday! I look forward to getting to know you! Thanks for taking the time to write! Di

      1. I’m happy that you’re so close to finishing! That’s such a huge accomplishment. Good for you.
        I feel the same way about those who have crossed my path on WordPress. There are some truly wonderful people, maybe kindred spirits? I look forward to getting to know you, as well!
        Have a beautiful day!!
        Lisa

  3. This is so beautiful and true. The dog story just about killed me. We have much to learn and there are examples all around us. I’m thankful for the atoning Sacrifice made by the Savior. I always feel so unworthy but I think that’s the point. We’re each a work in progress and without the atonement we would never make it back to live with Him. : )
    Great message for Sunday! Thanks.

    By the way, I can totally relate to what you wrote about your weight loss struggle/issue. I’m looking for the “click” I haven’t had it in a couple of years – lots of stress and physical issues got in my way. Your story is inspiring. Thanks.

    1. Thanks Lisa!
      For….taking the time to read! I love your blog and you are an amazing writer! It means a lot that you would stop by and even comment! I look forward to reading you more! Thank you for inspiring me!

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

