Soooo, a while back my daughter called me when I was at work and  asked me where I was. When I told her that I was working she said; ” Oh my poor mama.” and then sang to me; “Working Hard For The Money… so hard for it honey…”  in her beautiful voice. The other day… I heard another tune humming in my own head, … Cinderlla, Cinderlla… feeling very sorry for myself as I came upon this scene.  You see where I work, there are ten of these. And the five outdoor ones all look pretty much the same every morning, this time of year.

Those “guests” have no idea what they are asking, when they ask : why the outside tubs cost $4 more an hour to rent than the indoor ones!

Sigh… Big Sigh… Feeling very sorry for myself sigh…  This job is for a young kid or a man I think to myself as I trudge up and down the hills, under the tubs, messing with the gadgets and the workings below, turning the water on, turning it off, adding chemicals, testing, and recording and covering each one of them. It’s a lot more work than anyone ever considers so when you ask why do the outside tubs cost more per hour… I want to say… I will tell you why… in a little louder voice than I do…  However I just sweetly say, “Well, sir, the outdoor tubs require just a bit more maintenance. And that usually is sufficient. I mean it is just $4. Come on!

No really, I know that I am lucky to have a job and  when all of the leaves are cleaned out, it is a very beautiful place to work, among the nature and all. And I wear my fitbit (pedometer) to show myself the exercise I am getting.  On a good day I can usually walk out of there with at least 4 miles under my belt!

I used to be the Event Coordinator there, but that job was eliminated due to the economy. All of my bosses were let go through out the years that I have been there,  so I feel pretty blessed that they have kept me on. If you follow me at all, you know that I owned a little gift shop once upon a time and then lost it due to circumstances beyond my control, and so I realize that everything is relative.  I could feel sorry for myself and spend all of my time counting all my setbacks or… I could begin counting all of my blessings. One being… that in the end, when all is said and done,  I actually have the ability to make a tub look like this…

What I have really learned through my journey is this…life happens. No, crap happens. Sometimes you feel as if you get more of your share than others. I know, I’ve been there. But it is in how you handle the hard times that matter. Charles Swindoll said it best:  I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it…. I have to remind myself daily.

ATTITUDE

by

Charles Swindoll

 “The longer I live, the more I realize the impact of attitude on life.  Attitude, to me, is more important than facts.  It is more important than the past, than education, than money, than circumstances, than failures, than successes, than what other people think, say or do.  It is more important than appearance, giftedness or skill.  It will make or break a company… a church… a home.  The remarkable thing is we have a choice every day regarding the attitude we embrace for that day.  We cannot change our past… we cannot change the fact that people will act in a certain way.  We cannot change the inevitable.  The only thing we can do is play the one string we have, and that is our attitude… I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it.                                                                                                                                                                                                                          Charles Swindoll

And sometimes at the end of the day, God rewards me with something much greater than any wage I could ever earn….

And so it is with you… we are in charge of our Attitudes”

12 thoughts on “Working Hard For The Money

  1. The end of the quote, “I am convinced that life is 10% what happens to me and 90% how I react to it.”

    What does attitude have to do with what you do? Attitude is feeling and opinion, how you react to something, what you actually do, is behavior. Sorry but I majored in psychology, which is the study of the behavior of organisms. “Attitude” is nebulous romantic hogwash when it comes to anything but how you feel, not what you do. People confuse these all the time and it bugs me (and my professors).

  2. Maybe you ought to start singing this one girl! LOL
    Whistle While you work…

    Enjoyed your post as always! You always give me food for thought! have a Blessed day

    1. Jeannette, that’s a wonderful way to look at it! I am sure I will have to remind myself tomorrow morning. But as I sit here on my day off… I love it!
      Thank you!

  3. Great post. I have always said every job is important and matters as long as the person doing it does it with pride. I say there little lady, if I had an outdoor tub I’m call you over and even give you a hefty tip. Sparkling clean they are!!!

    1. Yep! I am learning how to put pride on the shelf for sure and do everything unto HIM! Even cleaning the bathrooms if need be! Finding nothing is below me! LOL. I give the kids at work any tips cuz I get paid a little more than they do but thanks! You are too sweet! Your tips for me are your wonderful words! I eat em up!

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

