Sometimes I use my tears

 for everything all at once,

I remember ALL the pain,

I experience all the love

that has passed me by,

I cry for the people

who needed me

when I wasn’t there,

for lost dogs in my life,

for dreams

that should have come true

and misunderstandings

that should have never been

for death, and for life,

and for those

who never got a chance to live it.

Sometimes I use my tears

to break all at once

to shed them until I am empty

so that I might be filled again.

Diane Griffin ’90

(me)

3 thoughts on “B-R-E-A-K-I-N-G

  1. So beautiful, what a soul searching poem – we have the same right to our tears as we have to our laughter, but we are always embarrassed over our tears – why ???

  2. Beautiful, Diane! I can especially relate to the line, “I cry for the people who needed me when I wasn’t there.” The only thing we can do is learn from our past mistakes and try to do better in the future. Thanks for sharing this one with us!

    1. I wrote this when I turned 30, how much I have learned since then! Though, I still end up finding myself taking advantage of a good cry, by crying for everything all at once after I have had a good cry for whatever started my tears… That’s why I love writing, it makes you come back full circle and look at your heart.
      Thanks for reading!!

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

