writing in the windowseat

My words find me

alone in my room~

They keep me company

like a familiar tune~

records

From the time I was small

I’ve brought them along,

they comfort me

when all else goes wrong~

reading little girl by tree

My words come from

a place deep inside,

where my tears and my love

all tend to reside~

empty pages

At times I have written only for me

and others, just for you~

No matter what, where ever I go,

They’ll always come along too~

suitcase of memories

They are easy to bring.

they don’t take much room~

I’ve carried them with me

since; there in the womb~

words in the womb

Judge them or love them

but don’t take them away~

For without my own words

I’d have nothing to say~

   writers trash can

Diane Reed

2013

23 thoughts on “My own words

  1. I love the way you combine the pictures to help get the point of your words across. You make writing seem so easy and effortless. You do such magical things with words cuz they always seem to come straight from the heart. That is a rare talent indeed… to feel it, not just write it! 😀

  2. Poetry is a delightful way of touching
    upon hearts and minds and with every
    word that is etched, a visionary feast
    is offered, such is the banquet of your
    writing my friend.

    Have a very nice
    start to your Tuesday CM 🙂

  3. No one could ever take away your words, Diane. What has been imparted to you is a gift. Once a gift is deposited in someone it is never taken away. Thanks for sharing your heart with us!

  4. Really, really nice, Di. I liked the way you brought forth the idea that words we say/write follow us wherever we go and that they are not just extra baggage we carry. Peace & love,
    Paul

    1. As always…. you GET them… my words that is. And that is such a comfort. Almost like listening to somebody read back what you wrote in the exact way you meant them!
      Thank you my friend!

  5. These sentiments are ones I can concretely relate to. Your words are beautiful, and as always, inspiring, real, and right on the mark. Have a tremendously wonderful day my friend!!

  6. (Poem #545) The Moving Finger Writes; and, Having Writ

    The Moving Finger writes; and, having writ,
    Moves on: nor all your Piety nor Wit
    Shall lure it back to cancel half a Line,
    Nor all your Tears wash out a Word of it

    — Omar Khayyam

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

