radio volume

I hear a song

and my heart flies away~

cloud heart

I want to snatch it back

for it’s gone to yesterday.

The melody wraps

around my heart,

crying with head down

though in my head

I keep playing the part~

No one can know

The pain that I feel,

over a fantasy

now, that  seems unreal~

quote about scars

And so I pretend

that nothing is wrong,

as I try to block out

the tune in that song.

But the melody lingers

as I push replay,

and wander back into my heart

still there,

in yesterday~

burning the past

Diane Reed

2013

(Don’t worry… just editing my book, wandering back into yesterday… Gotta do it to get to the last chapter! )

23 thoughts on “Yesterday’s Melody

    1. Lisa,
      Tried to click on your link and it keeps booting me off line. Wish I could visit! Just thought you might want to know if you had a glitch. Thank you for stopping by my blog and taking the time to comment
      Hugs!

    1. Yep, I am ripping apart the book and changing it up to get to the last chapter. Gonna take a little more work than I had in mind but I am learning so much here. The feedback is really helping. Especially in the places where people have guided me and showed me where it is choppy, words that I tend to use redundantly, not to mention my horrendous punctuation. Which is the least of my worries until I get it all down. I am curious… who did you think I was thinking of? Smile…

  1. I think we all find comfort in the past … and of course we have all our memories from the past that we recall every day … beautiful work again. I wish you a lovely Easter.

  2. When ever I hear songs from my youth, I yearn to return to those beautiful, innocent days. I envision myself, involved in all those activities with close friends, and friendships that I thought would last a lifetime. For a moment, the songs seem to stop time, and all my problems are all but forgotten. Then reality sets in, and sadness overwhelms me, as I realise that yesterday is gone, except for those unforgetable memories, close friends are also gone, no longer to be seen, and, dreams that never came to pass. Nostalgia is good for a season, but it can bring you down, if you dwell on it too long. Thank you. This is a very enlightening post. Blessings.

    1. Thank you for taking the time to read. My seasons seem to last a lifetime… I am just dealing with it all now but I am in a much better place. Thank you for your thoughts!

  3. I often get people writing in worrying about why I’m revisiting the past, or what’s happening– lol — the truth is, the words find me and my job is to let them flow. And that’s how this poem feels to me. You are the conduit to bringing these words to life. they resonate within you on a level of healing that no one ‘out here’ can see or feel or hear, and… they will resonate within me and others differently to.

    It is the beauty and the healing power of the words to bring us into this moment now, knowing that was then, this is now and isn’t now beautiful and alive — that I find so inspiring.

    1. Louise, YOU always say the perfect thing! I wonder if we are twins separated at birth. It is like you finish my sentences and GET exactly where I am coming from!!!!!

      You said>>>
      You are the conduit to bringing these words to life. they resonate within you on a level of healing that no one ‘out here’ can see or feel or hear, and… they will resonate within me and others differently to.<<<<<
      THAT was better than any gift you could give me that could be wrapped with a bow! THAT my friend was the best compliment you could have given me!!! Thank you! 🙂

  4. This might be able to be massaged into a certain other project. Spa . . . massage . . . . Oh, never mind!

    I’ve started a series on my blog explaining and demonstrating “Finding Diane” that you might find interesting, just don’t bother with the explanations of the theory if you check it out. It will take several days to go through the entire piece but it includes me playing recorded live and on the fourth day of this presentation should be the middle section which you have not yet heard. I’m going one piece of the “circle” (rondo) with each post. Thought you might like to know.

    1. I read this during a small break at work and was so excited because I actually wrote this one thinking… hmm… Jim’s song… hmmmm…. anyway, I did think of your Finding Diane piece when I wrote this but I have a feeling it will happen that way. So unforced and meant to be. The song is so beautiful I want to be a part of it!
      😉

  5. Sometimes revisiting yesterday can be a happy thing. Other times thoughts take you to the places that you’d hidden and buried, hoping they would stay in the background…., the sad or painful moments.
    Good to see your lines gracing the page again, D.
    Paul

    1. Thank Paul~
      My Papa bear supporter! You are the GREATEST!~
      Yeah, this book is kicking my butt. I loved the comments that you gave me when you helped edit chapter two. I DO use “had” a lot don’t I??? lol.
      I am restructuring some of my book in the later chapters and cutting a lot out altogether. But being in that time in my life daily by writing about it is exhausting and I can’t help but wander back into it a bit!
      XOXO
      Have a great day!!! 🙂

  6. Nostalgia sets in when we least expect it but it is the realization that that is all it is which brings us back to the present moment, though sometimes it leaves us with a bittersweet yearning for the things that are no longer or may have never been… Beautiful words.

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

