Please read the end note when you finish the poem!

Thanks!!!!

ballet worn out slippers

I dance in the flames as I fall into step ~

Trying to miss the places that made you upset~

smoke

The memories make me jump higher and higher~

I feel the sting as I dance past the fire~

ballerina steps

The tears bring back the pain that I’d  put away,

spinning back  into the melody of yesterday~

ballerina spinning

Like a butterfly trapped, still inside it’s cacoon~

I dance through my mind running from each room~

ballerina

as I close the door, where  you live in my mind,

I find the part of me that I left behind.

dancing couple in black and white

Just like a jewelry box dancer trapped in a box

ballerina in jewelry box

my heart is inside with the key and it’s lock.

ballerina in the mirror

Diane Reed

2013

Before you get too concerned. I have a friend who is reading my book (Has read almost my whole blog) and has written a song that we both have been working on. I was supposed to do the lyrics and believe me I thought it would be a piece of cake. I had written songs before with others who wrote the music and I wrote the words, and it had come so easily. But this one was not so easy. I think because I have been stuck at the end of my book not really knowing how to finish it, I was stuck in the writing of the song process. I am not saying that I have found the perfect words yet but the well has opened  and I am finding inspiration again. The book is about certain things and my recent poems are as well. Don’t worry about me being stuck in the past… smile…. I may write about it as I continue working on my book because I have thought about including a poem before each chapter so I am just working on ideas. I am writing about yesterday but standing in today. I promise!

To sample my friend Jim’s piece that he wrote I have shared his link to his blog that you may find inspiring. He is very talented. His song is called Finding Diane…. (Even though I am writing my book in fictional form, and so it would be Finding Keri 😉  ) I love it so much! This is actually the ending… maybe he will post the whole song soon…. http://nostolencatpictures.com/2013/03/31/music-theory-0031/#more-2804 It would be fun if you would stop by and LIKE his blog. He has some great posts in his archives as well as the beginning to this song! Thanks guys!

8 thoughts on “Yesterday’s Melody Part II

  1. This is awesome Diane! I look forward to hearing more about how the song develops, and the beautiful ballerina imagery is perfect for your tender words!

    1. Oh Thank you! I feel bare without my pictures but Jim’s melody,( who has proposed this project) has substance enough to not need pictures. It will be interesting how he incorporates everything. I just keep writing, hoping he can take bits from wherever he wants and make it into a song!

  2. Thanks for the reference. I love all those ballerina pictures. The background of my computer is some old painting of a ballerina dancing and looking up with joy. It’s a manly thing to do! What am I supposed to do, adore a picture of some football player? I think not.

    Once I get the performance of the whole thing together I’ll post it. I hope for that so be within a few days. The left hand is tricky in parts.

    Gotta run and do my post-Easter blog. It’s getting late!

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

