girl at a new door out in field

 Transition is a place that we move from, after being stuck. A few words that come to mind are change, evolution, conversion, shift, move, switch, altercation, modification. Just a few synonyms that explain a little of how I am feeling right now. I’m not going to waste time on talking about where I’ve been. That would not be proactive, and I think that the words I just shared are words moving me forward and so as I climb out of the rut I’ve been in for oh so very long, I don’t leave it without a decade of education. Life has peaks and valleys, and if you don’t miss the stream of knowledge that trickles through, you will have gained more and learned more than any degree could ever offer. I have learned a lot. As ANNIE said, “It’s a hard knock life.” But the sun is gonna come out tomorrow!

valleys

And in honor of my blog’s title (THE ONE THING I KNOW FOR SURE) and the fact that this is my 300th post, I will add another few from my list of things that I know for sure…

It doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks of you. It doesn’t matter what happened in your childhood, or how great or horrible your parents were, (GET OVER IT already!) <<< I hate when people have said that to me, and I could probably write a whole post on the subject, but really we need to move on!) it doesn’t matter if you have made a ton of mistakes or if you have no money or a pile of it, it doesn’t matter if you are popular or if you feel that the whole world is against you. What really matters is what you REALLY believe about you. With all the other junk aside, what do you KNOW about who you really and truly are? There comes a time when you finally learn to NOT care what anyone else thinks, if you truly know you have done your best, if you have good work ethics and value others, if you know your heart is in the right place.

And well, if you have true character….

No one can take that away from you. Not your parents, nor your friends, not your kids, or coworkers, not your spouse or your boss, NO ONE knows your true value more than you. Except of course God and He values you more than even you value yourself. But my point is… that there comes a time in life when you know you are worth more than someone else is valuing your worth and only you can change that. Whether it is a significant other, a family member, a boss, a teacher, a coworker, or a friend… The operative word here is… TRANSITION. Ya gotta have one! One step at a time, putting one foot in front of the other… gets you out of where you are stuck and moving on!!!!! There was a movie in the seventies where the guy shouts out his window, how he’s not going to take it anymore! Well, neither am I. And it’s about time that I figured out that…. Only YOU can STOP the BS in your life!!!!!

Sure….It is a hard knock life sometimes, it’s unfair and people can be judgmental or just plain mean, and crap happens. And not everyone is going to toot your horn, or admire you. Not everyone is going to love you or see your value. And that’s okay. Because when you finally “GET it” and understand that you are valuable and worthy and can shine even in the most dismal places and maybe even change someone for the better but if you don’t and they are unmoving, it is so freeing to really and truly be able to say… “You know what? I don’t really care.” And truly mean it. You can stay in the pits and teach, you can get down in the fox holes and help others have faith. You can stick it out through the thick of things and it will be okay. Unless you are in a place of constant scrutiny, negativity and judgment and you lose faith in yourself, then you need to change, to step out and away and know that you are worthy and no matter where you are, the sun is always going to come out tomorrow!

vineyard

It may take a life time to understand

And yet the two go hand in hand

Poise and honor style and ease

Come in stages if you please.

 

Life has a funny way of teaching

those that merit the toil of reaching

they shine long after their words are but a ghost

for, they’re  the ones we’ll remember most.

Diane Reed

 ©2014

 I just realized that this was my 300th post half-way through writing this! I knew it was coming… and I really wanted to write something uplifting. But perhaps this is aprapos.I mean, I have stuck it out… who knows what I have had to say three hundred times. LOL. But I have tried to have a redeeming message through out and so maybe it is about time we started to toot our own horns without feeling dumb! Excuse me while I go find the nearest mountain top to blow mine! 🙂

mountain top

29 thoughts on “It’s a Hard Knock Life, but the sun IS gonna come out tomorrow!

  1. Diane, As I wrote in your most recent post “May Our Children Really See Our Hearts” that I don’t have any children and only God sees my heart, you mention here that really only God sees who we really are. And as much as we may know ourselves better than others, sometimes we cannot admit the goodness, or even some of the not so good in ourselves. REALLY, only God KNOWS the TRUTH WITHIN US.

    I continue to pray for a “clean heart and clear mind” as I try to walk the path God has for me. So much yet to learn, including better habits to become a better person, to love unconditionally…not only others, but myself as well. This life is not easy, but forgiving and letting go are keys to peace within.

    I love that movie ANNIE and her song “It’s a hard knock life” and “the sun’ll come out tomorrow” 🙂 and that is true. Remembering to be grateful for our blessings really helps when going through tough times. Even the best of transitions can sometimes be difficult, but we can also remember the song “Just put on a happy face” or go online and listen to Pharrell Williams’ “HAPPY” 🙂

      1. 🙂 I really need to get back on the writing path, but have a lot of reading/research to with some legal docs and insurance decisions to make!!! 😦 Planning to get that done before November 16, my 1 year anniversary of the day I officially moved to Greenville 🙂

  2. I love it! Your posts always touch me in one way or another… all good though. 😀 This one has been a perfect read for where I am in life at this moment in time. Thank you for that. ❤ Reminders of the good things…always are uplifting. 😀

  3. You have a natural grace Di and all this unfolds in your own time my lovely, when you are ready. I feel it’s about letting go of old beliefs, like old clothes, when we realise that they no longer lovingly serve us well…<3 always for you. x

    1. Jane,
      I KNOW YOU KNOW.
      Thank you my friend❤
      Though our transitions may be very different. Our hearts are pretty much the same. We all hurt and bleed like everyone else, but we also have the strength to survive and be better because of it. No one can take that away from any of us unless we allow then to.

  4. Di, I love your strength. I am watching you evolve my friend! This is an excellent piece and not far from what I write about in my newest book Words We Carry. If it wasn’t already published, I may have asked to quote you on parts. 🙂 xo

    1. Ahhh thanks Debbie! That is such a great compliment! I think that we found each other because we are a lot alike in our thoughts and writing and I know we’d be hanging out regularly if we lived closer. Ya know when ya know? 😉
      xoxo
      PS: Thanks for reading when you have such a full plate!
      di

    1. Diane
      As always your wise words have me nodding as I read! Thank you my friend. I still am baffled at what I thought I had to say that was so important 300 times! Lol.
      Xoxo

  5. Excellant post my friend. True its a hard knock life, but we make it harder by the way we judge each from our outward appearance, then take that judgement and turn it into hatred with our actions. If we only showed more love of each other, just maybe all our journeys in life will be alot easier just as God envisioned for us.
    I have alot of good reads on my blogs of this love.

    1. I know you do! We should all go back and try to read everyone’s older posts before they really were followed. You are so right judgment is like poisin. I think you really GET my points quite regularly and that my friend, I am truly grateful❤

  6. As always your words are like a tall glass of water–bringing life to dry bones. Love the quote “When you finally GET It and understand that you are valuable and worthy and can shine even in the most dismal places.”

    So true, Diane. I’m still working on getting it. On valuing myself no matter what the circumstance. You cannot give what you do not have. If you don’t love yourself, how can you love others?

    1. Anka!
      EXACTLY! I always love your take when I write. I was told once that I need affirmation. And lots of it. LOL. I would just hang out with you ALL the time if I could! I finally am grasping that fact that you ask… how can we love anyone else if we can’t love ourselves? I have come from a place of loathing and feeling very unsure. Though I feel more comfortable in my own skin when I write. It has taken me years to start understanding that I am worthy of more and to feel confident and secure in reaching for it. I am worth loving. Even a year ago, I would have felt ashamed to say that. Now I feel okay about it. I don’t need to beg someone to love me. Though it’s nice when others do. My acceptance and love of myself is enough. Today, I actually believe it. Today when I left work… there was a rumbling about people getting promoted and some of us getting passed over and they asked me what I thought. And I said “If you really must know… I don’t give a shi+!” And ya know what? I really didn’t and it felt so good!

    1. Marian,
      I read your story! So sorry. I can relate. My dad had a heart attack jogging around the block when he was 51. He was planning on doing his bills when he got home. I still miss him! I think that when it is sudden like that, it is such a shock that it is hard to ever really recover. Time is a healer, but I still can cry at the drop of a hat if I really think about it. It is just something that you never get over.
      Though, like you… I think we said our stuff everyday. So though I’d give anything to have an hour conversation, I don’t really have regrets or need an official goodbye. I was a daddy’s girl and it sounds as if you and your mom shared a special bond. Funny, my dad was younger than I am now when he died. But I’m still his kid when I think of him.
      Thanks for sharing your post.
      xoxo
      di

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

