I have written a fictional memoir. It basically happened exactly the way that I described it, but to protect the ones involved who may not wish to be called out, I changed the names to avoid embarassment.

https://dianereedwiter.wordpress.com/2015/02/23/the-end/

It is funny, that though that was a time in my life that was pretty dark, I also have some pretty great memories during those very same days. And now, I really can’t say that I would like to change a lot about my life because I am in the midst of this amazing revelation between me and myself. Amost as if I have found a new friend… in me….

I have a new appreciation for the sentence: “I have been blind and now I can see.”

clouds of joy

I have been in such a dark place for so long that it is just nice to really feel the sunshine and smell the rain, to kiss the soft cheek of a baby and laugh really hard. To love the people I love with every cell of my being and to try to understand that this life is not the end and really have the faith that there is something more. And to try to get in touch with the journey.

BeFunky_triumphant.jpg

We all have this vessel that carries our souls around. But those vessel are all just temporary. What is important is the soul inside the vessel. God gives us each a journey all of our own. And lessons to go with it. We may not have a choice of the vessels we are given. But we do have complete control of the soul it contains.

It is not all about the bad times, it is about embracing the joy and the good that comes out of the lessons that have brought us to this place. Life is not ever going to be perfect. No movie nor best selling book will ever have a story that doesn’t have some ups and downs. That’s just how it is. And it is what we do with the downs that help us appreciate the ups. You can stay stuck in the dark or you can seek the light. And everyday we have the exact same choice. And today…

It is well with my soul.

I do hope that you take the time to click here. I promise it will be worth a few minutes of your time.

36 thoughts on “It Is Well With My Soul

  1. “…It is what we do with the downs that help us appreciate the ups”. So so true. I love the verse, ” Those who sow in tears will reap I joy “. Trials are times for sowing, not for shutting down. I am always so greatly encouraged as I read each new post you write. You are speeding God’s light in every season you walk through xo.

    1. Oh and thanks for the video! Wow, to think what strength and trust in the Lord he had to pen those words in the midst of such a tragic time! I never knew the history behind that. It’s wonderful that you shared!

      1. Patricia,
        Thank you so much! I pray for you everyday! I love thinking about your life. So at the beginning of everything and so wise that I know you live in the present! Cherishing every day! When I was your age, I was so caught up in the next word my kids were going to say or their first steps. Everyday was an adventure, always changing so fast! And yet I wish I would have slowed down and lived more in the moment, as I know you do. Embrace these days!
        xoxo
        di

  2. Yes, your soul seems to be doing very well my friend. I can’t help but question, you said your book is fiction because you changed the names, but the story is true? My memoir is truth, and I changed only the names for privacy, It was a difficult decision for me to publish it and I suppose I’m asking if you’re choosing to call it fiction for that same reason? xo

    1. Deb,
      Huh? Lol. I am in LA for my baby’s 27th birthday and. On business so haven’t been on my blog till I get home but your question intrigued and confused me. But I am always wanting to answer you💖

  3. Wow, what a wonderful post and testimony! And what a blessing to us and the Lord for what you have become! Some of us have to be really broken before “humpty dumpty” as it were can be put back together again. And the Lord always makes us ever so much better than before and than we deserve! A cracked pot not only lets in the light; it also lets out light and your little light is shining so brightly, Diane! Love and hugs, N 🙂 ❤ ❤ ❤

  4. I just had my husband sit down and watch the video with me, not sure what it was about but knowing that it would be something that would minister to the both of us, as we are currently in, as you say, a “dark” time. But, we are also being taught to shine in that darkness, as the past five years or so have taken a lot out of us and we are just now getting back up after nearly surrendering to circumstances that we are learning and beginning to embrace as gifts. Thanks so much for another thought-provoking and heart-touching message!

  5. I completely agree with you Diane , I am equally having a good relationship with myself at the moment . I am seeing myself in a different light and beginning to think, I’m not that bad actually . When I sometimes question myself , I say , would you like someone like you as a friend and the answer is always yes. So maybe it’s an age thing .
    I am writing a memoir or myself and my family . With all the snippets and stories I know I have witten in their own voices , or at least how imagine they would speak at the time. So what I don’t know I just make up …it fun . I read something on a similar format about Silvia Plath and Ted Hughs …I loved it so I’m giving it a go . Good luck with yours .
    Cherryxxxxx

    1. Cherry
      Oohh I want to read it!. I know it is forgiving to be able to call it fiction. I too, had freedom to improvise forgotten conversations etc. Though, amazingly, I remembered about 90% exactly the way it happened.

  6. Such a beautiful and tender piece, Diane. I share your feelings in how your life is changing and the transformation that is going on. Like you, I’m grateful for all the experiences and events in my life and wouldn’t change a thing.

    For me, it’s been a type of metamorphosis and now sensing I’m coming out of it. I can feel what Horatio Spafford wrote in his hymn “It Is Well With My Soul”. Thank you for sharing this with us.

  7. Beautiful words my fellow blogging friend. You are so right of our souls within us.
    ” It is not what or how you get knocked down, it is more about how you pick yourself up from the knockdown”.
    A quote of mine from a past blog.

  8. Looking forward to reading it! I’d love you to add a twitter button for sharing your posts. I’m having trouble finding you on twitter and your links below don’t seem to work. Or I’m being obtuse. Highly possible!

    1. Hi!
      I am sooo not techie sauvy! But I think that I TWITTERED my blog now! LOL! THANK YOU!!! What an amazing gift I feel it is when anyone shares or reblogs any of my ramblings!
      xoxo

  9. The Lord’s timing is so perfect. Your words spoken here in this post really ministered to me. I get it. I really do get it. A Bible verse came to my mind as I was reading this:

    “Stand in awe, and sin not: commune with your own heart upon your bed, and be still. Selah” Psalm 4:4

    I love that hymn! I sing it a lot here at home.

    Hugs and Blessings,
    Theresa

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

