I am in this weird place right now. I changed jobs several months ago and very recently had a very affirming review from a past employer (now my current boss again) whose opinion matters very much to me.

It is as if a part of my world has come full circle. As I begin to believe in myself for the first time in a long time. To stop second guessing myself, which was one of the few suggestions I was told that I need to improve on. I have a kind of promotion per say as I start this week feeling even more responsible to do my best.

Even though my review reflected that doing my best was already noticed. It has taken me a while to realize that I am in a job I love, working with people I value,  and actually getting paid for my efforts.  striving to do my very best as growing comfortable in the freedom that I’ve been given, trusting my own decisions and branching out in marketing our property and working with an amazing inspire-er and striving to become one as well.

girl flying

The wind beneath my wings

holds me higher than I ever imagined

as I  soar above the Second ACT!

Thanking God for HIS plan

as I realize

He knew exactly what He was doing

as I look back!

Diane Reed 2015

My message here is to believe that there is a bigger plan. To trust that if you give it to God, He will guide you! Trust your nudges! I second guessed mine for far too long! My inner voice was screaming at me, telling me what to do and I tried to tell myself that I was mistaken. Not to believe in me. And for a long time, I just got more and more depressed. Everyone was telling me that I needed to take something for it. How my life could change if I just took “this” or “that” but in reality, all I needed was to trust God’s nudges and me.

I wasn’t happy where I was in my life. Let’s face it, we spend hours at work, if you don’t like what you do, or  the people there you are going to feel depressed. Today, I feel happy when I get in my car to drive to work. I even enjoy my drive there. I feel blessed when I walk in the door and am surrounded by people who I enjoy and a job that challenges me.

My days are not long enough, I never count the hours, except to ask myself where the time has gone? And though I usually look forward to my days off, I also look forward to my days back. I thought I was too old to start over. I thought I was being loyal to my old place of employment, when I needed to be loyal to me.

Are you stuck? Maybe it’s time for your Second ACT!

34 thoughts on “My Second ACT

  1. Amen and amen! I am thrilled for you as you embrace this second act, and I pray you will continue to embrace this amazing season, defeating the enemy and his lies because you are, and always have been good enough! You’ve encouraged me so much with this. As much faith as it took for my family to make our move, I now find myself wavering as I determine my next step. I know it’s fear, and I choose to release it in Jesus name! Thank you for sharing! You are such a blessing!!

    1. Patti
      And I second your Amens! I am so thrilled for you! To know you have started early enough to enjoy it all and have the wisdom to never feel stucktoo long bbecause you my friend are an old soul with much discernment! And I know your second act will gain a standing ovation from all who are blessed enough to witness it. I was sharing your last post with my daughter as if we were old friends.😊 And I feel we ARE! A divine appointment gifted to me from our Father💖😉

  2. My biggest regret was not going to college . I left school and became an apprentice hairdresser . I only wanted to stay in the job for a few years ..thirty years on I still do a little . Writing is my passion I just have to work so hard with grammar because didn’t have a decent education
    My second act is moving to another British Isle and building a new house that will eventually be a B&B . At the moment I am working at a neighbour’s friend’s B& B that is giving me an insite into the business. So happy that you are happy in your job good luck to you .
    Cherryx

    1. Cherry
      Me too. I regret not having the official college experience. Though I did get in several semesters, I never finished. I had to take a required English class upon entering college and barely passed it and then got great feedback on the writing assignments I turned in. But to this day, never mastered the finer details of grammar either.
      What a wonderful plan. My daughter was just talking about someday, aspiring to open up a B&B. I love your writing. Maybe you could host writing conferences! Sometimes one seminar holds as much great info as a whole semester in college depending on who is teaching each one😉!

  3. Oh, I’m so happy to hear that your 2nd act is starting out so well! Love when we take the chance, when we open and trust God and then the next chapter is so much better than the previous one of which we were holding on so tightly!

    1. Paul,
      Well, its not my dream job. Writing would be my first choice. And being able to write what I want, publishing my own stuff, etc. But as Jobs go, I admire and respect who I work for and with NOW and that was not the case in my last job any longer, so I am just giddy where I am now AND they are allowing me to get my retail fix, utilizing my talents. Hence, I was asked to create a gift shop. And they loved it! Just feeling appreciated is refreshing. 👍😊💖

  4. Although I am in a good place, my job was chosen for me by the Air Force 24 years ago (I retired from the Air Force in 2011, but continue to do the same job) and have been praying for my ACT 2 for a while now! Congrats to you in finding yours!!!!!!!! 😉

    1. Michelle
      You are probably pretty close! Prayers for getting there! Thank you for the kind words💖 loving your blog. Praying for a quick healing for your daughter. So glad she’s okay!

  5. It is so hard to undo the teachings, the learnings of 1/2 a lifetime. Look at the way we are taught to be undeserving, to be poor miserable sinners, the repetition of the self deprecating statements. It is no wonder we are depressed! We have never met except through words, and yet I know you are a beautiful, wise, caring, light filled heart … Yes the second act is time to get it all right as we have learned to truly love in act one! All the best … Peter (gfs)

  6. Good luck and good health in the 2nd act. True the cycle of life goes round and round, its not til we truly see who we really are and are confident in ourselves, when we see this cycle of life and become stronger and better moving forward.

    1. Diane,
      Thank you! Other things may not be exactly as I’d like, and not all is in order at all times, but you nailed it EXACTLY when you described it as “freedom” that is a perfect description!
      Thanks for reading!
      xoxo

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

