drinks

City lights and jazz in the air

the smell of smoke in my hair,

the first scent of a lit cigarette

are memories I just can’t forget.

city view with bridge

Coppertone still fills my head

reminds me of things you said.

beach chairs

A time of day still makes me smile,

our hearts store them like a file.

Forgotten like a vapor’s mist

don’t mean that they don’t exist.

smoke

 A song or smell has a knack

of snapping us so quickly back,

at any given time you see

I can find you in my memories.

Ah, yes the smell of smoke in my hair

I close my eyes and find you there.

floating face

Keri London

2011©

Side Note* Keri London is my character’s name on my blog: http://kerisjournal.wordpress.com and this poem reflects that work. I am currently STUCK. Have finished the bones of that book and need to go back and edit so I can send it to a real editor and kick my butt into getting motivated again. I let life, work and being “stuck” get in my way. What I am afraid of is… is that I know editing means pretty much rewriting the whole thing! So I write these poems telling myself I am going to use them in my book… by the time I am ready to submit anything, I will probably have enough poems for a book all of it’s own! LOL. Thanks for reading and for my loyal readers who read both… you know I love ya!

xoxo

di/aka keri

20 thoughts on “Inside My Memory

  1. You write from the heart …it’s the only way to write . I am a firm believer that to write heals . Keep on keeping on Diane .
    Cherryx

    1. Cherry,
      I am so grateful for your comments. They are like little silver boxes tied with bows! Love them! Thank you for taking the time to gift them to me!
      xoxo

  2. You can do it! I know you can. 🙂

    I like the poem, too. It’s really good.

    Smells and sounds have a big impact on my memory, too. I love to visit memories from my early teens. Since I am 48 I can remember so much music from the late 70’s and early 80’s like “Steal Away” by Robbie Dupree, and “Magnet and Steel” by Walter Egan and Stevie Nicks….and all of those Dr. Hook songs.

    Thanks for sharing this.

    Hugs and Blessings,
    Theresa

    1. Theresa, I love those songs! They snap ya right back huh? Just read your 21st birthday poem again and wanted you to know I’ve been praying!
      Thanks for your sweet and loyal support💖
      xoxo

  3. Again very beautiful words my friend.
    ” MEMORIES Are the keys to our soul, some are painful, some make us smile, but the memories can and will heal us, no matter what we do with them”.

      1. The healing is within the words you write. The feeling of goodness shines its brightest within your words.
        ” true gods light shines within each of us, it is how we let it shine, that brings goodness to the rest of us”.

  4. Smell, of all our senses, gives instant access to memory. Lovely verse.

    Yes, I know about being STUCK. Currently there, but using my prodding stick to turn myself loose again. Best wishes for smoother sailing ahead.

      1. Printing out what I’ve written so far, reading it, and seeing if my brain will magically “trick” me into guessing/knowing what should come next – best wishes!

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

