E VIEW FROM OUR STREETview from our street

For the last week, my neighbors and I have been sitting on the edge of our seats as we watch the surrounding communities being evacuated as a fire rages around us. Since losing our store in the 2003 San Simeon earthquake,  (link below  -I’ve been asked about)

https://dianereedwiter.wordpress.com/2012/09/23/a-thing-of-beauty-in-an-unexpectd-place/

I have never looked at people going through a Natural Disaster in quite the same way since that earthquake. Not that I didn’t care, but things like that just seem so far removed  from  your own life. I didn’t truly understand. NOW I do. Before, it all seemed so distant. Now, not so much. Something changes you after experiencing something like that. It is not just strangers going through something on the news. Now, I stop and pray for them and understand. I’d like to think I learned more lessons from that experience; I know at the very least…  I view “things” as just “stuff” a lot more easily since then.
It became clear last night when things got pretty close and I was shaken awake by a very loud, reverse 911 call alerting our area that the neighboring community, where many of our friends reside had just been given their evacuation notice. Even now, it is not clear that we are out of danger. The electricity has gone out a couple of times and that kind of freaks me out because besides the layer of smoke resting on our whole town, I just assumed that our amazing firefighters were getting a handle on things. But have since learned that weather conditions have a lot to do with containment and growth and that it is just unpredictable.

I guess you might say that my bubble popped and I stopped living in lala land and began looking around trying to figure out “IF” we were notified…What would I take? I began taking pictures of things that I might need for insurance purposes and made a mental note of everything sentimental that I would grab. Notes from my dad and my kids, ones from my husband, & my mom. Pictures, important papers,  And then my eyes fell on my Bible. Now days I use an electronic app  as my Bible, and that, not often enough. It is worn and weathered with highlights and underlined verses and something about it comforted me, as I held it for a moment and then placed it inside my “important box.”

Today we still are on stand by but it seems to be moving away from us. We never know until we hear a new report. But I just sat down to take a break and glanced at my Bible and took it with me to read. And realized I’d been missing something so special by not sitting down with that old worn out book.  I flipped through it and God started speaking to me as I read highlighted and underlined verses. It is so crazy how each verse that I’d marked at another time in my life was meant for me to read today…

As for me, I shall call upon God, And the Lord will save me. Evening and morning and at noon, I will complain and murmur And He will hear my voice. He will redeem my soul in peace from the battle which is against me.    PSALM 56: 16-18 

Blessed is a man who perseveres under trial; for once he has been approved, he will receive the crown of life, which the Lord has promised to those who love Him.           JAMES 1:12

Jesus knocking

I love how God finds me

right where I am.

whether on solid ground

or on shaky sand

sometimes stepping off the foundation

away from the rock

sometimes ignoring His calling

and  gentle knock

Always so busy

and as

rushed as can be

while He ever so patiently

waits for me.

d. reed

FIRE 2

Don’t worry about anything; instead pray about everything; tell God your needs and don’t forget to thank Him for His answers. If you do this you will experience God’s peace which is far more wonderful than the human mind can understand. His peace will keep your thoughts and your hearts quiet and at rest as you trust in Christ Jesus.

PHILIPPIANS 4; 6-7 

One last thing…. Whatever you may be going through… God is nudging you to remember that HE is just a prayer away.  Praying is like a soft rain after a long drought, it is like falling into your daddy’s arms after a long absence.

 

God Bless you.

20 thoughts on “The Chimney Rock Fire

  1. Sounds like you’ve made your preparations, Di. Now all that’s left is to wait and see what will happen (or not). Will keep you & yours in my thoughts and prayers. Keep us posted about what’s happening !!!!! Hugs 🙂

    1. Thank you! Prayers are working! Tomorrow it will be 2 weeks! Finally looks as if they have a handle on it! They upgraded to 49% containment! It has been stuck at 20% for a while. Thank you for checking in my friend.
      xo

  2. I’ll be praying for you and your city, Diane. Sounds like you all are walking on pins and needles. What a horrible feeling that must be, except for the hand of God on you and your family and homes.

    1. Thank you Steven.
      It is strange. I have a funny peace. Even if we lost everything — I learned long ago that stuff is just stuff. Though I complain about stupid stuff daily and seem to always be “needing” something. I really don’t. It is a freeing feeling to realize an old book that represents my
      God’s word is what I found more important. It is the memory of it carrying me through a lot of years remembering where I was in life when I highlighted or underlined this verse or that. And having no memory of others or when or where I was. I guess it is a symbol that each one symbolizes a valley in my life that I survived. But I covet your prayers. Thank you. 💖

  3. Truth is that I’m not a religious person, about as far from as it as a person can possibly be, but that doesn’t change the idea that I can pray for you. In my own particular way. Stay safe and I hope the flames don’t get any closer. I can’t imagine living through this.

  4. Stay safe my friend, never lose faith in the power of Jesus, he will always keep us safe.

    ” tragedy is all around us, it is the faith in ourselves as well as Jesus Christ, that determines our destiny within this journey of life”.

    1. Thank you for your wise words! You are right! I was reading my earthquake story : AThing of Beauty in an Unexpected Place (above) in related posts right before I read your comment and everything you said hit home!
      Xo

  5. Been busy studying music production stuff, consumed by it. Love the look of your blog, so neat and clean! Very easy on the eyes.

    I think of you when I see the fires in California on our local news here in Michigan. Somehow I assume you are living in a protective dome. I hope and pray that your bubble continues to hold up and that your box of important things need not be used.

  6. Oh Diane, I am so sorry you and yours are going through this. I pray for all of you to be safe.
    Take care and continue to keep us updated as much as you can.
    Love, hugs and blessings.

    ann

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

