Hi guys, it’s been a while. I am forcing myself to come into my art studio where I write, without the TV on or any other interruptions and try to remove this writer’s block I’ve had for the last few months.

I had a little epiphany the other morning when getting out of the shower. (I told you, I have my best moments in there!) I guess it is because I have to be in my own head without the white noise that I like to hide in. Anyway, I was remembering how easy it was to take a bath or a shower as a kid, jump in and out and wahlah! Now, I move a little slower and notice more, the things like eye sight and other things not so fine tuned as they once were. But for a split second, almost magically, my eye sight really focused on something I was doing and seemed to become crystal clear without the help of my glasses since everything was foggy and they wouldn’t have helped. And this question popped in my head… What if God granted me one thing? IF I could choose anything to change about me, but it could only be just that one thing.

My eye sight? A sharper brain, where my memory would kick in more often? A body that is fit and healthy without the extra weight or pain in my back and neck after a recent accident? And then it occurred to me. There are people who would just be glad to have my eye sight or the ability to stand up and be able to walk like I can. Or a million other things that I complain about. I have friends that didn’t make it to this age where I am now. It made me realize that the one big thing I should choose to change is my attitude! And to be grateful for the things that I do have. And how in the blink of an eye, things could change. Things I’d treasure, and pray to have back if something happened to them. I do need to change that attitude… To not get so offended, or quick to anger.

As we approach the New Year, I am hesitant to try to turn over yet another “new leaf” because I’ve been doing that since I was a little girl. My dad used to tell me, I’d definitely have a forest with all of my “New Leaves!” He would sing me that little song about the girl with a curl and how nice and horrid she could be…

It kind of makes me sad that, I need yet another one. Why can’t I ever learn? I have written dozens of posts about my epiphanies and revelations, my AHA moments and plans to not be so negative. But it helps me to know that even Paul felt that way.

Romans 7:15

I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do.

So I am in good company. But I have to admit I am still a work in progress. Have you ever reread some of your own posts and realized that maybe you should take some of that advice you penned years ago? It’s funny, I went back through almost a decade of posts I’ve written here. I rewound and found some pretty inspiring stuff. That sure made it sound as if the author had her act together.

14 thoughts on “Another New Leaf

  1. Hi Di ! Aren’t we all just a work in progress, until we reach a certain age, then we begin to regress.
    Reminds me of a couple of little funnies…. the dictionary , in referring to pros and cons, defines progress as moving forward…, so the opposite of PROgress must be CONgress. That’s probably why so much BS comes out of Washington DC.
    Personally, I haven’t been on WP for months, and it’s still operation as good, or maybe better in my absence. Too much going on in the last part of 2020 and not much of it was good. First came the political nightmare, all 4 years of it !!! Then early in the year, a very close friend passed (cancer), and then, over the holidays, which are a bad time for me anyway, another was taken (corona virus). I will miss her more than I could express. She and her husband had been family to me since Mississippi and theAir Force. So, I begin the new year trying to look up and reach forward instead of looking back.
    Hope the new year finds you healthy and happy. Blessings to you and yours !! 😉 💜

    1. Hi Paul, It is so good to hear from you. I am so sorry about your friend! Maybe our friends entered heaven together. I lost one of my best friends in the beginning of March. She was the half of “Lets go see what Pam and Art are doing. She was always up for a movie or whatever we suggested. I miss her way more than I ever imagined. That unconditional kind of friendship. She totally knew me and never once did I feel judged and believe me she had a lot of material she could have used! such a unselfish generous friend will be missed until I die. For sure!
      Yeah, I guess we can blame it on age. lol… the work in progress part that you mentioned. I mean… I’m not gonna even mention my book except I have pulled out your notes and my old pages and dusted them off with good intentions… then I start cleaning out drawers and in my desk…. first things first… you know! I feel naked without all my rolling eyes, grinning and smirking emojis! LOL. Anywaaay, seeing your sweet name was like unwrapping a present!
      Hope we see each other more often! Best laid plans and all…. (: xoxo

  2. I wonder sometimes if we’ve just been trained to have these super high expectations of ourselves, rather than just be content to get the dishes in the dishwasher. Lol!

  3. Blessing and love. No need to worry about new leaves. Christ went to the tree and changed it into a heavenly throne, who grace He shares with us all.

  4. We missed you.

    ” what is a new leaf you ask? It is a leaf that comes to us to, get out of our comfy routines and branch out to become better and stronger throughout this journey”.

    1. Hi! So nice to see my wise ole friend laying in wait with a word of wisdom. I actually have to sit down and pull up my laptop to read and reply. My poor phone might get thrown in the lake if I try one more time to write a long response on it only to tell me I have to log on to wordpress and when I do it doesn’t work. Anyway I’ve missed your words of wisdom! I love them because I know you read everything I write! Unlike a good friend who tried to pass off the fact that she read my last blog post because she called me to see if I was okay because I’d posted an intro on Facebook which led into my post which obviously I was fine at the end… You know those peeps who say they love what you wrote and only read the first sentence? LOL. I appreciate you more that you know because of them!!!!

    1. ((((Louise)))) an actual virtual hug!!! 😀 Good to see you too! Sorry it’s taken me a while to answer. Not sure why my phone can’t respond to wordpress or I’d have LIKED and you would have seen more of me. So frustrating that I can read your posts on my phone but not LIKE or respond. Though I see you on LinkedIN periodically and it lets me comment there. Anyway I love your comments We gotta be willing to write bad! Love it! Thanks for reading

      xoxo

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!