Yesterday, as I was driving to town. I felt something that I haven’t felt in a long time. It was a glimpse at the silver lining, the light at the end of the tunnel, a simple realization of just pure happiness. Maybe just an untainted moment of appreciation. And a raw awareness to grasp that moment and really be IN IT! In a life of interruptions, I began to feel a nudge to sit in that garden while it was happening and smell the flowers. I think that what I have learned in life is that it happens. Life that is.

Nothing is going to really explain why good things happen to bad people and why bad things happen to good people. Recently having lost a few really good people, And knowing that the older we get, that losing people is not such a shock anymore. I remember as a kid, I was blessed that death had not touched my life until I got a lot older and when it did, it was a raw concept that I wasn’t ready for. When my grandparents died. I was devastated, but it was kind of an expected reality. But when you lose a parent, no matter how old you are or when you start to lose friends, there is this gaping hole that never seems to fill back up in quite the same way. I think after losing a few loved ones in my life, I’ve begun to recognize how much we take for granted when we are happy and how that saying “stop to smell the flowers” is much more than whimsical advice. And being stuck in sad or mad mode may just be my way of protecting myself from being robbed of joy. But suddenly I am realizing that building those walls is keeping any kind of joy OUT.  And how sad, because sitting there, feeling happy and hopeful for the few minutes I did, really was  me making myself stop and smell those metaphoric flowers and it felt great! I can’t even explain where it came from. Maybe just validation from new friendships or letting go of things easier… Or feeling hopeful again.

I’ve realized that letting go of things is key. If you are going to lug around all your hurts and baggage, you are never going to get to where God wants you to. The other day I was offended and I felt for a very good reason. The person in this instance said…. “I didn’t mean it that way.” And in my head I was thinking… “Yeah you did.” And I don’t think I was wrong.. But I have realized that if I choose to carry anger around, it is only hurting me. I can choose to move on or stay in my pity party of one.

I started this blog with the back drop  quote… “The One Thing I Know For Sure” and have randomly shared with you guys the things I am learning along the way… So I felt today while I was stopping to smell the flowers… I’d hang out in my garden a while and weed through my own seeds of wisdom….So here you go!

Being happy is a choice… Taking back the power and deciding that this is not the way that you want your story to end and starting to rewrite it is key…. Forgive others. Not because they deserve it, but because you deserve the peace it will give you to let go…  Live more in Corinthians 13 and decide to just love without noticing how other people are doing it wrong….  Never let go of your dreams. Ever. Walk on the beach often. If you feel joy. STOP. And roll in it! Consider your life a series of footprints that God will show you someday, and imagine viewing the paths you chose with HIM. Kindness doesn’t hurt. Everything can change in the blink of an eye so forgive often and love as if you will never get that chance again. And always look for the silver lining!

14 thoughts on “Silver Linings

  1. Diane, what you shared here is so right. When you said “find your joy and roll in it.” I saw in my head how when a horse is happy in a field she lies down in the green grass and rolls in it. Feet up in the air, not a care about what anyone thinks. We immerse ourselves in that joy. Sounds like you’ve had some rough times. My email is odetwojoy@yahoo.com. I will send you my phone number if you need to talk to another person who’s been through a lot too.

    1. You are so sweet my friend! I think that when I write, I go deep. But I’m okay. I don’t want you to worry. My daughter surprised us after not seeing her for 3 months she came for Father’s Day! So excited!!!! Rolling in the joy! 😎

    1. Tina,
      I am so blessed when I see you have stopped by. And you without a doubt are one of my tribe! An amazing supporter and writer in your own right. And are one of the ones I am talking about when I sit down here to write and feel that I have found my soft place to fall with friends like you always such a comfortable place to land because of you!
      xoxo

    1. I just saw this! I know you know about choices! You are one of my best templates! Your daughter is so proud of you I just know it! You have given her life such a platform and all of us a sweet lesson. You are an inspiration. I know I keep saying this but my phone drives me crazy. Because I read a lot of your posts and then try to LIKE it so you will know your words are appreciated and then my phone makes me sign in and write in my password and then it still bounces back. So unless I come on here (my computer) I never get a chance to let you know. How much I liked something. It’s weird though, sometimes it will let me comment. Anyway, I am sure it is user error as my husband always jokes. But thank you for being part of my tribe that I just wrote about this morning and then came on to catch up and found this note from you!
      Hope you and your family are safe. This world is crazy!
      xoxo

  2. These are deeds that I believe we all need to do! I knew about death as a child and then grandparents along the way. Finally my parents at old ages. When I lost my husband I had a lit of forgiving to do. But gradually,as I remembered the hurts, I forgave him. I am enjoying my retirement but saddened by all that’s going on right now with the suffering and losses. Each day I am thankful,for the things that hurt me because now I can look back on them and see how I grew and learned. Good to be reading your posts again.

    1. I love seeing your face after I’ve written a post. I always know that you have GOTTEN what I tried to convey because of your sweet comments. And that my friend is like a special gift. Not only did you take the time to read what I write but you always take the time to write a sweet comment. And I covet them and treasure the and am so grateful for our friendship!
      xoxo

      1. Dear Friend and literary sister, that may be one of the most beautiful, (I know) sincere, and sweetest things anyone has said to me in a long time. I teared up just reading it. We have got to do Face Chat sometime. My name is Elaine Estes. We really need to catch up! Yes, when I read something of another blogger, I try to write a meaty but brief comment so they will know I took the time to read their work. But with you, you got an epistle! Hugs and happiness, seeing you again!

  3. ” stop…smell…look deeply…feel…all that we take for granted along this journey, as to be better as we walk our paths moving forward”.

    1. Yep! Finally stopping and it feels good. Even if they are fleeting moments. To not let another one pass!!!
      (Hey I tried to get on your site and WIX stops me with an advertisement to make a blog…Just thought you might want to know.

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!