The funny thing about growing up is you can do it at five or at fifty five. And I have been discovering that I have been kind of stuck for a long time. And yet the mistakes I have made along the way are very clear to me now. I guess that is a good thing. I mean, what a waste to have gone through everything I have and not have learned something from it.
In May of this year,  Oprah had a section in her magazine where it featured women who wrote a letters to their younger self. I thought it was such an amazing idea that I just had to take a stab at it.
Jasmine… and me…. nine years ago! How time flies!
I actually wrote this in May on another blog and had  just  transferred it over here….  and begun to re-read it myself…
The cool thing is, that my ten year old granddaughter just walked in. She is staying with me for the weekend. She just called up out of the blue, asking me if I would like some company because she missed me…my husband is out of town dealing with his dad and so I had honkered down for a quiet weekend of uninterrupted writing…  (I know, I know, what do they say about the best laid plans?) Well, anywaaay, talking about making memories, I couldn’t say no. And now I am inserting this sentence because it is so cool. I just had the opportunity to read the letter below to my ten year old granddaughter. She also is a writer. I gave her an empy little journal and she has been filling it all weekend. And so I am in awe of the magic in the moment… see if you don’t agree… it was if I had written it for her.
Here is my letter to my young self:
Today you are so filled with expectation and dreams, your whole life is ahead of you. Your life is virtually an unwritten story waiting to be written. Some pages, you may want to tear out along the way, some you may want to hurry through, some will keep you stuck and some will be happy memories. Embrace them all. Don’t waste any of the lessons, learn from them and move on. Don’t beat yourself up for mistakes you cannot change.
You want to grow up so fast right now. You can’t wait to have a boyfriend, to drive, to be done with school. And then someday, to have babies and then you won’t be able to wait until those babies talk and walk and I just want to tell you to SLOW DOWN!!!! And be a KID!!!  Life will fly by fast enough without you helping it along. LIVE in TODAY.  Don’t worry about tomorrow.  These days will someday, become the “Good Old days” that you’ll look back on and you will regret not enjoying them as much as you could have. Always wanting the next step to happen too soon and not enjoying the moments that will only be sweet memories that you will wish you had enjoyed more.
Let things go. Don’t dwell on the things you cannot change. Don’t hold grudges. Things will happen in life that are just plain wrong. People will hurt and disappoint you. It is just going to happen. Nothing you can do, can stop that. But the way you handle those hurts and disappointments,”IS” totally in your control. Don’t waste your time in regret, just brush your shoes off and move on!
Finally, you are a dreamer, and a story teller. You are one of the lucky ones. You know what you want to be when you grow up. Don’t wait. Follow your dream. Fight for it. Educate yourself. Find out how to make it happen. Don’t wait for someone else to make it happen. You have to go out and make it happen yourself. Write that novel you have always wanted to write. Write as many as you can. Touch people with the stories in your head. Ask questions, learn lessons.  But don’t forget to be quiet. Don’t interrupt so much.  You can find your own voice when you need to. Take the time to take turns and really listen. There is power in listening. Sometimes if you talk too much, people just hear the words…. when you are quiet and listen, you can find the true hearts of people and then and only then, can you finish the story you first began.
Age is all about the lessons we learn, the doors we open, the stories we live and what we do with what has been entrusted to us.
“The great thing about getting older is that you don’t lose all the other ages you’ve been”
Madeleine L ‘Engle
OH YEAH, and by the way. Don’t let your mom curl your bangs like she does! You look like a goof ball!

23 thoughts on “Letter to my nine year old self~

  1. This is really fantastic, the message about not hurring to grow up and to instead experience and embrace the age you are at right now. It almost seems contradictory to say not to hurry and grow up into adult things but hurry up and be a writer now. Looking back I do wish I had different music teachers that showed me how to approach and understand things better. I guess that is what drives me now, “pretending” to teach others music when I am really trying to reconstruct the way I wish I was taught and in the process gaining a better understanding of it all for myself now. I feel like I am in the same hurry to do this now as we try to tell kids to slow down and enjoy the moment. I must reflect on this. Thank you.

  2. Such wonderful words of wisdom to write to yourself. And it must have been a great joy to be able to share this with your grandaughter. Lessons to definitely listen to, learn from and live your life with.

  3. I’m so confused. I don’t know how I ended up ‘unfollowing you’ but glad I have found you again!! I came to read old posts as I thought you were busy writing at home so what a joy to see you are still blogging. Hope the book is going well Diane. Hugs and love. This is so beautiful, this letter to yourself. WIsh you’d told all that to me as a 9 year old 🙂

    1. I did, I left to work on my book…You probably thought I meant business because I announced it like some dramatic thing.. 😮
      I am getting a lot done… I have a friend (T) on here who is one of my biggest encouragers about getting my butt in gear and inspiring me to finish~ And I have! (I mean I have been getting it done… it is a process… a LONG one!) I am almost on chapter eight in my pile of about 27 chapters that I have finished editing. I have been posting the chapters as I go and then asking for feedback … that is when I realized the clicking LIKE thing… I mean one chapter can be anywhere from four to seven or eight pages long and I got a LIKE every ten seconds from one person… it made me go back and look at some of the others.. One person LIKED me 47 times one night… I thought… what a compliment… someone actually took all THAT time to read lil ole my stuff… That is when someone pointed out… that they get that a lot and it is when people go on sites that seem to have a following to generate their own traffic for their blog.
      But that does not mean that there are not people like you out there or people like the others who I have truly grown to love and follow in their own rights! But it did bring up a huge issue that we are all sensitive to… being liked…. smile…
      Anywaaaay, I am still working on my book… but I am also here. In a different way… not in a STATS obssessed way… in a working on my book and also giving my blog about half the time as I used to cuz I am working on my book!!! ;D But not just giving it up cold turkey (no Thanksgiving pun intended) 😉

  4. Aww I just love writing to my younger and it’s great to encourage and inspire that little girl of the past… It gives hope, to ourselves, and I always feel better after writing a similar letter. Then I seal it in an envelop and maybe I’ll open it again later… and feel that hope again!

    1. I know you inspire me! I wrote this one in May and reblogged it from another blog I had started a few years ago. On the way to taking her home yesterday, my granddaughter read just the letter part back to me and I think that she actually may have had some of it sink in!

      1. Dear, dear Diane. Thank you for that boost of confidence. Your words truly stay with me, so I’m sure that some of what she learns will be infused with things I’ve learned from you!!

    1. It touches me to know that you are taking the time to read it!!!! I know it is a lot to ask of people and to know that someone as talented as you is taking the time to read my chapters means a lot!!! Your blog is one of my favorites and the first one I came back to after my little break.
      Love ya my friend!!!
      XOXO

    1. Thanks Silving…. I wrote it to me, never really even considering that I would ever get a chance to read it to my granddaughter, She wanted to read something she wrote in her new little book and it was the perfect timing. I sure wish someone had read a letter like that to me and i had been smart enough to listen.

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!