There are rules in life. There are loyalties that we choose and disregard. There are boundaries that we must set and discipline we must follow. As parents we teach our kids right from wrong. In life we have to give up things to gain others. Professionally, we hire and sometimes have to fire, we have guidelines that make life much easier if we insist on consistency.

Standing by our scruples, may not always earn us popularity but in the end, doing the right thing makes us win. In my life, I’ve wanted everyone to like me. I wanted to be everyone’s best friend. Favorite Aunt, Cousin, Granddaughter, Grandma, whatever the title, I needed to be the favorite. My mom used to tell me, “Not everyone liked Jesus.” Her point was, why should I expect more than He had?

I realized a while ago that I was not being true to who I was if I didn’t stand up for what I believed in. If something was being handled in a way that I didn’t agree with, I’d sit on it and wait it out. Nothing is worse than feeling a lack of validation and manipulated in feeling wrong about being pretty darn right about something.

I learned a powerful lesson in my recent transition, and it has empowered me! I was right. I won’t go into the details but I will never again allow someone to take the power away from me. What did I  gain from this experience? Perhaps to be a voice to those still stuck. Where ever you are, in a job, in a relationship, in a goal… Only you can find your own yellow brick road. As Glenda said to Dorothy…”You had the power all along my dear.”

My dream job would be to just write someday. So I know I am not there yet and may never get to do exactly what I invision as the perfect job. But I do know that I am happy now. I am working hard and really do enjoy what I am doing. I work with amazing people and look forward to everyday. A few years ago, I was diagnosed as being clinically depressed. I just needed to get my butt out of the hole I’d dug for myself. Was I depressed? Heck yeah! I was depressed with the situation. Nothing Organic about being in a situation with dumb people running the show! There are amazing people and there are toxic people. Who do you surround yourself with? People who value you or people who cause you to be in a state of constant depression? Think about it. Only you can change things!

And you my dear have the power to do it! There is no yellow brick road, nor an Oz that is a wizard that can give you courage.  But there is something much more powerful… YOU! And God! And me and God “GOT” this one now!

man behind the curtain

Who have you given the power to?

Oh little man behind the curtain I have discovered you

You no longer have the control of what I say and do

I am not sure why it took so long to see I had a choice

Perhaps I couldn’t see  behind your magnifed little voice

But slowly I began to see it was nothing but an act

As I began to gather some pretty clarifying facts

I took the power back now and I can clearly see

the power that I believe in now is through God in me!

by

Diane Reed 2015

22 thoughts on “You had the power all along my dear

  1. The power of expression is very important. Holding our tongues isn’t the fault of others. It’s up to us to express ourselves and promote genuine meanful relationships. I am glad you understood that before it was too late. Depression is a real issue, getting over it take understanding that we are in control of our happiness. We are responsible for speaking up and letting the people we Love in. So many people expect mind readers but that’s no one’s job. Congratulations for taking your life back!!!!

    1. AB
      In this case, I did speak up. I guess that is what hurt so much. Though this certainly could apply to what you’re talking about. It is all about affirming and affirmation. 😊
      Thank you! It means a lot!
      xoxo

  2. Loving this powerful girl! Glad you are feeling more content with your ‘big’ job move! You know I am seeing your light much brighter. 🙂 And as you know, it took be quite a few decades to realize that I will no longer subject myself to toxic people. It’s a hard step to take when we allow ourselves to be so submersed but once we learn to climb out and seize our power, look out! xo

    1. Debbie,
      I spent the weekend trying to write and then went to watch the Academy Awards and have dinner with friends and feeling pretty great about my life and then in a split second last night, on the way home we drove past a roll over. The kind in that commercial that looks devastating where they say: “They lived.” I pray they did. It looks doubtful. And it made me realize that life is too short to be somewhere where you don’t want to be. My NEW message this year is : DON’T WAIT!
      When I finally decided I was going to make a change… I had to get my ducks in a row. But I KNEW I was outta there and so I could wait.
      In the case of my book, and the subject in it, I had to really write and rewrite my own story. I think that I had to get to the END to realize who the toxic people were in that case… and it wasn’t who I thought… I ended up staying in that case and rewriting the ending! 😉 Life is funny, True change has to be a process. Before devastating change happens in a split second. Both are a part of life.
      xoxo

  3. Fantastic post… this has meant a lot to me.
    Like Theresa, I have a negative voice inside me that is NOT my own.
    I am learning to stand up against it and take my power back.
    Thanks for the encouraging words.

    1. Elizabeth, thank you for taking the time to read! I think we all have a little voice that is negative. Some just have louder ones. I am trying to hush mine to a minimum 😉
      I think it depends on where we came from and how we learned to allow the voice to control us. I am glad we are ALL on this journey together! I think our honesty helps us know we are not alone. I love yours and Theresa’s! I am glad I know you guys!
      xoxo

  4. This was good. I am thinking about the “He” in my life. In my life the “He” lives inside my head. I hope that makes sense. He moved in with me when I was a little girl. I have tried to run and hide from him, but he always eventually finds me. Lately I have been confronting him though. 🙂

    Thank you so much for sharing this thought provoking post!

    Hugs and blessings,
    Theresa

    1. Theresa,
      EXACTLY! For me too! AND then… along with the “HE” for me I have allowed other people to move in along with that first guy! 🙂
      ALL of them making me believe that they were more powerful in my own world than I was!!! NO more! 😉
      Thank you for your honesty. It helps not feel so crazy or alone in this journey!
      xoxo

      1. I am thinking about your reply to my comment. The “He” in my head alone is bad enough, but when someone (sometimes it seems like it’s not just someone, but a bunch of people that I encounter) comes along and speaks words that agree with “his” words I feel so outnumbered. It is really hard.

        I just scrolled and read your post again. This part is so comforting to me:

        “I learned a powerful lesson in my recent transition, and it has empowered me! I was right. I won’t go into the details but I will never again allow someone to take the power away from me. What did I gain from this experience? Perhaps to be a voice to those still stuck. Where ever you are, in a job, in a relationship, in a goal… Only you can find your own yellow brick road. As Glenda said to Dorothy…”You had the power all along my dear.”

        Hugs and blessings,
        Theresa

  5. Right on, Diane! and now you know who “he” is and recognize what the “little man” is, , so you will be able to turn around and say “move on”….”I/m not buying any longer.” An affirming life lesson is worth its weight in gold, isnt it? sue
    womenlivinglifeafter50.com

    1. Bumba,
      Right. But until we realize that there is no yellow brick road, the rocky road we decide is worth traveling on seems rockier!
      😉
      Just the point I was trying to make.

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!