terri, scott and i

We met when we were four years old and from that moment on we were a part of each other’s lives. It all started with a moving box that our new frigidaire came in. Her sister was two years older, and my dad loved to describe the memory… They knocked at the door, eyeing the big old empty box in our front yard and asked, “You got any kids?”

We quickly became buddies and she even shared the little boy next door to me without a problem. We caught frogs in coffee cans, shared the first day of school a few times together, played barbies and learned how to ride two wheelers and stayed out till the street lights came on. I will always treasure those memories those few years we got to live across the street from each other.

When I was growing up, I moved a lot due to my dad’s job. It’s not that easy always having to be the new kid but it’s really not easy being the new kid four times in the middle of a school year when you are in elementary school. I made friends, but there were times when I felt left out or was tired of always being dubbed the “new kid” and just knowing I had Terri was a kind of redeeming grace that carried me through those times.

Through the years we’ve probably written each other a million letters and shared more with each other than someone in our daily lives. There is just something about being able to talk it out in a letter that creates a deeper kind of conversation and a different trust than with someone sitting across the table fromย you. We’d both find stationey and sealing wax for the occassion and then later, emailed daily for years and years and years!

There was just something about knowing that though she was a thousand of miles away at times, she was also just a letter or a phone call away always. We were in each other’s weddings, had our babies around the same time and emailed each other every single day for years and years. We vacationed with our kids and visited each other as often as our lives permitted. She was my bff.

sealing wax

We had an inside joke about emailing each other…. When we were little, we used to look across the street to see if each other’s garage doors were opened. We knew then that it was okay to knock at each other’s doors and that everyone was up. (No one shut their garage doors back in those days unless they weren’t home or not up yet.) So when we would see an email from each other, we would refer to it as… “I was so glad to come on and see that your garage door was already up!” I have missed that opened garage door for a while now. It has been a funny feeling to want to tell her something and know it will never be opened again.

running through the field2

Today she has been released from this life, from her body, from all the hurts and disappointments this life has held for her to go and celebrate her life and be with our Lord. She lived a wonderful life, had so many people in it that she loved and loved her back. Even in the last two decades of illnesses she managed to weave around it all and embrace life with a passion and energy that few who are gifted with good health, ever manage. We may be missing her but she is in a better place.

I have no doubt that she is enjoying the party being thrown for her right now and will perhaps be in charge of some of the future parties up there in the future! (She always threw a great party!) And I have no doubt that she is preparing amazing places for us all who believe in that better place and in the Lord who has ALREADY embraced her!! Perhaps someday, I will get to live next door to her again! But for today… I am just going to take the time to really miss my very first bff. In these last few months, I have adjusted to the fact that our garage doors will never be opened again, but today it takes my breath away. I guess I always believed in another miracle. God gave her many in her lifetime. I know now the miracle is happening on the other side.

“In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, I would have told you; for I go to perpare a place for you. John 14:2

clouds of joy

27 thoughts on “Dear Terri

  1. I am so sorry for your loss dear friend. I’m glad you have such cherished memories to always reflect upon, and Terri was incredibly blessed to have you as a friend in this life! ๐Ÿ’—๐Ÿ’—๐Ÿ’—

    1. Thank you! I have been in kind of a slump in reading and writing. I am trying to find a creative place again. I know when that happens, the light will re-enter through the cracks and it will be okay! Just gotta deal with those cracks every now and then to see the light! ‘\
      ๐Ÿ˜‰
      xoxo

    1. Thank you Diane,
      I think that when I was trying to respond in my grief, I really messed up my thank you’s here! But you know I appreciate your loyal caring always!
      xoxo

  2. I’m sorry for the loss of your friend Di. It seems as though we repeat those words to often these days in condolence. A lovely tribute to your friend. And just one more reminder about how precious every moment of life really is. โค

  3. Oh Diane I am all undone …tears pouring down my cheeks . As soon as you are up each morning open your garage door …just see what happens . Your best friend is just around the corner ,in spirit , waiting for you to get up . Such a lovely story . You still have a little of her magic in her children I am sure …hug them whenever you can… even if they think your potty …great to be potty .
    Cherryx

  4. I have ahad a best friend for over 10 years. I can not imagine life without her. My heart goes out to o you. You have truly been blessed when you have a best friend like ours! Because they are hard to find for some of us.

    1. Thank you Joyful,
      I have very special friends, some I’ve had over 30 years, where we were young teen agers together. But yes I’m not looking forward to experiencing the hole she has left.
      Thank you for taking the time to read and comment!
      xoxo

    1. Thank you Marian,
      Yeah we always talked about how seeing anyone’s garage door opened is very comforting to this day.
      Thank you for taking the time to read and comment.
      xoxo

I would love to hear from you...Thank you for stopping by!

